R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2007, 01:55 AM   #3091
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: STOKE-ON-TRENT, UK
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to Grindog001
Default

Hi all, my kit is on its way, i cant wait

What is the problem with the servos? Are the holes in the chassis too close or something else?

thanks, john
Grindog001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 02:51 AM   #3092
Tech Master
 
ooliganRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Under that rock you just kicked over!!!!
Posts: 1,040
Send a message via MSN to ooliganRC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuhoL View Post
As has been said a couple of times already in this thread: The diffs will melt down if you run them too loose. Some people had issues with this in the Reedy race and most of them had the screw several turns too loose. The only way you will ever melt it down is with a low turn brushless motor.

Obviously the aluminium outdrives will help but you shouldnt have to get them if the diff is built correctly.

I'm sure the servo fit issues will be fixed in the batch of kits.
does this mean ill get a frre new one?

also i have found the car to be excellent one thing thou... got a slight knock front diff bearing holders....they are clean and no burrs... im running a bd spool and pulley, but it did the same with my tc5 front diff.....


any ideas.... doesnt effect performance, is just annoying
ooliganRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:18 AM   #3093
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuhoL View Post
As has been said a couple of times already in this thread: The diffs will melt down if you run them too loose. Some people had issues with this in the Reedy race and most of them had the screw several turns too loose....
I read that they recommend to run the diff at 1/4 turn from dead stop. That is where I set mine...is this still what is recomended?? Also, is there some other test to perform to see if its adjusted properly?
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:29 AM   #3094
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,116
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grindog001 View Post
Hi all, my kit is on its way, i cant wait

What is the problem with the servos? Are the holes in the chassis too close or something else?

thanks, john
The servo holes are in the correct location. Its the servo mounts them selves are too wide at the base for some servos and can not be moved in close enough to mount to the chassis. In other words the servo mounts need to be narrowed up but no new holes in the chassis are needed.

This only applies to a few servos. Some brands fit perfect like they are.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:30 AM   #3095
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
I read that they recommend to run the diff at 1/4 turn from dead stop. That is where I set mine...is this still what is recomended?? Also, is there some other test to perform to see if its adjusted properly?

you can put an allen wrench thru the spur to lock in down to the chassis and then hold one wheel and try to turn the other. the wheel should not spin. If it does then the diff is too loose. Do the same to the front.

E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:32 AM   #3096
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
I read that they recommend to run the diff at 1/4 turn from dead stop. That is where I set mine...is this still what is recomended?? Also, is there some other test to perform to see if its adjusted properly?
To check adjustment while diff is in car:
Hold left side tire and spur gear, and try to turn right tire by hand,(Considering the outdrives are plastic), the right side outdrive should not turn when considerable force is applied.

This doesn't mean try and turn as hard as you can until the plastic outdrive breaks.
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:32 AM   #3097
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grindog001 View Post
Hi all, my kit is on its way, i cant wait

What is the problem with the servos? Are the holes in the chassis too close or something else?

thanks, john
I use JR servos. It mounted up with out issue. If you need to remove any material to get your servo's to fit take it off of the mounts vs. your servo or chassis.

E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 10:01 AM   #3098
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fin
Posts: 7
Default

TC5 wins in Europe: Juho wins Fintrack VI: results http://rc10.fi/index.php?topic=21969.0 and pictures http://www.prfoto.com/Tattarisuo_FTV...2007/index.htm
Driving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 10:59 AM   #3099
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default Differential

Hi,

I've just build my TC5 but I found three short outdrives and just one long outdrive:s:s:s
SO I cant build the two diffs!!
Does anywone also has this problem?
And does anywone know where I would find the spool kit or diff kit?
Stockman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:43 PM   #3100
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stockman View Post
Hi,

I've just build my TC5 but I found three short outdrives and just one long outdrive:s:s:s
SO I cant build the two diffs!!
Does anywone also has this problem?
And does anywone know where I would find the spool kit or diff kit?
I had basically the same problem except I had 5 b-cam holders and 3 a-cam holders.
jeff john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:50 PM   #3101
Tech Regular
 
CrazyRonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mainracer View Post
I just wanted to post on here since I have recently been added to the strong AE team and I will be here along with Brent, Rick, Walter, Brandon and EA to answer question you may have about the new car.

I just finished to build the car and I was impressed on how easy the car is to build and everything fits perfect. I can't wait to put the car on the track and have some time on it.

Congrats Keven...

And wish you good luck and success with your new team

-----

Ronald
CrazyRonny
www.crazyrcracing.com
[email protected]
CrazyRonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:51 PM   #3102
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Auburn Wa
Posts: 1,882
Default this test always works's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
I read that they recommend to run the diff at 1/4 turn from dead stop. That is where I set mine...is this still what is recomended?? Also, is there some other test to perform to see if its adjusted properly?


Ya, Drive it
Sterling Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:53 PM   #3103
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,852
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
The servo holes are in the correct location. Its the servo mounts them selves are too wide at the base for some servos and can not be moved in close enough to mount to the chassis. In other words the servo mounts need to be narrowed up but no new holes in the chassis are needed.

This only applies to a few servos. Some brands fit perfect like they are.

EA
The Futaba 9550 and the KO 2343 do not fit the kit mounts.
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:55 PM   #3104
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Auburn Wa
Posts: 1,882
Default too funny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
Try making more constructive criticism , you only bashed, so try again...

Who stole Cherry handel
Sterling Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:58 PM   #3105
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Does somebody know where I can find the spool kit or the Diff kit?
Stockman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net