R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 06-07-2017, 10:46 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Official Team Associated B6 & B6D thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Welcome to the B6 Wiki!

Quick links to all the sections on the first page!

Frequently asked questions - the most common questions you may have answered here!

Aftermarket Parts - parts for the B6 and B6D

Tech Tutorials- tuning guides, ball diff and shock building videos and tutorials

How to's and build-specific posts

Team Associated Laydown transmission conversion for B6D:
Laydown conversion

Instruction Manuals:

B6: B6 Manual and setup sheets

B6D: B6D Manual and setup sheets

How to Sand and Seal carbon fiber:
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber 2
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber 3
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber 4

Charts for Quick reference:

















1) put inner bearing in hub
2) slide large shim over axle all the way up to the back of the axle
3) slide axle/bone into hub carrier
4) slide small shim onto axle through hub carrier
5) push outter bearing into hub carrier

using that i'm able to put my normal male silverback gorilla wheel nut tightening job and there's no binding. in the pictures that come with the shims (the pic socket posted) it seems like they want you to slide both shims onto the axle before sliding the axle into the hub carrier and like i said, that doesn't work.



I've traditionally done the diff screw head on the left side (driver's side), but have since switched to the Right side (passenger side) regardless of transmission type (3 gear RM vs 3 gear MM and 4 gear MM).

Kdub (Kurt Wenger, former AE designer) had this to say on the matter:

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdub View Post
I think I count as an authority on the matter. I always run my diff screw on the right side (when sitting "inside" the car). I take off the tire and pull the outer hinge pin to get to the adjustment screw.

The right rear is the way the AE manuals state (or used to state). It really shouldn't matter since you go around turns both left and right.
B6D 3-gear:

Print Wikipost

Like Tree287Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2017, 07:18 AM   #5206
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

What changes can be made to get rid of an on power push
catfat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 07:19 AM   #5207
Tech Elite
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,815
Default

Just reference the post #. Many of us alter our settings so we see a lot more posts per page.
__________________
Mason McCombs
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility
Off-Road, Dirt Oval, Crawlers & Pullers
Mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 08:23 AM   #5208
Tech Master
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,536
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jabroni racing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catfat View Post
What changes can be made to get rid of an on power push
Personally for any to much or to little steering I always go with camber adjustments first, Its amazing how much input it has on steering & rear end rotation
__________________
www.facebook.com/jay3638
jabroni racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:07 AM   #5209
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AE_Stig View Post
no need
Having removed 2 gears I can now see it's not possible to use a second shaft.it would just float around hitting the bevel gear. The shafts rely on the spiders to locate them.

I've gone with 7k oil. It feels tighter than I was expecting.

Looking forward to testing it out.
2hundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:08 AM   #5210
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catfat View Post
What changes can be made to get rid of an on power push
Less front droop
2hundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:10 AM   #5211
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Default

What's the general consensus on ackerman settings for a B6 on medium grip carpet.
2hundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:19 AM   #5212
Tech Adept
 
Azzkikin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2hundy View Post
Having removed 2 gears I can now see it's not possible to use a second shaft.it would just float around hitting the bevel gear. The shafts rely on the spiders to locate them.

I've gone with 7k oil. It feels tighter than I was expecting.

Looking forward to testing it out.
The shafts are located by the slots in the gear diff and then the slots in each shaft allow them to cross each other on the same plane. But those slots on each shaft keep shafts from rotating if the bevel gears were to grab the shaft. So by removing one of the shafts, the shaft left over has the ability to rotate, and that might cause wear on the gear diff slot that locates the shafts. Now, if that wear is none existent or no one really cares about it, then you can certainly run just one shaft.

It's just a thought I can see the part wearing out.

__________________
Team Associated - Axial - Reedy - LRP - SMC - Hobbywing - JConcepts - Proline
Azzkikin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:33 AM   #5213
Tech Adept
 
Pinkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Down in a Hole
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnotRkt View Post
What an awesome idea! rx inside a servo! I'm pre-ordering one for my B6

https://www.amainhobbies.com/spektru...6240rx/p585268
shows in stock at http://www.horizonhobby.com/product/...-p-spmss6240rx

i notice it has only 2 plug in slots, throt and bind, i have no knowledge of specktrum stuff, will a transponder work if plugged in the bind slot on any of their recievers?
__________________
It rubs the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again.....Yes, it will, Precious, won't it? It will get the hose! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cyn0DVSn96I
Pinkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:36 AM   #5214
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,693
Trader Rating: 156 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkz View Post
i notice it has only 2 plug in slots, throt and bind, i have no knowledge of specktrum stuff, will a transponder work if plugged in the bind slot on any of their recievers?
Yes, you can plug in a PT to the bind slot.
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:19 PM   #5215
Tech Addict
 
SnotRkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 603
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkz View Post
shows in stock at http://www.horizonhobby.com/product/...-p-spmss6240rx

i notice it has only 2 plug in slots, throt and bind, i have no knowledge of specktrum stuff, will a transponder work if plugged in the bind slot on any of their recievers?

Thanks for the heads up. Ordered one to try out. I will report back. I plan to put my transponder in the Bind spot.
__________________
AE RC10B6, TD DEST210R
SnotRkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:46 PM   #5216
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzkikin View Post
The shafts are located by the slots in the gear diff and then the slots in each shaft allow them to cross each other on the same plane. But those slots on each shaft keep shafts from rotating if the bevel gears were to grab the shaft. So by removing one of the shafts, the shaft left over has the ability to rotate, and that might cause wear on the gear diff slot that locates the shafts. Now, if that wear is none existent or no one really cares about it, then you can certainly run just one shaft.

It's just a thought I can see the part wearing out.
I fully understand the point you're making but a shaft without gears can float up and down in the diff making contact with the out drive gears. The are no protrusions in the diff lid to hold the shafts in place.
2hundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:49 PM   #5217
Tech Master
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,536
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jabroni racing
Default

why would you have the shaft in there with no spider gears on it???? Guess im lost
__________________
www.facebook.com/jay3638
jabroni racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:51 PM   #5218
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mason View Post
Just reference the post #. Many of us alter our settings so we see a lot more posts per page.
I never knew this was even an option....awesome
tom73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:56 PM   #5219
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South dakota
Posts: 246
Default

I havent torn my diff down yet but i would think that you would be ok to put in both shafts as long as the one without gears is on the bottom. If my memory is correct on one side the notch doesnt go all the way down. If u put the one without gears in first then the one with gears on top it would hold everything together. I could be wrong though.
Sodakota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 01:04 PM   #5220
Tech Champion
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,575
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catfat View Post
What changes can be made to get rid of an on power push
Slam the brakes.
__________________
Kyle Predmore
FB AE Fanboy/Insta @ae_fanboy
Sticky Kicks RC\Prolevel RC\MIP\Schelle
Logi Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 10 (2 members and 8 guests)
mickrcarver, rubezzz
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net