R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2016, 01:10 PM   #196
Tech Master
 
johnnyshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,988
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Anyone else have a slight transmission binding issue in their V3? I've had the trans apart 3 times now, and everything looks fine, but it's just not "free" when assembled. The car has a bit of a whine on the track as well. Am I missing something obvious? The diff spins free, and the idler and input shaft/gear spin free, but put together, something is just a little bit off, and I can't find it for some reason. Tried running the case with the bolts loosened, no difference.

The car handles great, but this trans issue is a bit frustrating. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks!
__________________
John Schroer
Check out Shamrock R/C Raceway
Minnesota's only outdoor astroturf off-road track!
https://www.facebook.com/ShamrockRC/
johnnyshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 01:14 PM   #197
Tech Elite
 
the incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,974
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Have you inspected the outdrive bearings to ensure they sit absolutely flush as they should?

I had a similar issue with my old B4.2 and the bearings sat ever slightly too far out and it caused some binding. By the time I figured it out the bearings were toast and I had to replace them. i suggest you remove them and then look at the recesses carefully to see if you don't spot any excess flash from the molding process or any portions that are raised and take them down if you find any.
__________________
ROB RIVERA
≈ PRS1 2014 :: SP Reventon Pro 1.1 :: Team Powers Plutonium17.5 ≈
≈ DEX410 :: SP Reventon Pro 1.1 :: Reedy Sonic 6.5T ≈
WWW.TRICOUNTYHOBBIES.COM :: WWW.CRPPLUS.COM
the incubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 01:19 AM   #198
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the incubus View Post
Well what can I say? Those are the instructions from the manufacturer and both bearing ID's remain unchanged in the manual. Are the bearing sizes different on the v3?
The V3 have different offset for rear hubs and different wheelhexes than V2.
Ass B5 wheels will work on the rear but will bind on the front but the best is still PRīS own wheels.
evo6tme73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 12:27 PM   #199
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Just gotten this car.

Anyone uses the new lightweight chassis? Any difference as compared to the stock chassis?

Another thing is, where do you guys get the titanium turnbuckle from?
mezan91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 12:57 PM   #200
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 212
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezan91 View Post
Another thing is, where do you guys get the titanium turnbuckle from?
What country do you live in?
__________________
Rich O'Hara
Bellgate Distributors, LLC
Absima | Triton RC | MIP | Maclan Racing | PR Racing | Highest RC | JQRacing | Modelix Racing | Prospeed
Bellgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 11:57 AM   #201
Tech Elite
 
bring it on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,871
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezan91 View Post
Just gotten this car.

Anyone uses the new lightweight chassis? Any difference as compared to the stock chassis?

Another thing is, where do you guys get the titanium turnbuckle from?
I think most are running AE titanium turnbuckles
__________________
Toro ESC - SkyRc - Caster Racing USA - Pr Racing USA - Gens Ace - Ares Motors - Highest Servos - Radiopost
Thanks to my sponsor at crpplus.com
bring it on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 10:58 PM   #202
Tech Fanatic
 
IntegraMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hamilton, ON, Canada
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezan91 View Post
Just gotten this car.

Anyone uses the new lightweight chassis? Any difference as compared to the stock chassis?

Another thing is, where do you guys get the titanium turnbuckle from?
Are you looking to use the car for stock racing?

Lunsford makes a set of turnbuckles but I believe PR makes them as well. I know they have a set for the 4wd buggy Im not certain for the 2wd.
__________________
Bellgate Distributors
Hotrod Hobbies
Instagram: IntegraMark
IntegraMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 08:27 AM   #203
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bellgate View Post
What country do you live in?
Singapore

Quote:
Originally Posted by bring it on View Post
I think most are running AE titanium turnbuckles
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntegraMark View Post
Are you looking to use the car for stock racing?

Lunsford makes a set of turnbuckles but I believe PR makes them as well. I know they have a set for the 4wd buggy Im not certain for the 2wd.
Thanks @bring it on. Will definitely have a look at it.

@IntegraMark, no idea on that yet. Just starting out and still learning. Thanks for the help, I will check with local distributor here on the parts.

Thanks for the help.
mezan91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 08:11 PM   #204
Tech Fanatic
 
IntegraMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hamilton, ON, Canada
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

don't order the chassis unless you need it.
__________________
Bellgate Distributors
Hotrod Hobbies
Instagram: IntegraMark
IntegraMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 06:16 AM   #205
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Will V3 tranny mount into v2

Hello has anyone tried putting a v3 tranny in a v2? I've already modded the dirt guards so I can run my battery horizontal. Will the v3 mounting holes on the tranny case line up to the v2 existing mounting holes? This would be a fun modification if it would work with moderate modification. I love the v2, always gets a lot of looks but would like to be able to build a hybrid, just something different.
57ratrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 02:27 PM   #206
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I think it would work. I know of a guy that put a v2 trans in his v3 fm (before the new MM car came out). So I have to assume it wouldn't be to hard to do it the other way. You would have to drill holes in the chassis for the waterfall though.
rcgerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 09:18 PM   #207
Tech Master
 
markt311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville Tennessee
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 57ratrod View Post
Hello has anyone tried putting a v3 tranny in a v2? I've already modded the dirt guards so I can run my battery horizontal. Will the v3 mounting holes on the tranny case line up to the v2 existing mounting holes? This would be a fun modification if it would work with moderate modification. I love the v2, always gets a lot of looks but would like to be able to build a hybrid, just something different.
It can be done. The rear holes on the v3 transmission will line up. Just drill 2 more holes to mount the transmission and 2 holes for the waterfall.
__________________
PR Racing Bellgate Distributors
Caster Racing Parts
311 RC Graphics
markt311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 05:20 PM   #208
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Any pics of the mod? I'm going to order the parts and try it
57ratrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 05:29 PM   #209
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

One other ?, will my gear diff in my v2 work in the v3 case? Any other gears in v2 work? What other gears would I need to order for complete tranny? Thanks
57ratrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 01:51 PM   #210
Tech Master
 
markt311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville Tennessee
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 57ratrod View Post
One other ?, will my gear diff in my v2 work in the v3 case? Any other gears in v2 work? What other gears would I need to order for complete tranny? Thanks
Gear diff will drop in. V2 gear set includes v2 and v3 style idler gears, v2 top shaft is the same as v3 also.
__________________
PR Racing Bellgate Distributors
Caster Racing Parts
311 RC Graphics
markt311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net