R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2008, 06:16 PM   #5851
Tech Fanatic
 
SirSwiftAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SOCAL the fastest mini cooper guys in the nation
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have a baseline setup for speedworld in norcal. Hopefully someone that is running mod looking for a pretty detailed setup.

Thanks
__________________
Why do people park in a driveway but then drive in a parkway?
SirSwiftAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 06:22 PM   #5852
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirSwiftAlot View Post
Anyone have a baseline setup for speedworld in norcal. Hopefully someone that is running mod looking for a pretty detailed setup.

Thanks
If you look back a few posts you will find Jason Moberlys setup from the Reedy Race warmup last weekend at Speedworld..I heard his car was very good....I am starting with this for the Reedy...Post #5813
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:06 PM   #5853
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PartTime View Post

Was there a problem with belts in early kits or somthing? Or is this just the way it is? Is there a replacement belt for it or maybe a yok belt or somthing?
thanks
dk
One thing that is not real evident by the setup sheet where the diff tension is set front and rear. When looking at the right side of the car, the front tension notch will point toward the front of the car for position 8, and the rear the notch will point the opposite direction toward the rear of the car. Looking at the setup sheet, its easy to think they should point the same direction. This is explained on p27 of the manual where the front of the car is actually reversed from the setup sheet.

Also, the newer belts are a bit looser and more free wheeling, but not alot. There was a running change in belt material type.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:26 PM   #5854
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirSwiftAlot View Post
Anyone have a baseline setup for speedworld in norcal. Hopefully someone that is running mod looking for a pretty detailed setup.

Thanks

you may bookmark this!
Arn0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 09:09 PM   #5855
Tech Master
 
PartTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sterling hts MI
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maybell View Post
Thats the thing with message boards, its easy to take something wrong in words...just trying to help...

I have to assume that something is built incorrectly because I have helped many with this problem and they were all built wrong... recheck the cams if they are in the 8 or 16 spot then the belt is not too tight...a couple times the guy thought it was too tight because they are used to TCs that have smaller pulleys and softer belts...that can fool you into thinking they are too tight...

one-way: mine fits perfectly with one stock shim on each side...maybe you have placed the gear on the wrong side of the oneway...also, make sure you dont overtighten the oneway screws to prevent warping...use a LITTLE blue threadlock on them...

good luck man
The one way is centered in the chasis, its the pulley on the unit that is out of round. I didnt over tighten the screws but theres no way for the hub to key into the pulley and make it run true.

Its not that the belt is too tight, maybe, its more of the TON of drag it has. I can spin the drive line with rubber tires and it stops the second I stop. I pushed it on the floor and what should have rolled a few feet, it rolled a couple of inch's. I have had a couple of belt cars and all needed some attetion to free up the drive train but this car is down right wrong. My pro 2 would spin longer with foam tires on it than this car with rubber. Way longer.

The last race it looked really slow coming off the corners. Now I know why. Just have to figure out a way to free it up.

I have played with the diff adjusters and know there built right. Guess I will try and hunt down a little longer belt.

I didnt have this much drag with the diff. Do they use a diffrent size pulley for the one way and spool?

DK
PartTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 05:49 AM   #5856
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,333
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Do you see a UG or UK printed on the belt someplace?

If you put the oneway up next to the diff and align the pulleys do the outdrives line up as much as possible?

If you have a picture of the car please share it with us. As you know, a picture is worth 1000 words.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 10:04 AM   #5857
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PartTime View Post
The one way is centered in the chasis, its the pulley on the unit that is out of round. I didnt over tighten the screws but theres no way for the hub to key into the pulley and make it run true.

Its not that the belt is too tight, maybe, its more of the TON of drag it has. I can spin the drive line with rubber tires and it stops the second I stop. I pushed it on the floor and what should have rolled a few feet, it rolled a couple of inch's. I have had a couple of belt cars and all needed some attetion to free up the drive train but this car is down right wrong. My pro 2 would spin longer with foam tires on it than this car with rubber. Way longer.

The last race it looked really slow coming off the corners. Now I know why. Just have to figure out a way to free it up.

I have played with the diff adjusters and know there built right. Guess I will try and hunt down a little longer belt.

I didnt have this much drag with the diff. Do they use a diffrent size pulley for the one way and spool?

DK

my brother had the same issue, there was an issue with his spur gear and his pulleys and had to basically rebuild and reshim all that stuff....
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 11:43 AM   #5858
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,160
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Hey guys do you run the stock bearings? I think I need to change at least 3 of mine as they are very gritty...
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 02:02 PM   #5859
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,788
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
Hey guys do you run the stock bearings? I think I need to change at least 3 of mine as they are very gritty...
I used Avid bearings when I replaced mine.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 06:04 PM   #5860
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default belt tension tc5

Quote:
Originally Posted by PartTime View Post
The one way is centered in the chasis, its the pulley on the unit that is out of round. I didnt over tighten the screws but theres no way for the hub to key into the pulley and make it run true.

Its not that the belt is too tight, maybe, its more of the TON of drag it has. I can spin the drive line with rubber tires and it stops the second I stop. I pushed it on the floor and what should have rolled a few feet, it rolled a couple of inch's. I have had a couple of belt cars and all needed some attetion to free up the drive train but this car is down right wrong. My pro 2 would spin longer with foam tires on it than this car with rubber. Way longer.

The last race it looked really slow coming off the corners. Now I know why. Just have to figure out a way to free it up.

I have played with the diff adjusters and know there built right. Guess I will try and hunt down a little longer belt.

I didnt have this much drag with the diff. Do they use a diffrent size pulley for the one way and spool?

DK
hey man just keep playin with diff cams u should put diff all the way up in rear and all the way down in the front i can send u wat position my cams are in if u want
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 08:19 AM   #5861
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know a good place to buy the yokomo bomber belt? Also would it be possible to drill/dremel another notch on the diff holder so the belt would be a little looser. I'm at the last notch on the adjustment and it still feels like it too tight.

TIA
zake540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 08:26 AM   #5862
Tech Regular
 
stanislow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to stanislow
Default

how many times have you ran it?

it might be because you havent broken in the belt?
__________________
Speedpassion, Team Trinity, AVID bearings, Titanium Racing
Eastridge Hobbies
RC Canwest Xray Jaco SMC
Mad Scientist Motors
stanislow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:08 AM   #5863
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

thanks for your reply.

I heard the newer belts were a little looser so I bought one and ran it about 20 or more times. But to me it's still a little tight.
zake540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:57 PM   #5864
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,160
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Has anyone tried the rubber kit setup yet?

http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/tc5_rubber.pdf
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 05:42 PM   #5865
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: chula vista
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

anyone have a good link for ca'ing your chassis. Never done it before. Thanks. Tried search, but that's not fruitful.
protocol_droid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net