R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2006, 12:56 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Unhappy G11 PRO and KO Digital = NO GOOD... HELP!!!

Hello,

This is my first post on here, so hello everyone!

Problem is: I recenty got a new Tekin G11 Pro esc and it doesn't work with my KO 2143 Digital servo.

My configuration is: G11 pro, DSM receiver, KO 2143 servo.

What happens is, the throttle and brake works, but the steering starts to glitch LIKE CRAZY as soon as you touch the wheel.

I tried the G11 with my Airtronics analog servo and it works perfectly. To make sure that the KO 2143 is OK, I tested it with the DSM receiver and my QC2, and NO problems at all.

SO, if someone could help me, I'd really appreciate it. Although I don't see what else I could do EXCEPT for GETTING RID OF THE G11 pro ASAP and GETTING A SECOND QC2 or GTX. (I'm really happy with my servo an am not gonna sell my 2143 just because some stupid esc won't work with it)

I'm really disappointed with the prodct that Tekin has put out, and I would think that a company that respects itself would at least state on the esc box that THIS ESC DOES NOT WORK WITH DIGITAL SERVOS. I'm sure they tested this esc with digital servos and probably with the 2143 and knew all about this , but preferred not to say anything!!!
JohnMagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 01:04 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 114
Default

i know a couple of people that run Ko servos with the G-11 pro esc
and it works fine.
I run a G-11 with a digital futaba servo and it works fine too.
Have a look in trouble shooting and if nothing corvers it send it back
to Tekin and they should repair it for you for free.
Simon A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 01:10 PM   #3
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,098
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Ive ran my G11 with the 2143 servo and the 2343 servo and had no problems what so ever.

And dont you think if Tekin DID know there was a problem they WOULD have fixed it and not released it anyway? There is a Tekin thread on the Company forum....Before you bash a company at least give them the chance to help you solve the problem. Starting threads like this does not good for you or Tekin.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 01:16 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

yeah like EA i too run a g-11 oro with ko 2343,2143,jr 8450 an in my 1/12 with a ko 949 all being digital an all being on a spektrum an no problems at all tekin is a good product an will repair a problem try them dont bash when its not worthy
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 01:28 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Try adding one click of drag brake on the esc, also, try widening the neutral band on the servo to, just a little.

If you want more specific help, pop across to the Tekin Forums at www.teamtekin.com click on the link, and you might find a quicker response.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 02:11 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

throw a cap on the receiver and you will be fine
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 02:43 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
TeamPRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 406
Default

Please contact Tekin directly. They have great service and will help you sort out your problems.

I have also run 2143 servos. In fact, I run two 2143 servos using a "y" connector with my G11 speedos and have not had any issues. I'm not running any caps or receiver battery either. I know that is really pushing the limits, but so far it has been rock steady(since October '05). This is with an Airtronics 27mhz M11 radio and receiver.
TeamPRP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:17 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i had the same issue when i dont run a cap, install the cap problem will go away. trust me
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:27 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Post

Ok, thanks a lot guys, will try that, if it doesn't work I'll send it back.

Oh, Jeff, what kind of cap do you think I should use? One of those 4700uF? or smaller?

Thanks again!
JohnMagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:32 PM   #10
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

The cap is mainly for the guys running DSM....
Which has nothing to do with the ESC.....


I run my G11's with digital servos also...
No issues.
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:58 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I had the exact same problem with my G11 and my KO2363 and I was ready to can it. Cuffs keyed me in about the cap and sure enough, it fixed it. Just plug into the battery plug on your DSM and run it to a capaciter.

At the LHS they even had a cap from Spektrum already prewired.
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 05:43 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i dont know the specs on the cap but i run the one that spectrum sells. it comes wired with a plug and everything. hope this helps
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 06:01 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I run a cap from Radio Shack. The numbers on it are 1000f 50volt.Only a few dollars and simple to install. I have to use them on the DSM receiver system only. It will fix your problem.
__________________
www.rkhobbies.com
www.tnt-fx.com
Stefan Millay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 07:18 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 495
Send a message via MSN to Thistle
Default

FYI... The Spektrum cap is a 4700uf 10V capacitor
__________________
Xray | Ofna | KO Propo | Tekin | Clockwork Racing Engines
Thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB good Hitec digital servos... jspurgin R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 7 03-09-2008 10:13 PM
New Trinity Digital Discharger any good? straightaway Electric On-Road 2 09-17-2006 10:07 PM
wtb good digital camcorder hurley081182 Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 05-02-2006 08:11 PM
WTB: Good Digital Servo viet_mafia Australia Wanted to Buy 1 04-18-2006 06:14 AM
good digital camera hurley081182 Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 4 02-22-2006 07:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net