1:8 or 1:10 buggy? Stuck in decision making

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

1:8 or 1:10 buggy? Stuck in decision making

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2015, 12:19 AM
Tech Addict

Default 1:8 or 1:10 buggy? Stuck in decision making --> Decision Made: Asso B4.2RS

Hey guys, (Hopefully the right forum here, otherwise: Sorry, please move)

I am kind of new to the rc car hobby (I am more the rc glider kind of guy (15years experience). I bought the WLtoys A979 just for fun and thought: Damn, these cars make fun – NEED One!

So I started to look for some kind of beginner car. But that decision keeps me crazy for almost 2 weeks now, I am starting to dream about this stuff.

Maybe you can give me some help on what decision is best for me.

I think you need my driving conditions, budget and idea on what I want to with the new started hobby:

Since I am beginner I’d like to “throw the car out there” and have 2 batteries of fun. This could mean an empty parking deck, or in my small garden (I think my girlfriend would strongly disagree ), or near some gravel plants or anything that’s just there. I know that’s kind of “everywhere” but I don’t want to drive miles and miles around to find the perfect spot.

I have a rc outdoor track just 2 miles from my work, so I could perfectly drive there after work and do the above. Problem: Maximum Car size is 1:10 (but I am definitely not the competitive race driver, so the track purpose isn’t my priority)

I am in some budget limits, and hopefully I can get something durable, and solid for at max 400€ (including 1 LiPo) (~450$) If I don’t have to spend that much, perfect

With this terms I asked a few local dealers and they recommended a 1:8 buggy --> it’s size and chassis clearance should make it more an allround vehicle. So I bought a Thundertiger EB-4 G3 which I inspected all weekend (not driven! so I could return it eventually). I spent a little more than 400$ including a 4S5200 LiPo.

So far so good