R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2006, 01:18 AM   #1
Tech Regular
stegger's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ellesmere port Cheshire UK
Posts: 294

Dont know if anybody is having the same problem but if you discharge your cells (gp3700) down to .9 of a volt on the GFX, then transfer them to the smarttray and discharge them again to .9. They take an age to equalise. This is on new and old cells. Any thoughts fellas???
stegger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 01:51 AM   #2
Tech Adept
SC's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover PA
Posts: 185

Dont be alarmed, the gfx doesnt equalize the cell's like the smart tray does...it just pull's the pack down to a pre-set voltage.

I experience the same thing as you with the tekin trays and the novak flatlines.

SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 02:49 AM   #3
Tech Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

If you discharge at a lower rate on your GFX it will take less time on the smart tray. I normally discharge at 30 amps, if I want to equalize faster I discharge again at 10 amps and then put them on the smart tray which discharges at about 1 or 2 amps.
"we need to do at least 11.2 km/s to break earths orbit or almost the speed as Cam's car"

Neil Armstrong 1968
Cammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 04:38 AM   #4
Tech Master
polesitter61's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I know what your talking about, I just lowered the cut off on my GFX to 5.30 and it will equalize much faster on the tray. Apparently the voltage reading are different between the two devices.
Slickzero R/C products, check them out, very cheap shipping!!!
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 10:20 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68

No, it's that the voltage on the cell is lower with a 30 amp load on it, than it is with a 1 or 2 amp load. At any time, you can have a cell in any state of charge, and the higher the load you put on it, the lower the voltage will read. The GFX at 30A pulls it down to a certain point, and as soon as the discharge stops, the voltage creeps back up again. When you put it on the smart tray, it takes longer to pull it back down because of the lower discharge rate. After all of the lights go off on the smart tray, it shuts off and the cells creep up again. Hit the button after a few minutes, and it doesn't shut right off, it'll take some time again. This is all completely normal battery behavior - there isn't anything wrong with your smart tray or your GFX.
Corner Weight is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak SmartTray SE bibleboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 10-13-2008 08:42 AM
[FS] Novak SmartTray squarehead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-26-2008 01:10 PM
[FS] Novak SmartTray squarehead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 06-28-2007 09:02 AM
WTB Novak SmartTray WRXTC Australia Wanted to Buy 4 10-26-2006 04:59 PM
FS:M8,Servo's,SmartTray,and More... TexRacer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 08-08-2006 05:19 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:43 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0