R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2009, 08:27 AM   #9661
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Those instructions for setting droop are simply downstop aren't they? I thought that droop was considered uptravel which is measured over ride height.
Yes but droop is a consequence of setting downstop and ride height, it is the combination of both, so changing either changes droop. Since we always want to run at a set ride height, your downstop value can be considered a droop value too. That is my understanding anyway.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:31 AM   #9662
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo View Post
Droop- Yes, just like that PDF.
....
Thank you!
Now it is all clear

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:33 AM   #9663
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood View Post
Yes but droop is a consequence of setting downstop and ride height, it is the combination of both, so changing either changes droop. Since we always want to run at a set ride height, your downstop value can be considered a droop value too. That is my understanding anyway.

Regards

Neal
Since droop is a combination of ride height and downstop, you will need a separate value for it than downstop. If your downstop is at 6 and your ride height is at 5, what is your droop? Droop requires a separate value.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:45 AM   #9664
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubic$Racing View Post
Michal,

I am experiencing a lack of rear traction that I cannot get a handle on. Would removing the foam in the shock help or make that condition worse? And would I remove it in both the front and rear shocks?
hi!

I think that, if remove foam from shocks, do it for all and set same rebound and uncompress speed, just shocks should work almost the same.

When you remove foam at rear, rear axle became softer and maybe this helps but I think it do wrong change for overall.

I think you should try Rick Hovart or Mister Mo setup for asphalt if you run on
rubber tires :-) (or maybe my last from Klodzko, you can found it at my signature).

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:10 AM   #9665
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Since droop is a combination of ride height and downstop, you will need a separate value for it than downstop. If your downstop is at 6 and your ride height is at 5, what is your droop? Droop requires a separate value.
Yes, sorry, I didn't mean that if your downstop is 5 then your droop is 5mm, I meant that if you change downstop and keep your ride height the same, then your droop changes proportional to your downstop. I suspect there is a simple relationship between the downstop markings on the droop gauge and actual droop measured above ride height.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:13 AM   #9666
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
hi!

I think that, if remove foam from shocks, do it for all and set same rebound and uncompress speed, just shocks should work almost the same.

When you remove foam at rear, rear axle became softer and maybe this helps but I think it do wrong change for overall.

I think you should try Rick Hovart or Mister Mo setup for asphalt if you run on
rubber tires :-) (or maybe my last from Klodzko, you can found it at my signature).

Regards!
m.
Michal,

I am running on a medium grip carpet track
Cubic$Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:13 AM   #9667
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Right, I understand the relationship and understand what you are saying.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:26 AM   #9668
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Right, I understand the relationship and understand what you are saying.

Hi!

For me, relationship is simple :-) I set downstop on tool (like in pdf, before
I put chassis and take about 26mm for front and 25mm for rear like this:
http://abram.eu.org/files/droop_tc5/ (26 + 10 = 36mm)), now if chassis is
balanced R/L, on setup station set 5mm RH for F and 5.5 for R (or 5.5 F and 6.0 R) using spring preload (after this I measure this on shock and set this same for fron and rear (for example F 3mm, R 2.5mm), I put chassis on tires and again
take Ride Height and drop, if somethings is not good I do again job with spring preload.

Now on track if my car drive nice and easy I will not change, if need some play, I do it with spring preload more drop, or less or more RH and less drop.

Btw, drop is something nasty for me, it depends on downstop, tire diameter,
lenght of shock, spring, spring preload, shock position, sway bars ...

I always want set it like usually, 2mm F, 2.5mm R or 1.5 F and 2.0 R.

If I do something wrong just tell me I will be happy with this :-)

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:28 AM   #9669
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubic$Racing View Post
Michal,

I am running on a medium grip carpet track
So maybe you should start from this point:
http://www.rc-setups.com/setups/170/edit

This setup help me

Regards!
m.

ps: look at properties
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:47 AM   #9670
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

prob fixed
__________________
Speedpassion USA Team Driver
Schumacher USA Team Driver
Lucky 13 rc graphics
Remember this..... Heaven and Hell are really not places, just your state of mind.

Last edited by JdogL; 06-02-2009 at 11:27 AM.
JdogL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:52 AM   #9671
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

No,

You should have consistent contact between the spring and shock. You need to adjust your downstop screws.

What are your current droop settings?
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:00 AM   #9672
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

6 up front and 5 in rear. the deal is like this the car is super dialed as it sits. but when i try to set the spring collarso that there is tension the ride height is way off.
__________________
Speedpassion USA Team Driver
Schumacher USA Team Driver
Lucky 13 rc graphics
Remember this..... Heaven and Hell are really not places, just your state of mind.
JdogL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:07 AM   #9673
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JdogL View Post
6 up front and 5 in rear. the deal is like this the car is super dialed as it sits. but when i try to set the spring collarso that there is tension the ride height is way off.

Hi!

I have 6 at F and 7 at R, shock length taken from holes is 59mm for F and R,
if chassis is over table, springs are not loose, length between blue ring and shock body is about 2.5-2.8mm, springs F ae blue and R ae silver.

So you should check length of shocks and play with downstop

Springs can't be loose when your car jump over bumps they must little compressed

Hope this helps!

Regards,
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:29 AM   #9674
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i see what i did wrong. it was a stupid mistake
__________________
Speedpassion USA Team Driver
Schumacher USA Team Driver
Lucky 13 rc graphics
Remember this..... Heaven and Hell are really not places, just your state of mind.
JdogL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:58 AM   #9675
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

I guess I am lost reading all this downstop/droop thing in this thread.

Since I don't race competively due to living in the Abyss of R/C racing I never took much thought on this.

But when I mess with my car, I do the ride height first and loosen the downstops. I set the collars of my shocks to get my ride height. I measure the gap of the shock collar to shock body flange on top to ensure they are equal for L/R. I use the downstops to adjust my droop, and do not use the AE downstop gauge but use a ruler and check the lift of the chassis in mm.

The truth is, either you have the same downstop value, or the same droop value but not booth after you change ride height. So pretty much you are going to have to ignore one value if ride height does change because of tires or track conditions.
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough." - Mario Andretti
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net