Search

Buying Advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2016, 11:10 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Buying Advice

Hi guys,
I'm looking for some advice and recommendations as I'm relatively new to the RC world. I'm after a 1/8 scale vehicle for bashing. I own/have owned an MT4-G3 (w. MAX8 and 4270SL 2200kv in it) in the past as well as an HPI Bullet ST Flux.

I like the MT4-G3 but its almost too monster truck'ish for me. I'm a huge fan of the buggy style but the low ground-clearance is a concern. In terms of look i'm a fan of the HPI Vorza but again the clearance is a concern. I really don't like the typical truggy look either which makes it very difficult for me to find something.

My priorities are:
- Has to be durable and relatively easy to fix; i'm not a tool wizard
- Has to be able to run on 6S
- Has to do at least 50mph
- Must be able to perform both off-road and on-road with obvious drawbacks (i'm not expecting a master of all; probably 70% off-road, 30% on-road)
- Must have decent parts support
- Doesn't have to be RTR
- Waterproof (if RTR)
- Budget: $1000

looking forward to some suggestions!

thanks a lot!

Last edited by mlax; 01-10-2016 at 06:58 PM.
Old 01-10-2016, 02:53 PM
Tech Champion

Originally Posted by mlax
Hi guys,
I'm looking for some advice and recommendations as I'm relatively new to the RC world. I'm after a 1/8 scale vehicle for bashing. I own/have owned an MT4-G3 (w. MAX8 and 4270SL 2200kv in it) in the past as well as an HPI Bullet ST Flux.

I like the MT4-G3 but its almost too monster truck'ish for me. I'm a huge fan of the buggy style but the low ground-clearance is a concern. In terms of look i'm a fan of the HPI Vorza but again the clearance is a concern. I really don't like the typical truggy look either which makes it very difficult for me to find something.

My priorities are:
- Has to be durable and relatively easy to fix; i'm not a tool wizard
- Has to be able to run on 6S
- Has to do at least 50mph