R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2001, 12:28 PM   #61
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

There's lots at my track... I think they're plotting something bad against us Yokomo racers... Evil, they're eeeevil.

My track is selling them for $189!!! No wonder there's alot of them... I think they got 10 kits in, might be 1 or 2 left.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:29 PM   #62
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Talking

You looking for something to open a can on adam?
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:29 PM   #63
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

HA! First thread with 3 pages! Beat that, Losi's!!!! hehehehe
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:33 PM   #64
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Cool COOL!

Yeah, that's cool!

So, we should prolly start talking about some yokomo stuff now...
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:35 PM   #65
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

probably should. Ummm, this one time at Yokomo camp, err... no.

Anybody use a Mondeo body? I just got one because I thought it looked cool, and couldn't notice any ontrack differences between it and my Stratus. Just wondering if anyone else noticed a difference, mabye on a big track or something.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:38 PM   #66
Regional Moderator
 
mr4-malta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta!
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speedo
You looking for something to open a can on adam?
lol....for me it will be a evil tc3........muuuhhahahah lol
--------------------------------------------
yokomo
now has any one tried the new belts in mod??......whats the wear like?? do they need to be broken in?
im thinkin of gettin them are the worth it?
mr4-malta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:44 PM   #67
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Talking

Jeff LOL! The second one is out now!
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:44 PM   #68
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've been thinking about getting into mod. I'm having a fairly hard time keeping up power wise in stock, and usually have been doing good in the corners. (last week sucked, but eveybody has their off-nights.) Anyways, what would you reccomend for a mod motor? I've played around on practice days with a 12x3 SpeedGems, and it's LOTS of fun! It'll take some getting used to, but I want to try racing mod competitively. I've got 4 Yokomo 2400 packs, which I'd like to use in Mod. Don't exactly have the money to buy 3000's, and I know people made runtime before the NiMH's even came out.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:51 PM   #69
Regional Moderator
 
mr4-malta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta!
Posts: 422
Default

well if you had now budget i would go for a reedy ti( but they are a bit pricey).....forget the trinity (but you prolly already know that lol) orion is good maybe a nice 11x3.....
can you get corally where you are?? my best mods are corally!2400 you shouldnt have any probs unless your trottle happy(like me ) i can also give you gearing combo's with 2400's i used to use them but now its all 3000
mr4-malta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:53 PM   #70
Tech Adept
 
Caddzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Caddzilla Send a message via AIM to Caddzilla Send a message via Yahoo to Caddzilla
Default

Thanks Speedo, I will make sure I pick up those parts before I start on the conversion.
Caddzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:53 PM   #71
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Cool

Guys over here bave no probs making 4 min with 2400's. I'm thinking about getting into mod eventually too. I would say reedy ti, best motor right now. I have a 13 3 D4...I think trinity only makes good stock motors though.

Speedo
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:56 PM   #72
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I can afford a motor... But, not 3-4 $65 battery packs is what I meant. Also, how much extra wear does Mod put on the drive train, and tires??? I realize the motors themselves cost more, but how much more do I get to look forward to spending on other stuff?
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 01:03 PM   #73
Regional Moderator
 
mr4-malta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta!
Posts: 422
Default

well
eventualy you will need a lathe so (150$) brushes every 5-8 runs atleast 3-5 motors......tires.......20-25 runs (pit d35 w/ schum blue insert).....and eventually if you want to be serious in mod you will need 3000'......i have 4 packs..... plus you brake parts easy
and not too much wear on the transmission!
mr4-malta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 01:05 PM   #74
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, I've got a Hudy lathe, will pick up a diamond bit fairly soon. I've got I think 28 tires mounted up... all Pits and Sorex's. I've got allmost enough spare parts to build another car. I've got some brushes, and can get more very, very easily. I guess what I'm really asking though, is do I need to rebuild the diff more often and maybe keep a closer eye on outdrive wear and that sort of stuff?
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 01:07 PM   #75
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What I'd really like to do, is just buy 1 motor, but then buy a couple different wind arms for it. Unless, there's a problem with doing this, that is my plan so far.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Race Results Addict sa RC Manila Racers 1028 03-29-2016 09:55 PM
New Yokomo TC, the BD-5 YokomoAmerica Electric On-Road 3801 04-26-2014 04:05 AM
Yokomo MR-4TC SD Cat Electric On-Road 15814 04-18-2014 09:15 AM
Yokomo MR4TC-BD mr.ng Electric On-Road 9094 02-05-2013 02:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0