R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2007, 04:25 PM   #4846
Tech Master
 
HVFracingwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oshkosh
Posts: 1,379
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HVFracingwilly
Default

Anyone looking for a TC5 can check out this sweet deal! ready to race on carpet with rubbers!

For Sale TC5 Great Condition
HVFracingwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 06:44 PM   #4847
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,365
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HVFracingwilly View Post
Anyone looking for a TC5 can check out this sweet deal! ready to race on carpet with rubbers!

For Sale TC5 Great Condition
Giving up? Whatever you decide to do...good luck and see you at the track!
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 06:47 PM   #4848
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,365
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
Ok well also I thought for the rear you would change hubs? Now the shims are they the anti squat shims or where do these shims go?
The shims are used to adjust toe-in on the rear of the car. The anti-squat isn't controlled by shims but by the holes on the bulkhead. Almost everyone sticks with the bottom hole. So until you have exhausted all of your other options then you can switch holes to see how the car reacts. Until then I say use the bottom holes on the bulkheads and forget it.

Review the manual and setup sheets if my explanation is confusing.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 08:16 PM   #4849
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 77
Default Ride Ht / Droop / Tweak

Is it correct to set ride ht first, then droop and then tweak?

It seems like these are all interconnected and one always effects the other.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reznor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 08:16 PM   #4850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 77
Default Ride Ht / Droop / Tweak

Is it correct to set ride ht first, then droop and then tweak?

It seems like these are all interconnected and one always effects the other.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reznor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 08:16 PM   #4851
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 77
Default Ride Ht / Droop / Tweak

Is it correct to set ride ht first, then droop and then tweak?

It seems like these are all interconnected and one always effects the other.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reznor88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 03:58 AM   #4852
Tech Addict
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Whats the difference between a spool and a one way diff for the front end. Are they about equal performance wise and is one more durable than the other. Or would I be better using the ball diff. I'm running on an asphalt track.
__________________
SC10 4X4 Short Course
SC10 FT 2WD Short Course; FT B4.1 +8mm Buggy
FT T4 Dirt Oval
Silva Concepts R50 Oval
Custom Works Dominator; FT TC3 Trans Am
t4mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 05:05 AM   #4853
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4mania View Post
Whats the difference between a spool and a one way diff for the front end. Are they about equal performance wise and is one more durable than the other. Or would I be better using the ball diff. I'm running on an asphalt track.
A one-way will coast when off-power, a spool is constantly locked and engaged in the drivetrain. You get better braking with a spool since it is engaged with the drivetrain at all times like a ball-diff. Using a one-way removes all braking from the front as it "free wheels" when no power is applied, like a bicycle, and with a one-way you only have rear-braking.

For asphalt, you will find differing opinion on them, and it might not be bad to test both in your car to determine which works for your cars setup and your driving style. Most people use a one-way or spool on asphault, but not usually a ball-diff. The spool is the more durable than a one-way, but the spool is harder on the CVD's since the both wheels on the front will always be spinning at the same speed.
__________________
KSN

Last edited by kn7671; 12-17-2007 at 05:18 AM.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 07:17 AM   #4854
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,365
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

You can also use your brakes with a one-way, just turn down your endpoint for them on your radio. So you can then have the best of both worlds.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 12:01 PM   #4855
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,998
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Exclamation

Wanted- TC5 bottom and top plates. Any type, any condition as long as it's all there and reasonably priced. Please PM me.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 12:54 PM   #4856
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Wanted- TC5 bottom and top plates. Any type, any condition as long as it's all there and reasonably priced. Please PM me.
YGPM
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 03:38 PM   #4857
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bay
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hello everyone,

Anyone have the part # for the silver balls studs. I need two of them for the rear hubs.

Thanx
Obsidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 04:36 PM   #4858
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reznor88 View Post
Is it correct to set ride ht first, then droop and then tweak?

It seems like these are all interconnected and one always effects the other.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Everyone does it differently but the sequence you posted will work. If you measure your droop above ride height, the way you mentioned is best. If you use a gauge, measure the droop first as you can't check it once the tires are on.
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 05:28 PM   #4859
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Hello everyone,

Anyone have the part # for the silver balls studs. I need two of them for the rear hubs.

Thanx
they have 5, 8 and 10mm silver studs....

5mm #31283
8mm #31284
10mm #31285
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 06:33 PM   #4860
Tech Elite
 
GeorgePravata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brooklyn New York GO HARD OR GO HOME!!!!!!
Posts: 3,356
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

how do you get the tc5 to make 190mm do you run 190mm on both the front and rear. I run on high bite carpet running jacos prism 58.5mm Also would like to know how do you get your 190mm and have some toe in on the arms not the hub.I have the hudy set up gauges Right now I have 1 deg hubs on the rear. I was checking out some set up on rc-10 .com and one set up had 1.5 deg toe in on the arms and 1 deg on the hub when I try that I was at a total of 2.5 on the rear of the tc5


thanks George
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED,REEDY POWER, AKA, TQ WIRES, SILLYBOYZ PRODUCTS.
GeorgePravata is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net