R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2009, 09:29 PM   #10426
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckharrisjr View Post
Im stumped, my car turns more aggresively to one side. If I turn all the way to one side it will kinda push, not loop out, if I turn all the way to the other side my car will just loop out. I used setup station to get my epa exactly the same, full throw basically. I checked all the bearings, shocks, hinge pins, swaybars, rear toe is identical. my car is balanced side to side. Everything is free. I dont get it. Is it just the diffs? Is this normal? I run a bl 17.5, anyone any ideas?
Thanks in advance.
You using much steering trim? That could be one reason for that. It sounds like that the wheels may not be straight with 0 trim or the servo horn is positioned in such a way that it allows for more movement in one direction and less in the other direction.
I know in my Spketrum DX2 manual it says to adjust steering on the car if trim gets to 30 or more.
__________________
Team Associated B5m | Team Associated T5m | Team Associated TC6 | Team Associated TC5x
Scooter79rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 10:45 PM   #10427
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckharrisjr View Post
Im stumped, my car turns more aggresively to one side. If I turn all the way to one side it will kinda push, not loop out, if I turn all the way to the other side my car will just loop out. I used setup station to get my epa exactly the same, full throw basically. I checked all the bearings, shocks, hinge pins, swaybars, rear toe is identical. my car is balanced side to side. Everything is free. I dont get it. Is it just the diffs? Is this normal? I run a bl 17.5, anyone any ideas?
Thanks in advance.
Have you checked your CVD's? When they get worn out it kinda locks up when your turning.
zake540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 10:50 PM   #10428
Tech Fanatic
 
Damnit Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Damnit Man
Default

I had the same problem on mine. I checked everything I could think of at the track...well except for the tires. Turns out one tire came unglued on a small outside section of one side of the rear of the car. I couldn't believe I missed it and checked everything before checking something as simple as the tire bead.
Damnit Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 11:40 PM   #10429
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default





Well this is what I did today.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 01:33 AM   #10430
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
DaveW I was thinking about the slop as I posted back to you. Well I went back out to my cave and changed out the ball stud and ball end and put in a new captured ball link and now almost all slop is now gone. I have just enough slop so I think this weekend of racing will be alot better. If I lived closer to the track I would test everything out before Saturday but now I will have to wait til then. I should of just done this when I first got the car and more than likely I wouldn't of had this problem.
Hi

Can you tell me where you got the captured ball link, and what it looks like?


Thanks
MoonTrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 03:06 AM   #10431
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
Very close to Howart's bangkok setup on asphault sprayed with soda 140* temp...Ive tried fast setups at my track and it just pushes no matter what I do...tight track with front diff is the difference from howarts
If you are running a spool setup with a diff, it is probably going to handle poorly. My advice would be to go down a spring or 2 in the rear (blue to silver or green) and remove some rear toe if you are running a lot (3 is fine).

Also check your tyres, if you run a set of tyres on a spool for any length of time, it wil wear the fronts faster than the rears, which will lead to understeer, and no amount of setup can cure bad tyres.

Alternatively, if you switch your tyres front to rear, and it goes from understeer to oversteer, you have found your problem.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 03:08 AM   #10432
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post

Well this is what I did today.
Looks quite sturdy, is that a one-way?

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:28 AM   #10433
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Yea it is a one way. I like this idea of the belt swap. More space for swapping pinions and I can move my electronics closer to the center. I did throw my spool in to see if simply flipping it would clear and it does, but I gotta run a one-way. I had to buy new screws and washers for the one-way.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:42 AM   #10434
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,479
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

where did you buy them and what size are they?
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:48 AM   #10435
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I searched OSH for this hardware with no luck. And of course, my LHS had everything I needed. The are 2mm flat washers and 2mmx12mm socket cap screws. The dubro part numbers are 2107 and 2114. You are going to need 3 packs of 2107. I ended up using 5 washers on each screw.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:26 AM   #10436
Tech Master
 
TRXRACER99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,094
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Exclamation

hey pakk just to let you know your ball stud on your servo horn is backwards.
TRXRACER99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:29 AM   #10437
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Actually, I just swapped it when I swapped the belts. When I have it on the other side, it has a lot more of an angle to it. That's the next thing I need to work on. I either need to move the servo out more(something I don't want to do), or find a horn that is some what off set further out. Then I can put the ball stud on the inside and not have a drastic angle.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:38 AM   #10438
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood View Post
If you are running a spool setup with a diff, it is probably going to handle poorly. My advice would be to go down a spring or 2 in the rear (blue to silver or green) and remove some rear toe if you are running a lot (3 is fine).

Also check your tyres, if you run a set of tyres on a spool for any length of time, it wil wear the fronts faster than the rears, which will lead to understeer, and no amount of setup can cure bad tyres.

Alternatively, if you switch your tyres front to rear, and it goes from understeer to oversteer, you have found your problem.

Regards

Neal
Cool, I assembled the spool for the next race, I always mix my tires up so chances are they've been on each wheel, also I was looking at the manual and when I was installing the axle shims I didnt see the part that said 2 for each axle and only installed 1 on each side so I was getting strange camber readings...
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:52 AM   #10439
Tech Master
 
TRXRACER99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,094
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Questions??

is that because you are running the exotec chassis.
TRXRACER99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:57 AM   #10440
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Well the exotek chassis did not help because it moved the servo more forward forcing me to move the servo out a little. But I think it is the servo. I don't know to be honest. It never really seemed to affect anything, so I left it alone.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0