R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2009, 06:51 AM   #11356
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

It would actually be a smaller spur and pinion.

What gearing are you trying to run? I have gone to a 100/46 with no issue.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 08:12 AM   #11357
Tech Fanatic
 
Xchange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Around the world
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Hi guys,

I m new with the TC5, and i have many trouble with the shock!

I have a lot of air on the cap and the shock have a full rebound set.

Keven tell me to drill de cap to remove air but now my cap loose oil.

Any one tryed tamyia shock on the TC5 ?

If yes, what is our result?

Thanks
Xchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 02:47 AM   #11358
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

i ran tamiya shocks on my car for a few months but went back to the ae shocks as they feel alot nicer when on the car in my opinoin
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 07:17 AM   #11359
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xchange View Post
Hi guys,

I m new with the TC5, and i have many trouble with the shock!

I have a lot of air on the cap and the shock have a full rebound set.

Keven tell me to drill de cap to remove air but now my cap loose oil.

Any one tryed tamyia shock on the TC5 ?

If yes, what is our result?

Thanks
i just drilled my shocks cap.and tried to build one shock and it did not leak.... althought i did not build all the shocks since im using trf shocks... im just wondering if i have to remove all blue foams from the cap or just the big one? and leave the small blue foam on the cap..
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 08:11 AM   #11360
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
It would actually be a smaller spur and pinion.

What gearing are you trying to run? I have gone to a 100/46 with no issue.
My bad, I run 48p so not sure how big a 96T spur, 64 pitch was.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 08:50 AM   #11361
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xchange View Post
Hi guys,

I m new with the TC5, and i have many trouble with the shock!

I have a lot of air on the cap and the shock have a full rebound set.

Keven tell me to drill de cap to remove air but now my cap loose oil.

Any one tryed tamyia shock on the TC5 ?

If yes, what is our result?

Thanks

Hmmm...make sure your bladder is seated properly and that you don't have too much oil in the shock body.

The shocks should work fine with a small bleeder hole drilled in the caps and no rebound foam.
__________________
-Brian Fong
2014 Texas EOS 17.5 Sedan Champion
2012 ROAR Region 9 Nitro Sedan Champion
1996 ROAR Nationals Electric Touring Car A-Main Finalist
Xray T4'14, Xray XB4'16 Xray XB2'16
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 11:24 PM   #11362
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Default

Hey guy`s when you drill the shock cap what size hole roughly are you drilling and are you putting a screw in the hole once you are done bleeding the shock,Thanks in advance.
traitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 11:46 PM   #11363
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by traitor View Post
Hey guy`s when you drill the shock cap what size hole roughly are you drilling and are you putting a screw in the hole once you are done bleeding the shock,Thanks in advance.
i used 1.5mm drill bit, and you dont need too put anything to the hole
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 12:16 AM   #11364
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

anyone using the exotek chassis for carpet?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 11:14 AM   #11365
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,980
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
anyone using the exotek chassis for carpet?
Yes, Christer is along with a bunch of other big team drivers now

http://www.exotekracing.com/EXOTEK_N...NATIONALS.html
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 10:02 PM   #11366
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

where can i get the one piece rear bulkheads that make the motor more in? and can they be used with the standard chassis and top deck
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 01:37 AM   #11367
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
where can i get the one piece rear bulkheads that make the motor more in? and can they be used with the standard chassis and top deck
Check a post from 'Leg Iron' on the previous page.

The origional topdeck and chassis can be used with some modifications, you have to remove some material to allow the motor to move inward 5mm. Easy as pie to do with a dremel though.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:03 AM   #11368
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I have a good deal on a TC5F in the for sale forum if anyone is interested.

On-Road Cleaning Out Sale! Lots of Items!
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:19 AM   #11369
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I kinda tempted to get the one-piece bulkheads, especially with my motor mount and left rear bulkhead being bent on my TC5r which is tweaking the chassis.
I'm currently doing the TRF style servo to my TC5r and one thing I'm thinking of, is it possible to do on the Exotek chassis? I made a slight mistake with the steering link ballstud and now I gotta drill another hole to move the ballstud forward so it doesn't hit the bulkhead. I just noticed the TRF servo allows more room for the ESC and Rx, awesome, no more mounting the Rx on its side.
__________________
Team Associated B5m | Team Associated T5m | Team Associated TC6 | Team Associated TC5x
Scooter79rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:49 AM   #11370
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooter79rs View Post
I kinda tempted to get the one-piece bulkheads, especially with my motor mount and left rear bulkhead being bent on my TC5r which is tweaking the chassis.
I'm currently doing the TRF style servo to my TC5r and one thing I'm thinking of, is it possible to do on the Exotek chassis? I made a slight mistake with the steering link ballstud and now I gotta drill another hole to move the ballstud forward so it doesn't hit the bulkhead. I just noticed the TRF servo allows more room for the ESC and Rx, awesome, no more mounting the Rx on its side.
The exotek chassis is too narrow to perform the mod and have both sides of the servo screwed to the chassis. You would need to do just one side and use servo tape. Perhaps someone could convince exotek to have a small bump out and pre-drill the holes for the mod in the next run of them.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net