Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Looking for Racing RTR under $100USD - Carisma 1/14 worth a look? >

Looking for Racing RTR under $100USD - Carisma 1/14 worth a look?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Looking for Racing RTR under $100USD - Carisma 1/14 worth a look?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2006, 09:34 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Looking for Racing RTR under $100USD - Carisma 1/14 worth a look?

Hi everyone,

I used to own a lot of Nikko R/C toys about 5 years ago. I'm looking to rekindle my love of R/C cars, but I'm starting off as a newbie I guess.

I'm looking for a RTR car under $100 USD to do some fun little racing in the neighborhood. Nothing serious as I can't afford anything in the real R/C racing ranges of $300+. I prefer on-road, but if a off-road car turns out better in the pricerange, I might do off-road driving instead.

I know some Nikko toy R/C's can run up to 20 mph. Considering my limited budget, I guess I'm not going to find anything much better than them.

Has anyone have had experienced with Carisma 1/14 R/C's? They usually sell for $99, but I want to know how well they perform. I have a feeling that they're all looks and nothing underneath, but as I'm a complete rookie, I'm just guessing here.

I also found a HPI Dash Porsche 911 Turbo RTR R/C Car for $90 at ehobbies.com.

HobbyPeople.com has a few Tamiya's under $100 at http://www.hobbypeople.net/prdcls/caraac01.asp How are these Tamiya TT-01's or Tamiya QD's? They don't come with a controller do they?

Any suggestions? Or should I just get a new cheap Nikko for now and see if I can save enough for something better later?

I don't have a preference for size; I think my only preference is that speed comes before anything else.

Thanks so much everyone!
Venio

Last edited by Veniogenesis; 03-05-2006 at 09:51 PM.
Old 03-06-2006, 12:43 AM
R/C Tech Founder