R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2007, 10:48 AM   #2836
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricF View Post
Brent,

What settings do you use if/when you run a brushed motor? For instance a 19t. I'm debating on which esc to use; Sphere or a Comp 2.

So far I really like the car. The build quality is a lot better, not as tight as xray but definitely not a loose as past kits.

Thanks,
E
The good thing if you go with the Sphere Comp is that in the future if you want to run brushless, even if it's the 13.5 (so called 19t equivalent) you already have the speedo to do so. If you are going to run brushed, I would start with the settings at 2/3/2/2.

Yea, there are a few loose fitting pieces in this first run, but over the next few months the molds should tighten up and everything will fit nicely.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:02 AM   #2837
Tech Regular
 
Special"ED"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 416
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Preping the chassis

How much do you sand the battery slots? Also should you sand the sharp edges off the entire chassis. Also do you glue, CA the edges for protection.
Thanks
ed

P.S. There is still racing in San Diego.
ChECK
3FAMILYHOBBIES.COM
Special"ED" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:11 AM   #2838
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Family Hobbies View Post
How much do you sand the battery slots? Also should you sand the sharp edges off the entire chassis. Also do you glue, CA the edges for protection.
Thanks
ed

P.S. There is still racing in San Diego.
ChECK
3FAMILYHOBBIES.COM
I sand enough so that when I place a loose cell in the slot, it is flush with the bottom of the chassis. You can remove the sharp edges from the perimeter of the chassis before you glue them.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:22 AM   #2839
Tech Regular
 
Special"ED"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 416
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

THANKS RICK
Special"ED" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:35 AM   #2840
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

I sanded all the sharp edges everywhere and CA'd them all. I paid extra attention on the battery slots and the places where you would use tape to hold the battery in. I even did a light sanding on the tape slots after I CA'd them. I don't use the battery strap that came with car because of the shortness of the hold down screws. Even with them installed per the manual they seem kind of short for my liking. Sanding and sealing all the edges makes for a nicer looking finished product.
Cyclone Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:38 AM   #2841
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default Chassis Prep

This is the first time I've used this method, but it worked great. I chamfered all the square edges with a dremel on a very low speed and then using 300 grit sandpaper, wet sanded all the edges. It only took about 10 minutes to do the chassis, top deck and towers. I was very pleased with the results and there is zero chance of gluing your chassis to your shirt...ask Barry Baker about that one...lol.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 12:02 PM   #2842
Tech Regular
 
RAP66's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I glue (thin CA) everything first to seal it then I wet sand all the edges with an med grit emery board (the one used for nails), when it's all done I'll re-glue all of the edges again.
RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 12:50 PM   #2843
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 51 View Post
The good thing if you go with the Sphere Comp is that in the future if you want to run brushless, even if it's the 13.5 (so called 19t equivalent) you already have the speedo to do so. If you are going to run brushed, I would start with the settings at 2/3/2/2.

Yea, there are a few loose fitting pieces in this first run, but over the next few months the molds should tighten up and everything will fit nicely.

Thanks B.T. I'll go ahead and put my Sphere in.

E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 01:47 PM   #2844
Tech Addict
 
dbmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I rec'd my itf top deck today, but no chassis yet.
-
w/ the itf top deck and the regular chassis, should i still run the o-rings in the top deck, or should I be ok without them?
-
thanks in advance
__________________
FSEARA - Top Photon - Jacks Hobbies
dbmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 02:12 PM   #2845
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbmartin View Post
I rec'd my itf top deck today, but no chassis yet.
-
w/ the itf top deck and the regular chassis, should i still run the o-rings in the top deck, or should I be ok without them?
-
thanks in advance
You can run it either way. The o-rings are a tuning option.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:35 PM   #2846
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,409
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet View Post
Rick so it would be best to run the belts at the loosest position for a few packs on the first couple of shake down runs...... then adjust the belts and start tuning the car for the track.

My belts are pretty tight even in the loosest setting. I have run about 5 packs through with a mod brushless. If I change the tension setting, the belts play music like guitar strings! lol I guess this will take some time.
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:59 PM   #2847
Tech Apprentice
 
pepecueva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ecuador
Posts: 93
Default

I know this has been discused alredy, but I cant find it, is AE going to release some other version of the TC5, like a team version or a RTR version?
pepecueva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 05:02 PM   #2848
Tech Elite
 
K_Spec_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Powder Springs, Ga
Posts: 2,734
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to K_Spec_RC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepecueva View Post
I know this has been discused alredy, but I cant find it, is AE going to release some other version of the TC5, like a team version or a RTR version?
well, the current TC5 is listed as a FT TC5, so thats out of the question. and I think a few pages back Brent mentioned that they had no plans on producing an RTR... could be wrong tho... best to wait for he or someone from AE to confirm it.
__________________
HighVelocityRacing.com | TurtleTraxRaceway.com | itFitzDesign.wordpress.com | Misfitz Motorsports | Jconcepts | KO Propo | Tekin | Kyosho RB5 SP | Kyosho Ultima SC
K_Spec_RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 05:02 PM   #2849
Tech Regular
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 51 View Post
There will be no "Team" version, just the Factory Team TC5.
there you go....
__________________
TEAM SRU
FT TC5
NoVak
rematch batteries
RCpurplecow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 05:53 PM   #2850
Tech Regular
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I want AE to here me out on this. I think there should be a team version so people with less of a budget can jump into competitive onroad racing without spending all their money on a chassis. A RTR would also be really cool.The more varieties, the more buyers AE can appeal to.
__________________
TEAM SRU
FT TC5
NoVak
rematch batteries
RCpurplecow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0