R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2007, 08:24 AM   #3361
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I meant TC3. LOL Thanks for the info, just couldnt find the old TC3/TC4.

Arent the TC3 and Tc4 final drive ratios the same?
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 09:41 AM   #3362
Tech Regular
 
overflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yodace View Post
I meant TC3. LOL Thanks for the info, just couldnt find the old TC3/TC4.

Arent the TC3 and Tc4 final drive ratios the same?
yup, 2.5
overflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 10:19 AM   #3363
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I've been having an issue with launching my batteries from time to time (using deans and GP4300 and IB4200). It's not taking much of a collision to dislodge them either. I'm reluctant to work the chassis to fit batteries much more as I run a couple different cells. I'm using the stock battery strap, and even have tried a bit of thin foam tape on top of the carbon strap. I wiggle them around and they seem tight...somehow the strap is tweaking to let them out or something?? I suppose it could also be the side blocks aren't quite tall enough.

Suggestions?
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 10:40 AM   #3364
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
I've been having an issue with launching my batteries from time to time (using deans and GP4300 and IB4200). It's not taking much of a collision to dislodge them either. I'm reluctant to work the chassis to fit batteries much more as I run a couple different cells. I'm using the stock battery strap, and even have tried a bit of thin foam tape on top of the carbon strap. I wiggle them around and they seem tight...somehow the strap is tweaking to let them out or something?? I suppose it could also be the side blocks aren't quite tall enough.

Suggestions?
Forget about the battery strap and get some of the battery tape that Doug sells. I haven't lost a battery yet!
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 12:40 PM   #3365
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone Charlie View Post
Forget about the battery strap and get some of the battery tape that Doug sells. I haven't lost a battery yet!
Ya....Sean told me the same thing last night....guess he thought I'd get a ticket for littering.

I bought some and it is better....but I still prefer to run with the stock strap...I appear to be the minority here. Most people prefer the added chassis flex with tape.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:27 PM   #3366
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,519
Default

I'm not sure if the strap reduces chassis flex but if you're not careful it can cause a tweak. Not saying that this is the case with this one, but it can happen.

E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 05:17 PM   #3367
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Ya....Sean told me the same thing last night....guess he thought I'd get a ticket for littering.

I bought some and it is better....but I still prefer to run with the stock strap...I appear to be the minority here. Most people prefer the added chassis flex with tape.
It's not any fun if your battery comes out in a qualifier or a main. I tried the strap myself thinking it was an improvement over my Cyclone that only uses tape. After losing my battery during my first practice, the strap is now in my "I'll never use box"!
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 02:02 PM   #3368
Tech Apprentice
 
BigP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Switzerland / England
Posts: 67
Default

Here some weight infos:

TC-5 Chassis (Kit) 2,5mm: 73 gramm
TC-5 ITF-Chassis 2mm: 58 gramm

TC-5 Top-Deck (Kit): 10 gramm
TC-5 ITF Top-Deck: ? gramm

Now I beginn build the car

Last edited by BigP; 07-20-2007 at 02:00 AM.
BigP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 09:01 PM   #3369
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

I've read the last 40 pages.....I can get past the fact that this is a carpet car,and I might have to re chassis the car.....

but several people have asked how a 4800 lipo fits,and no answers.....I'll take it one step further...how does the car balance out with the lower weight battery,is(are) there a place to mount screw in weights like the 007 EU......is associated gonna make those weights.....

and lastly,I drive nitro also......I run that car with diffs,I'm gonna run the tc 5 with diffs.........on asphalt......with rubber....and a Bl 4.5.....Am I barking up the wrong tree with this car?......cause I'm not seeing how the diffs are gonna hold up........

also,I downloaded the manual....I did not see any mention of roll center adjusment.....how is this done?......

thank you....
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 10:54 PM   #3370
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastharry View Post
I've read the last 40 pages.....I can get past the fact that this is a carpet car,and I might have to re chassis the car.....

but several people have asked how a 4800 lipo fits,and no answers.....I'll take it one step further...how does the car balance out with the lower weight battery,is(are) there a place to mount screw in weights like the 007 EU......is associated gonna make those weights.....

and lastly,I drive nitro also......I run that car with diffs,I'm gonna run the tc 5 with diffs.........on asphalt......with rubber....and a Bl 4.5.....Am I barking up the wrong tree with this car?......cause I'm not seeing how the diffs are gonna hold up........

also,I downloaded the manual....I did not see any mention of roll center adjusment.....how is this done?......

thank you....
Well I can help on a few of your ???s

I run mod foam on carpet, and the diffs have been in the car now for 3 days of running. That is 30 + battery packs. I will take them out before I run again to inspect them, but they still feel very good! ( that is running both 5 and 6 cell, 6 and 7 turn brushed and 4.5 and 3.5 brushless motors)
There are 3 different height arm mounts and 2 locations on the bulkheads, for a total of 6 roll center heights.
As for lipos, Rick said they fit, I have not tried.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED==REEDY==LRP==FACTORY TEAM==COMPETITION ELECTRONICS==JACO RACING TIRES==SPEKTRUM==DYNAMITE== PROTOFORM==KIMBROUGH==REILLY PAINT WORKS==Sxt
walterhenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 11:01 PM   #3371
Tech Elite
 
K_Spec_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Powder Springs, Ga
Posts: 2,734
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to K_Spec_RC
Default

I ran a lipo in my TC5 last week and it fit like a glove. I liked the feel of the car with the lighter battery (no weight added, I was in a pinch) It seemed to transition smoother and was more stable in the lower traction portions of the track. Hope this helps.
__________________
HighVelocityRacing.com | TurtleTraxRaceway.com | itFitzDesign.wordpress.com | Misfitz Motorsports | Jconcepts | KO Propo | Tekin | Kyosho RB5 SP | Kyosho Ultima SC
K_Spec_RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 12:26 AM   #3372
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastharry View Post
and lastly,I drive nitro also......I run that car with diffs,I'm gonna run the tc 5 with diffs.........on asphalt......with rubber....and a Bl 4.5.....Am I barking up the wrong tree with this car?......cause I'm not seeing how the diffs are gonna hold up........
Recent results for asphalt racing have been impressive!!!

The car is great for asphalt as well as carpet You wont be dissapointed!!!
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 09:31 AM   #3373
Tech Apprentice
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 89
Default

Hey does anyone have a handle on how the shock rebound is measured? I see 10% and 25%... but how is that figured.

My car was money with Stellflue's setup at out track. I was setting fastet lap times with no practice.

AE, you guys did a super job with this car!!!
__________________
MHOR R/C Raceway - W.E.D. Paint

RC8Be - Tekin Rx8 - T8 2050kv - Reedy 4s 5500mah
B4.1 - LRP SXX V.2 - X-12 (8.5) - Reedy 2s 5500mah
B44.1 - LRP SXX-TC V.2 - X-12 (7.5) - Reedy 2s 5100mah
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 10:40 AM   #3374
Tech Adept
 
nutsisneat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 101
Default

rebound 10 % = 10% of the total travel of the piston rod
nutsisneat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 05:03 PM   #3375
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider View Post
Hey does anyone have a handle on how the shock rebound is measured? I see 10% and 25%... but how is that figured.

My car was money with Stellflue's setup at out track. I was setting fastet lap times with no practice.

AE, you guys did a super job with this car!!!
I think it's the whole length of the shaft outside of the shock body, not including the shock eyelet. So when you compress the shock shaft into the body, if it comes out after full compression one quater of that length then you have 25% rebound.
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0