R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2007, 08:08 PM   #4891
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
so is there another belt being released soon or are we left with the bomber belt? If that's the case then is there another belt that may fit on the rear?
Maybe you could try this one. http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/product_i...ducts_id=11773

Monte
Monte Hess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 09:04 PM   #4892
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,871
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monte Hess View Post
Maybe you could try this one. http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/product_i...ducts_id=11773

Monte
I may have to try that along with the front bomber belt. Thanks.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 12:23 AM   #4893
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuhoL View Post
The low friction belts will be a running change in production. I'm not sure which belts the new kits come these days. The older belt says UK on it, the newer one is UG if I remember correctly.

Even the stiffer belts are fine after they have been run for a while. I know it might take a while to run them in with a stock motor though. On the positive side they will pretty much last forever.
After 4 months of weekly racing mine has loosened up running 13.5 finally. But it still will not free wheel well at all. Just yesterday I set out to find the issue. I had a small amount of resistance in the center pulley, and cleaned / lubed the bearings with the RPM bearing blaster. Both pulley and front diff were rolling well, and as soon as I connected center shaft to front belt (back was still off) the binding started again. I agree, that on the track this may not amount to much, but cant help with heat and battery life.

So, a loose belt still will not free it up from my experiance, it's almost as if the gear pitch on the belt, is slightly different then pulley.

Will there be a different part number on the new belt...how will we know when to order??
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:48 AM   #4894
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

I went and looked at my local hobby shop and all the replacement belts they had there were the UG belts so i just went ahead and got them for myself.

You can see right on the belt. So if you have to order from somewhere maybe order from a shop you can call and see if they can look on the belts for you
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 05:59 AM   #4895
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default servo saver

i know this has been on here and asked before but to go through will take me all day. I'm having trouble with the servo saver staying together. has anyone tried trimming a little off of the spring to get the servo saver nut on farther? It seems that if you tighten it up it will not work very well and I don't want to hurt my servo. Any tricks will be appreciated and knowledge on the saver.

thanks, Neil
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:03 AM   #4896
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

Neil are you going to be at "the track" or trackside anytime before the novak race i could probably help you out with this problem.

I have always had mine as tight as it gets and havent had a problem.
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:09 AM   #4897
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Wallstreet I will be up at the track on wed. help would be awsome.
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:12 AM   #4898
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

Ill see if i can stop up there on my way to trackside.


shouldnt be a problem though
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:13 AM   #4899
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

just let me know what time you will be up there.
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 07:24 AM   #4900
Tech Regular
 
gurumods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro neil View Post
i know this has been on here and asked before but to go through will take me all day. I'm having trouble with the servo saver staying together. has anyone tried trimming a little off of the spring to get the servo saver nut on farther? It seems that if you tighten it up it will not work very well and I don't want to hurt my servo. Any tricks will be appreciated and knowledge on the saver.

thanks, Neil
Neil,this is what i did.I squezzed the spring down with pliers and the reassambled it and cranked the nut down all the way and put a small bead of CA on the threads.I then put one of these on the servo.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...gh+servo+saver
I wasn't sure if my steering was gonna be responsive enough,but i have got fastest lap at my track.Those servo savers are used on 1/12 all the time.Try one,i don't think you will be disappointed.Mine has not come apart since i did this minor mod.
gurumods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 07:52 AM   #4901
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,380
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

My son busted his servo save assembly up this past weekend. Seems like the nut could not screw all the way on. I noticed what used to be a lip on it (nut) that would stop you from screwing it all the way onto the threads of the shaft. So I just got rid of that and now I have plenty of the threaded part after the nut. I hope that makes sense.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:00 AM   #4902
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,527
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

If you have a good servo, you can tighten the servo saver all the way. The servo arm will crack off in a brutal crash, but most of the time it's fine.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 12:24 AM   #4903
Tech Master
 
BIG DADDY8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, TX
Posts: 1,542
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BIG DADDY8
Default

Got a TC5 for Christmas. Man it's a very nice looking car. I had only one issue when i was putting it together. Those Damn diffs were a pain in the a$$. Took a little work getting that tiny nut in that T-cup and getting it catch the bolt. I got it to work after about 30mins. I compressed the spring so many times it wasn't funny. I used BOB STELLFLUE set up at the reedy race for 19t(thats what we run here) and i cant wait to run it. The only thing i was wondering was the springs. Blue fronts and silver rears. To me i thought that was soft, but i'll try it and see what happens. I want to thank all you guys for the tons of info and help on here. I've been following this thread since it started. Anymore would be great since this is my first belt driven car. I've been running Associated for the last 7 years and love how they don't discontinue cars when they come out with a new one. Keep up the great work guys.
BIG DADDY8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 03:36 AM   #4904
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I also got my TC5 for christmas and man do I love this car everything went together well, and the belts weren't too tight..can't wait to race it this saturday
kingtiger1028 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 09:20 AM   #4905
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG DADDY8 View Post
Got a TC5 for Christmas. Man it's a very nice looking car. I had only one issue when i was putting it together. Those Damn diffs were a pain in the a$$. Took a little work getting that tiny nut in that T-cup and getting it catch the bolt. I got it to work after about 30mins. I compressed the spring so many times it wasn't funny. I used BOB STELLFLUE set up at the reedy race for 19t(thats what we run here) and i cant wait to run it. The only thing i was wondering was the springs. Blue fronts and silver rears. To me i thought that was soft, but i'll try it and see what happens. I want to thank all you guys for the tons of info and help on here. I've been following this thread since it started. Anymore would be great since this is my first belt driven car. I've been running Associated for the last 7 years and love how they don't discontinue cars when they come out with a new one. Keep up the great work guys.

I've been running my TC5 for a few months now and also started with the Bob S setup. Blue/silver may have been good at Tamiya, but the track I race on has very good traction. Blue/silver was WAAAY to soft. The car was very dumpy in turns and really bad in the ESs. I changed to gold/blue and it was much better. When bite is really high, Red/gold is dialed.
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net