R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2007, 02:25 PM   #4741
Tech Fanatic
 
fatbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 804
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fatbear
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
You can buy the nut sepperatly, I have the part number at home, comes in a pack of 4...I'll post later today. However to have to buy the diff nut plastic retainer from the stock outdrive kit for $5.00 to get the plastic those. Another option is to try to press the old nut out of your retainer and the new nut in.

Thanks Verndog,

I look forward to getting the part number for the diff nuts.
__________________
Team Tekin www.teamtekin.com
B-Fast R/C Performance www.bfastrc.com
AKA www.raceaka.com
Ryper Hobbies www.ryperhobbies.com.au
fatbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 05:27 PM   #4742
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbear View Post
Thanks Verndog,

I look forward to getting the part number for the diff nuts.
No problem. I've confirmed these fit, I rebuilt a diff using them.

ASC3904 2-56 Locknut

As posted the plastic nut retainer is only available in the outdrive kit.

ASC31167 Plastic Diff Outdrives
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---

Last edited by Verndog; 12-03-2007 at 09:08 PM.
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 06:48 PM   #4743
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naggalowmo View Post
Actually I have tried using less castor by going from 6* to 4* and the change was too drastic. I was having WAY too much push mid corner and trying to exit the corner. Would you have any other suggestions?

I'm running on a VERY tight high traction carpet track and most of the turns are U turns if that matters any.
Well, depending on what borders your track uses, you could try a spool when using the 4*. I have tested a spool on carpet and it was just as fast on the clock, drove better, but front end collisions will usually break the blade on tight carpet tracks unless you have flappers or something like that. The spool will not turn in as good but steer very well coming off the corner. If you can get away with running a spool, you could even try 2* caster.
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 07:39 PM   #4744
Tech Fanatic
 
Tim W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eagle, Idaho
Posts: 751
Default

I raced this car for the first time saturday all I can say is WOW. It was hooked up out of the box. Its loads better then my jrxs ever was. Great job AE on a amazing car. Btw I got 2nd in expert mod with it the first time out
__________________
Mugen Seiki, Werks Racing USA, Upgrade, AKA, Avid
Tim W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 07:42 PM   #4745
Tech Regular
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

should i run 4 degree or 6 degree caster blocks for asphalt? i run 6 degree on foam but wasn't sure about asphalt
__________________
TEAM SRU
FT TC5
NoVak
rematch batteries
RCpurplecow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 08:13 PM   #4746
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,908
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

I would run 4deg for asphalt
__________________
SpeedZone Batteries
steve eaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:43 PM   #4747
Tech Elite
 
K_Spec_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Powder Springs, Ga
Posts: 2,734
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to K_Spec_RC
Default

fatbear, I used the Stealth T-Nut/Thrust bolt kit to rebuild my diff. Works a treat too! I checked the length of thrust bolt against the TC5 and it is exactly the same length. It seemed to me that the T-Nut was a tiny bit smaller width wise. So just be sure to use the bigger of the 2 t-nuts and you will be just fine.

here is the link for the part, hope this helps!

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LX2869&P=M
__________________
HighVelocityRacing.com | TurtleTraxRaceway.com | itFitzDesign.wordpress.com | Misfitz Motorsports | Jconcepts | KO Propo | Tekin | Kyosho RB5 SP | Kyosho Ultima SC
K_Spec_RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 12:15 AM   #4748
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I think I found the solution to my problem. I put too many shims in the back arm mounts. I was using 1*+2* instead of 1*+1.5* Hard to tell the difference in thickness I also added a little toe and Im getting enough steering now. Thanks everyone for your input.

Hey Brandon I"ll try it out and see how it goes. Thanks for the help!
naggalowmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 05:11 PM   #4749
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,073
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

What happened to P-Dub bumpers? Anyone know where I can get some for the TC5?

Thanks
__________________
Speedpassion : Speedpower : East Coast Bodies
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:10 AM   #4750
Tech Apprentice
 
raceguy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 96
Default

I run my tc5 on carpet in the stock rubber class. My local track is low traction, but I can't seem to loosen my car up enough. When I have went to high grip tracks it just traction rolls. I run the stock chassis and the best it has worked for me was with copper and purple springs. Everyone at my track tells me I'm too stiff. If I soften it up it just seems to have to much bite. Any ideas?
raceguy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:19 AM   #4751
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,591
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceguy13 View Post
I run my tc5 on carpet in the stock rubber class. My local track is low traction, but I can't seem to loosen my car up enough. When I have went to high grip tracks it just traction rolls. I run the stock chassis and the best it has worked for me was with copper and purple springs. Everyone at my track tells me I'm too stiff. If I soften it up it just seems to have to much bite. Any ideas?
I would agree that you are definitely way to stiff. Sounds like you do not have any chassis roll and the car is just flipping over instead of letting the suspension work. Try softer springs and more uptravel. That should get you going in the right direction and you can start tuning from there.
RBLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:22 AM   #4752
Tech Master
 
Dasupacat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Send a message via MSN to Dasupacat1
Default

Raceguy
Post your setup. You could try some of the setups on the AE site. Try the Juho L. rubber tire setup as a starting point.
Dasupacat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 05:23 AM   #4753
Tech Master
 
Dave Bowser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,417
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

can someone tell me if the ball studs on this car have 3mm threads if so do you use a 2mm wrench to tighten them

also what are the sizes that come in the kit (part numbers)

thanks Dave
__________________
RCAmerica, X-Ray, Hudy, Ko Propo, Protoform, PRS, Jaco, JConcepts, SXT, RC3 Grafix, Kool-Aid, P-Nut, NEXT, www.SuperiorHobbies.com

We're going to skate to one song and one song only!
Dave Bowser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 01:01 PM   #4754
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Bowser View Post
can someone tell me if the ball studs on this car have 3mm threads if so do you use a 2mm wrench to tighten them

also what are the sizes that come in the kit (part numbers)

thanks Dave
whatup DB!

yes, the ballstuds have a 3mm thread, and a 2mm hex drives them...
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 01:13 PM   #4755
Tech Master
 
Dave Bowser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,417
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

not much how bout with you..................thanks for the info
__________________
RCAmerica, X-Ray, Hudy, Ko Propo, Protoform, PRS, Jaco, JConcepts, SXT, RC3 Grafix, Kool-Aid, P-Nut, NEXT, www.SuperiorHobbies.com

We're going to skate to one song and one song only!
Dave Bowser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0