R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2009, 02:37 PM   #11626
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21 View Post
Hey all, just picked up a used FT TC5 for my son and am looking at the Exotek Lipo Chassis conversion with the extra flex top deck. We're running rubber tire carpet and I've been out of the Touring game for a while. I did some digging in the thread regarding the Exotek chassis, is it worth it?
On carpet I would stick with the stock top deck. You don't need the extra flex.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 12:14 PM   #11627
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default set-ups

thks rick for posting your set-ups on the AE website . i noticed that chris Jarosz,s wasn't listed though
isuzuguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 12:57 PM   #11628
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by isuzuguy View Post
thks rick for posting your set-ups on the AE website . i noticed that chris Jarosz,s wasn't listed though
He is a slacker. I will try and get him to fill out a sheet so that we can post it.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 07:46 AM   #11629
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
For the UK bulkheads, you will not have to drill any new holes anywhere.The motor mount section floats above the chassis so the only holes used to mount the whole thing are the same holes that mount the stock bulkhead. The only thing you will have to do is enlarge the opening for the motor so that it can mount to the new motor mount position. I suggest opening the hole completely rather than grinding the thickness of the chassis down as is done by the factory on the outside edge.
Hi Rick,

Why do you enlarge the opening rather than grinding the thickness when using the inline bulkheads?, wont opening the motor hole leave very little meat between the motor opening and that pinion slot?

Thanks
MoonTrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:17 AM   #11630
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoonTrap View Post
Hi Rick,

Why do you enlarge the opening rather than grinding the thickness when using the inline bulkheads?, wont opening the motor hole leave very little meat between the motor opening and that pinion slot?

Thanks
I guess you could do it either way but I think grinding the thickness evenly would be difficult. There is very little meat meat between the motor hole and pinion slot but this does not matter.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #11631
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

hey guys i got the exotek chassis for xmas and the instructions say to not use ca glue on the edges of the chassis so should i use ca or just not prep it at all the instruction say to use blue loctite instead of ca glue
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:48 PM   #11632
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr crum View Post
hey guys i got the exotek chassis for xmas and the instructions say to not use ca glue on the edges of the chassis so should i use ca or just not prep it at all the instruction say to use blue loctite instead of ca glue

I take a Dremel and a sanding drum and clean the edges up a bit and use blue loctite to seal it up with. Blue loctite does the same thing and is more forgiving than CA. I just soak a Q-Tip and apply loctite to the prepped edge and let it dry overnight, works great.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 02:47 AM   #11633
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Santa brought the inline motor mount?

Did Santa bring us pictures yet of the inline motor mount?
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 03:08 AM   #11634
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
Did Santa bring us pictures yet of the inline motor mount?

Thats highly unlikely...
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 05:04 AM   #11635
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I have a nice TC5R for sale with inline motor mounts and Exotek chassis if anyone is interested.

Ultimate TC5R - Tons of Hop-Up (narrow bulkheads, Exotek Chassis)
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 10:45 AM   #11636
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
Did Santa bring us pictures yet of the inline motor mount?
Where are the pics? The inline motor mount would not work without lowering the layshaft on the TC5. The motor shaft would hit the front belt, but it would work if the belt is on the other side.
__________________
More racing and less typing!
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 11:13 AM   #11637
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
Did Santa bring us pictures yet of the inline motor mount?
Santa Claus ended being a big fat lie, maybe the inline motor mount is one too....
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 11:23 AM   #11638
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Santa Claus ended being a big fat lie, maybe the inline motor mount is one too....
Santa Claus is real, just ask my kids.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 03:39 PM   #11639
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Santa Claus ended being a big fat lie, maybe the inline motor mount is one too....
LMAO, Thats great
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 06:20 PM   #11640
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
I guess you could do it either way but I think grinding the thickness evenly would be difficult. There is very little meat meat between the motor hole and pinion slot but this does not matter.
I managed to destroy one of those UK bulk heads today. 2nd race with it and crashed hard. Bent it in the the motor mount area like a pretzel. Havent been able to get the motor mount washer out yet. Also destroyed my top deck and front bumper. I'd managed to get a lot more rear traction which I'd been fighting for before but was understeering badly before the crash. I'd also been able to get rid of my PPD billet battery weight tray so the car was quite a bit lighter.

I'll be going back to my standard bulk heads and PPD billet battery weight tray now
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net