R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2008, 05:24 PM   #7561
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

i had the same problem. found out you need the offroad pistons instead of the type r pistons you can also drill em with a 1/8 bit. thats what i did..
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 05:05 AM   #7562
Tech Apprentice
 
MTRezNIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 97
Default Lipo Question

Sorry if this has already been discussed:

Can the car be balanced / tuned using a regular Lipo pack with no weight added?

Thanks.
__________________
Altoona Raceway - Altoona, PA www.altoonaraceway.com
altoonaraceway@gmail.com

Team Losi Racing - 8ight 2.0 Buggy
PSN ID: MTRezNIN
MTRezNIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 06:16 AM   #7563
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,472
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTRezNIN View Post
Sorry if this has already been discussed:

Can the car be balanced / tuned using a regular Lipo pack with no weight added?

Thanks.
You would have to hang it waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay out on the right side. Like outside the body. Well maybe not that far, but you get the idea...
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 07:25 AM   #7564
Tech Apprentice
 
MTRezNIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 97
Default

Anyone using the Trak Power Gold Brick battery?

About how much weight do you have to add?

Where do you put it?

Thanks!
__________________
Altoona Raceway - Altoona, PA www.altoonaraceway.com
altoonaraceway@gmail.com

Team Losi Racing - 8ight 2.0 Buggy
PSN ID: MTRezNIN
MTRezNIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:18 AM   #7565
Tech Master
 
PartTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sterling hts MI
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTRezNIN View Post
Anyone using the Trak Power Gold Brick battery?

About how much weight do you have to add?

Where do you put it?

Thanks!
Add lead till the chassis balance's left/right. Depends on your electronics package. A brushless will need more lead on the pack than a brushed. Unless somone is running the exact same parts as you, a general weight wont do you any good.


With that said, after I balanced my car left/right I had to add 3.5 oz to the chassis to bring it up to min weight. I did end up with a perfect 50/50 front/back weight bias though.

DK
PartTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:39 AM   #7566
Tech Regular
 
Eastcoast13.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Easley,S.C.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Questions?? Tc5r 2mm chassis part number?

Hey maybe you guys can shed some light on this. I am trying to buy a new chassis plate for my TC5R if you look under AE website at the kit they show they are 2mm thick. And the TC5F is 2.5mm. It says also the TC5 is 2.5mm. Okay i been looking the at the itf chassis for the TC5 is also 2.5mm. Ther are only 2 part numbers for the chassis one is ASC31138 which is the 2.5mm stock TC5 chassis and TC5F chassis. Then there is ASC31140 which is suppose to be the ITF chassis for TC5 which is 2.5mm thick. But i can't find the chassis for the TC5R which is says in my manual is the 31140 number but i don't understand there is something i am missing somewhere can you please help!!!
Thanks

Last edited by Eastcoast13.5; 10-13-2008 at 08:41 AM. Reason: add more text
Eastcoast13.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:51 AM   #7567
Tech Regular
 
Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 252
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

It can be confusing because some people selling the ITF label them as 2.5mm and it's not accurate. The ASC31140 is 2mm thick and the ASC31138 is 2.5mm thick. I've measured to make sure since I had both.
Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:52 AM   #7568
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,788
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoast13.5 View Post
Hey maybe you guys can shed some light on this. I am trying to buy a new chassis plate for my TC5R if you look under AE website at the kit they show they are 2mm thick. And the TC5F is 2.5mm. It says also the TC5 is 2.5mm. Okay i been looking the at the itf chassis for the TC5 is also 2.5mm. Ther are only 2 part numbers for the chassis one is ASC31138 which is the 2.5mm stock TC5 chassis and TC5F chassis. Then there is ASC31140 which is suppose to be the ITF chassis for TC5 which is 2.5mm thick. But i can't find the chassis for the TC5R which is says in my manual is the 31140 number but i don't understand there is something i am missing somewhere can you please help!!!
Thanks
The ITF chassis is the one you want. It is 2mm thick.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:29 AM   #7569
Tech Regular
 
Eastcoast13.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Easley,S.C.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Hey man thanks. Also did the TC5 have a 3mm chassis on it ever?
Eastcoast13.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:30 AM   #7570
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,933
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoast13.5 View Post
Hey man thanks. Also did the TC5 have a 3mm chassis on it ever?
No 2.5mm
__________________
SpeedZone Batteries
steve eaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 01:26 PM   #7571
Tech Regular
 
Eastcoast13.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Easley,S.C.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Smile

Hye guys thanksfor those out of nowhere quick responses thats what i like to see. i know if i have another question right here is where to get it answered.
Thanks
Eastcoast13.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 06:46 PM   #7572
Tech Regular
 
baf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: fredrick.MD
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default wtf.................

jpg setups?????????
__________________
1983.TC3,XXXS,MI3,JRXS,DB12R,TC5R,JRXSR,PRO4,CYCLONE,SC8,SC10,009,HPI BLITZ,LOSI 8,b4.1,b44,serpent impluse,serpent impact 2wd,serpent impact m2 4wd.HotBodiesD8.RC 8.2 .SC 10#2.sc10 4x4.b4 2wd buggy.scte4x4 losi.techno dno8 conversion.Techno Rc8.2. Amsoil.Vp.TeamManager Fuel throttle motor sports.G's . JUICE RACING LLC.COM AND ON FACEBOOK. THE JUICE RACING.
baf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:08 PM   #7573
Tech Fanatic
 
Sean Powers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 762
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

is anyone using any of the hard parts with the TC5R on carpet or are the hard parts just for foam? If you are using the hard parts what would the benefit be versus the standard parts?

Sean
__________________
Follow me on Instagram powerpaintrc
Sean Powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:14 PM   #7574
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Powers View Post
is anyone using any of the hard parts with the TC5R on carpet or are the hard parts just for foam? If you are using the hard parts what would the benefit be versus the standard parts?

Sean
Hard parts do help in med to high bite situations.
Less flex can help with corner speed and give you a more consistent car to drive.
The soft parts can help in situations where you need more traction.
Josh Hohnstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:22 PM   #7575
Tech Regular
 
treemagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default hard parts

just wondering if anyone uses the hard parts on asphlat using rubber?? someone said to me if i change to hard parts i should softening up my springs and shocks a little bit. does this sound right?
treemagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net