R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2007, 03:47 PM   #2656
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Boyle
Thanks Brent,

I am looking forward to building the car this weekend


Kevin Boyle
You're going to love it mate, it goes together real nice

Warwick.
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 03:50 PM   #2657
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyB
just looking through some pictures of the Reedy race and check this out

http://jbphotography.smugmug.com/gal...157255085-O-LB

Cavileri body, I may be crazy here but look at the front wheel wells. looks as though the body was mounted/ pulled quite a bit forward. Any comments on why or how this could effect handling?
It's also because the body doesn't fit nicely... I had to do the same to my Stratus body.... either that or trim down my bumber.
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:30 PM   #2658
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B4Bandit
It's also because the body doesn't fit nicely... I had to do the same to my Stratus body.... either that or trim down my bumber.
The foam bumper has been optimized to be fill out the front of the Mazda 6. Cavalieri just messed up a bit on the hole mounting. He had another Speed6 that was mounted perfectly, but in the end decided to run his paint scheme with the mis-mounted body...lol.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:39 PM   #2659
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default Foam Setups

As promised, some foam setups from the team have been posted on the Associated website...enjoy!

http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/0setups_tc5.htm
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:41 PM   #2660
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

do you really need the new chassis to run outdoors?
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:42 PM   #2661
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigb11
do you really need the new chassis to run outdoors?
No, you don't need it. See my post a page or so back about what you NEED to run asphalt. Hope this helps.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:47 PM   #2662
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueSilver
Hi Brent,

i am TeamDriver for Thunder Tiger in Germany, can u please send me some pictures, how i can install the O-Rings perfect?

U have a Idea how can make a Spool with the Front Diff, use SandPaper or a good glue :-)

Thanks for answering,
Marcel
I have heard that the sandpaper diff rings work well. I would stay away from glue though.

Here's a photo of how Juho has his o-rings installed on the top deck. They are located between the gold washer and the top deck.



Just snug them down. There is no need to over tighten them.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:57 PM   #2663
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,884
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 51
As promised, some foam setups from the team have been posted on the Associated website...enjoy!

http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/0setups_tc5.htm
Hey Brent I posted my setup here a few days ago as well. I can email it to you if you want to put it up on there for the guys that have been PM'ing me about it.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:57 PM   #2664
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 51
Short answer, no. From a box stock TC5, the best investments you can make for asphalt racing are:
Gold Springs #3944 x 1
Blue Springs #3943 x 1
Silver Springs #3942 x 1
O-rings #5407 x 1
8 Washers #7336 x 2
M3x6 BHCS #31531 x 2

Start with this setup:
http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/r...yrace_2007.pdf

With the stock chassis, running the o-rings on the top deck should provide more than enough flex to generate the proper traction on asphalt. However, the car may tweak a bit easier due to the lack of fixed top deck attachments. There are photos around the sites of how to install the o-rings.

Just ask if you have questions. Have fun!
Thanks!!!!!!!
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:09 PM   #2665
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

how about timmy heisers novak a main setup .. and timmy's 19t a main at carpet nats


please
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:13 PM   #2666
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

we've been using larger (~7/8 dia) o-rings (instead of sandpaper) to make spools for associated cars for years... got tired of shattering the spools in the tc3's and 4's..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:28 PM   #2667
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 170
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Not that this has anythng to do with this thread but...

What brushless esc are you guys running. I need a new one. I am thinking the GTB Spread Spektrum or the LRP TC-Spec. What are you guys running?
bretzkej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:38 PM   #2668
Tech Master
 
STARSCREAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet
how about timmy heisers novak a main setup .. and timmy's 19t a main at carpet nats


please
isnt that with the prototype car????
__________________
Sean Maybell

Team Associated/Reedy/LRP
STARSCREAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:40 PM   #2669
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretzkej
Not that this has anythng to do with this thread but...

What brushless esc are you guys running. I need a new one. I am thinking the GTB Spread Spektrum or the LRP TC-Spec. What are you guys running?
If this means anything to you, I would esimate that about 90% of the invite field used the LRP Sphere TC Spec. It is the exact same speedo you can buy from LRP and they just came in stock so you should be able to get one shortly, if not now.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 05:41 PM   #2670
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STARSCREAM
isnt that with the prototype car????
Yes, Tim ran the prototype car there...part of the reason he didn't run stock at the race. I will get with him and see what he remembers from his setup. He's been busy with graduation but should get back in to the swing of things soon.
__________________
Brent Thielke - Associated Team Manager
** AE Forum - www.aeforums.co.uk **
51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:21 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0