R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2016, 06:17 PM   #241
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

All I have left to do is build the shocks.

"- the small plastic piece on tower for front bumper is too soft. Snugging bolts crushes it like butter. 2.0 part seems stiffer."

X2
username1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 07:13 PM   #242
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,704
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you don't over tighten the upper shocks and compress the shock bushing. Also double check your arms are not bound for some reason. Arms should move up and down freely. I would believe if you screw down the set screw for the swaybars too much it could affect ride hight adjustments as well. Just a few things to check.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 04:16 PM   #243
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Can you guys help me with a build question? I'm installing the sway bars on the truck, my question is do I make the end of the sway bar flush with the ball end? Cause if I do it seems to put a bind on the linkage going down to the a arm.
BigOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 04:35 PM   #244
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mine has approx 1/8" of the sway bar sticking out of the end
username1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 04:37 PM   #245
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deton8er View Post
Anyone having issues with lack of rebound in the rear shocks? I rebuilt them twice at the track today. Ride height is set at 26mm. 35wt oil red springs.
When assembling did your rear arms bind at all?

I spent quite a bit of time reaming the rear arms out before I got the suspension to move freely..

No issues with the front at all..
username1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 05:09 PM   #246
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by username1 View Post
When assembling did your rear arms bind at all?

I spent quite a bit of time reaming the rear arms out before I got the suspension to move freely..

No issues with the front at all..
I have not tried that yet. We rebuilt the shocks twice and no one at the track can figure it out. Absolutely zero rebound in the rear. I had to put the heavy light blue springs in the front to get some rebound. The rear shocks have a slight slant inward towards the chassis, correct?
Deton8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:43 PM   #247
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes.
Try and take the shocks off and cycle the arms up and down. They should fall freely
username1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:46 PM   #248
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What are people running for battery location?
Truck is being setup for OC/RC with 17.5t setup
username1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 08:06 PM   #249
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by username1 View Post
Yes.
Try and take the shocks off and cycle the arms up and down. They should fall freely
Even with the sway bar attached?
Deton8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 08:09 PM   #250
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,704
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by username1 View Post
What are people running for battery location?
Truck is being setup for OC/RC with 17.5t setup
You don't run a 17.5 motor in an SCTE? They don't have "stock" 4wd SCT?

http://www.casper-rc.com/images/TEN_...02_reduced.pdf

Here is the latest setup.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 08:59 PM   #251
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 64
Default

The set up sheet is blank. Also, does anyone know what size the sway bars are that come with the kit?
Deton8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 09:09 PM   #252
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deton8er View Post
The set up sheet is blank. Also, does anyone know what size the sway bars are that come with the kit?
Page 49 should have the kit setup and 2.3 millimeter sway bar front and should be 2.2 millimeter sway bar in the rear hope that helps
r schowengerdt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 09:31 PM   #253
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r schowengerdt View Post
Page 49 should have the kit setup and 2.3 millimeter sway bar front and should be 2.2 millimeter sway bar in the rear hope that helps
Good call! Forgot all about that. Thanks
Deton8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 11:47 PM   #254
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mc Rae, AR
Posts: 1,328
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigOx View Post
Can you guys help me with a build question? I'm installing the sway bars on the truck, my question is do I make the end of the sway bar flush with the ball end? Cause if I do it seems to put a bind on the linkage going down to the a arm.
I noticed same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by username1 View Post
Mine has approx 1/8" of the sway bar sticking out of the end
I cut 1/8 off so they didn't hit DE Racing mud guards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by username1 View Post
When assembling did your rear arms bind at all?

I spent quite a bit of time reaming the rear arms out before I got the suspension to move freely..

No issues with the front at all..
I reamed the rear arms as well. I got the feeling the shafts were slightly bigger than normal. Even after reaming they were not free falling like I wanted. Plan to check the pin diameter while I'm waiting on parts. After building so many SCTEs I have parts new and used to compare.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deton8er View Post
I have not tried that yet. We rebuilt the shocks twice and no one at the track can figure it out. Absolutely zero rebound in the rear. I had to put the heavy light blue springs in the front to get some rebound. The rear shocks have a slight slant inward towards the chassis, correct?
I do have a feeling the shock springs are going to be too light. However, all new rigs need to be broken in some. There is a lot of drag in all the pins and even the camber rod balls fit nice and snug. That's how I like it, no slop. Run all shock pivot points slightly loose. I never tighten down the nuts on top of shocks or the screws on the bottom. Just run them down till they touch, not tight.

Going to check rear pins now.
Thunder Trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 12:39 AM   #255
Tech Addict
 
Josh L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville VA
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

All this talk about the sway bars and Ty Tessmann just released a video explaining the proper way to set them up. The only difference with the SCTE is the fact they are not adjustable via length adjustment like the ones in the video below, but by depth of the bar through the pivot clamp per side on the SCTE.
This is really handy info for such a narrowly discussed topic such as setup methods or understanding such for sway bars in general.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Josh L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:00 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net