R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree62Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2016, 05:24 AM   #931
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill Tn
Posts: 795
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy 2 Tone View Post
I just put the 3.0 together and was doing the basic set up in the book. The book states purple Springs in the front red in the back.I have the ride height at 26 in the front but can only get 23 in the back and that is with the shock collars all the way down. I took the shocks off and checked the rebound and everything is fine 1/2 inche of rebound checked the a arms everything is good , I reinstalled the shocks and still can only get a height of 23 in the back and that is maxed out on the shocks red Springs. Can someone help me with this.scte 3.0
+4 spring cups?????? be sure you have those on all 4 corners.
freebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 05:27 AM   #932
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill Tn
Posts: 795
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh L View Post
It was the point we where trying to make.
We know what the rules are and both agree the rules are not the best way to go about things.
Maybe it's me, but I have never been one to go along with a thing that confounds common sense or logic without consistent questioning of it.
This is a case that I am guilty of my own hypocrisy in the effect I continue to run the class and abide by the rules. However, don't confuse the fact I think it's mildly stupid to over stress a limited system to do a thing that could be done much better on 3S for little to no extra cost.
3S systems would run longer, cooler, more powerful, and less expensive batteries could be used significantly lowering the risk of blowing one up.
I don't know how things are at your tracks, but more people blow up SCT stuff than any other class around here. Running over abundant IR stat electrical systems is a large reason why IMO.
agree
freebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 01:31 PM   #933
Tech Fanatic
 
sykemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: evans georgia
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barillms View Post
I replaced my sway bar screws with larger ones. They're way better now. To access the front screws, i reamed two holes in the front bumper. For the rear, i upgraded to the RPM rear bumper mount and it allows easier access to the rear sway bar screws.

Im running the 45mm stock rear shocks on the front with the stock front pistons. And im running 48mm 22T rear shocks on the the rear. This shock set up gives more down travel and feels really good.
What size screws did you use on the sway bar? Did you have to drill out the sway bar holders? Thanks in advance.
sykemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 03:19 AM   #934
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Hallo guyz! Sorry for some mistakes in text, English is not my native language. I have TLR ten scte 3.0 and hobbywing xerun 4000 kv motor installed on it. I want to change motor, and i have choise: Tekin pro4 4000 kv and Tekin pro4 hd 3000 kv. What will be more suitable for racing? Usage only on 2s, both motors are used. Thanks fot help!
the_stig123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 05:47 AM   #935
Tech Addict
 
Josh L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville VA
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Why are those motors your only choice? Thy hobbywing motor you have is more powerful than either of those motors. But for sake of answering your question, the 4000kv will be more in line with what you will want to run on 2S. So go with that one if that is your only choice. Alternately if you are allowed, the Tekin 4600 is probably even better if you plan to run on larger tracks.
Josh L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 07:53 AM   #936
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh L View Post
Why are those motors your only choice? Thy hobbywing motor you have is more powerful than either of those motors. But for sake of answering your question, the 4000kv will be more in line with what you will want to run on 2S. So go with that one if that is your only choice. Alternately if you are allowed, the Tekin 4600 is probably even better if you plan to run on larger tracks.
Unfortunately i dont have too much time to wait delyvery and there are no new Tekin motors in my country. And my hobbywing motor doesnt work in sensored mode(
the_stig123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 07:56 AM   #937
Tech Addict
 
Josh L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville VA
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That is strange about the sensored mode thing... I assume you mean something is broken with the motor? What ESC are you using?
Josh L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 07:59 AM   #938
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh L View Post
That is strange about the sensored mode thing... I assume you mean something is broken with the motor? What ESC are you using?
I am using hobbywing xr8 sct, problem with sensored mode was also with previous hobbywing sct pro.
the_stig123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 01:22 PM   #939
Tech Master
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barillms View Post
Nobody should ever run 3 cell in short course. First off, it's illegal and if you ever race with 3s you are breaking the rules of the short course class. 4wd SCT is and always will be a 2 cell only class.


.
Oh man , just because the rules have been 2s since the beginning , doesn't mean that's the best choice. At one time women couldn't vote , the speed limit was 55, pot was illegal in all 50 states , and booze was illegal. All of those rules have been corrected , and hopefully the 2s rule will be too.
__________________
Josh W.

Don't forget ... Have fun , talk sh*$ with your buddies, and have fun.

I race so I can have people flip my car over ....
wittyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 01:26 PM   #940
Tech Master
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_stig123 View Post
I am using hobbywing xr8 sct, problem with sensored mode was also with previous hobbywing sct pro.
You need to check the sensor board , may be all you need to do is replace it
__________________
Josh W.

Don't forget ... Have fun , talk sh*$ with your buddies, and have fun.

I race so I can have people flip my car over ....
wittyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:00 PM   #941
Tech Addict
 
Josh L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville VA
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
You need to check the sensor board , may be all you need to do is replace it
Yeah that is what it sounds like to me, in the mean time get one of these to add to you're collection.

CR162 - CORE RC Sensor Checking Widget
Josh L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 05:51 PM   #942
Tech Adept
 
Barillms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykemike View Post
What size screws did you use on the sway bar? Did you have to drill out the sway bar holders? Thanks in advance.
I have no idea the size. I had them laying around. The threads and the head is slightly bigger than the stock screws. They're not metric I know that. I didn't drill anything... I just threaded them in.
Barillms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 05:53 PM   #943
Tech Fanatic
 
sykemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: evans georgia
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barillms View Post
I have no idea the size. I had them laying around. The threads and the head is slightly bigger than the stock screws. They're not metric I know that. I didn't drill anything... I just threaded them in.
Thank you.
sykemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 07:05 PM   #944
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,705
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh L View Post
Yeah that is what it sounds like to me, in the mean time get one of these to add to you're collection.

CR162 - CORE RC Sensor Checking Widget
Tekin ESC's have this feature built in.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 07:45 PM   #945
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 673
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Have anyone tried putting the AE or Kyosho truck shocks in?

Fits? Any mods to make it work?
zzztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net