R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2008, 05:45 PM   #6166
Tech Master
 
PartTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sterling hts MI
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys.

Went racing today. Track was big, smooth and clean. About twice the size I normally run on. A little suger/water in the corners and have at it. The stock setup for the TC5R worked great ! Pretty smooth and easy to put where you want it with out throwing the rear around.

If I was to change the set up at all it would have been to up the spring rate one step frt/rear to cope with the higher speed sections of the track. Other than that and needing way more top end.... it was awsome.

I started with the G6 body and it was pretty good but a bit touchy at the end of the strait. So I put my stratus 3.0 AP on that I have for carpet and it was better. Smoother but balanced everywhere. Very consistant and ripped from everybody in the infield. I geared it up 4 teeth for the main. It was smoother in the infiield and had pretty good topend. I Went a lap better than TQ (not me) and got lucky a couple of corners in and checked out. Love when that happens. It doesnt happen offen with the guys I race with. The car was easy to drive fast.


DK

P.S. My car has the thicker chassis/top deck.
Edit: Sway bars are on.
PartTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 05:56 PM   #6167
Tech Addict
 
TCRacer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan USA
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to TCRacer101
Default

I got 2nd place A-main on carpet
__________________
E-Revo Brushless.....4s lipo/Coming SOON: HPI savage flux HP
Electric Monster Truck Association (EMTA)~~ electricmonster.webs.com
TCRacer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:13 PM   #6168
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PartTime View Post
Hi guys.

Went racing today. Track was big, smooth and clean. About twice the size I normally run on. A little suger/water in the corners and have at it. The stock setup for the TC5R worked great ! Pretty smooth and easy to put where you want it with out throwing the rear around.

If I was to change the set up at all it would have been to up the spring rate one step frt/rear to cope with the higher speed sections of the track. Other than that and needing way more top end.... it was awsome.

I started with the G6 body and it was pretty good but a bit touchy at the end of the strait. So I put my stratus 3.0 AP on that I have for carpet and it was better. Smoother but balanced everywhere. Very consistant and ripped from everybody in the infield. I geared it up 4 teeth for the main. It was smoother in the infiield and had pretty good topend. I Went a lap better than TQ (not me) and got lucky a couple of corners in and checked out. Love when that happens. It doesnt happen offen with the guys I race with. The car was easy to drive fast.


DK

P.S. My car has the thicker chassis/top deck.
Edit: Sway bars are on.
Hey DK...do you mean TC5 box set up? You said TC5R You got a TC5R already? What's the box set up for oil and springs?
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:42 PM   #6169
Tech Fanatic
 
losithrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 791
Default

i have no rear sway bar, it was the only way to more or less cure the loosness of the one way.
__________________
ONE THINGS FOR SURE ABOUT THE STINGER, NOTHINGS FOR SURE!
losithrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:45 PM   #6170
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losithrasher View Post
i have no rear sway bar, it was the only way to more or less cure the loosness of the one way.
But why? It cant be that the car has to have sway bars off in order to stick. Very interesting
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 10:08 PM   #6171
Tech Fanatic
 
losithrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 791
Default

transfers less weight to the front.
__________________
ONE THINGS FOR SURE ABOUT THE STINGER, NOTHINGS FOR SURE!
losithrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 10:10 PM   #6172
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

Sway bars should not affect weight transfer to the front. They should only restrict weight transfer side to side.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 02:54 AM   #6173
Tech Master
 
PartTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sterling hts MI
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
Hey DK...do you mean TC5 box set up? You said TC5R You got a TC5R already? What's the box set up for oil and springs?
I have a normal TC5. I put the new setup for the TC5R on it.

http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/tc5_rubber.pdf

The only diffrents is Im running 1 deg camber, I dont have a spool so I just ran the front diff really tight and I dont have the ITF decks with o-rings.

DK
PartTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:07 AM   #6174
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losithrasher View Post
transfers less weight to the front.
swaybars mainly are used to control side to side roll...weight transfer is affected by droop and springs, shock oil
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:09 AM   #6175
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PartTime View Post
I have a normal TC5. I put the new setup for the TC5R on it.

http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/tc5_rubber.pdf

The only diffrents is Im running 1 deg camber, I dont have a spool so I just ran the front diff really tight and I dont have the ITF decks with o-rings.

DK
Thanks for the link DK...its funny, now with the TC5R set up we see sway bars in the mix, and lighter oil, too
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:14 AM   #6176
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
Sway bars should not affect weight transfer to the front. They should only restrict weight transfer side to side.
I hope someone down here can post a good reason as to why the TC5 on asphalt is not being used with sway bars most of the time, especially by team drivers, who 99.99% of the time do not use the sway bars at all

There must be something about the design of the car that causes it to behave in certain way that they get better results with out the sway bars...I have some reasons as to why this could be, but I'd rather get an answer from truly knowledable guys who have experience with the TC5 on asphalt and can explain this better...hopefully Rick H. can help here soon or DMartin.
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:47 AM   #6177
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,059
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
I hope someone down here can post a good reason as to why the TC5 on asphalt is not being used with sway bars most of the time, especially by team drivers, who 99.99% of the time do not use the sway bars at all

There must be something about the design of the car that causes it to behave in certain way that they get better results with out the sway bars...I have some reasons as to why this could be, but I'd rather get an answer from truly knowledable guys who have experience with the TC5 on asphalt and can explain this better...hopefully Rick H. can help here soon or DMartin.
After runnning a TC5 for a little while I would say the big reason has to do with the stiffness of the chassis. Even the ITF chassis is pretty stiff compared my other touring cars. I would say that because the chassis does not flex there is less of a reason to run a sway bar. With all of that said I think it really has to do with the track you are running on, and how my setup is working. I have tried sway bars both front and rear on my rubber tire pavement setup, but I am currently not running one in my setup.
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 10:23 AM   #6178
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,159
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Anyone here running a TRINITY based 13.5 BL motor? If so whats your FDR?
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 10:31 AM   #6179
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
Anyone here running a TRINITY based 13.5 BL motor? If so whats your FDR?
start around 4.6 FDR
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 10:37 AM   #6180
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Any try using HB Cyclone 39T pulley on the TC5? They should work...might be worth a shot to try overdrive on a TC5
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net