R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 04-02-2017, 11:22 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Team Associated SC5M Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Wildcat1971
Team Associated SC5M Wiki Content.

Print Wikipost

Like Tree35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2017, 09:54 PM   #2191
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Milton, FL
Posts: 185
Default

Picked up a sc5m roller a while back. I am getting ready to put the aluminum c & d braces/blocks in. It currently has the plastic ones installed. How do I know what pill configuration to use to get the same setup I have now?
freezeframe007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:09 AM   #2192
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thinking of getting back into the mix. My son has an SC10 RTR and I have a SC10.2. I'm thinking of retiring the RTR and building up the SC5M for the boy. It seems like the 3-gear is definitely the way to go. Can anyone sum up what's necessary for the 3-gear tranny? Do I just need the motor plate and tranny case?

Also can't believe there's still not a FT version of this with the 3-gear, aluminum hexes, etc. SMH
__________________
Excellent Lipo Guide: https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/
Jason B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:20 AM   #2193
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason B View Post
Thinking of getting back into the mix. My son has an SC10 RTR and I have a SC10.2. I'm thinking of retiring the RTR and building up the SC5M for the boy. It seems like the 3-gear is definitely the way to go. Can anyone sum up what's necessary for the 3-gear tranny? Do I just need the motor plate and tranny case?

Also can't believe there's still not a FT version of this with the 3-gear, aluminum hexes, etc. SMH
This is what I did when I bough the kit. You just forgot the gear cover. The kit comes with all of the internals but you wont use one of the idler gears.
asr524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:51 AM   #2194
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by asr524 View Post
This is what I did when I bough the kit. You just forgot the gear cover. The kit comes with all of the internals but you wont use one of the idler gears.
Excellent - thanks!
__________________
Excellent Lipo Guide: https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/
Jason B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:51 PM   #2195
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just picked one of these up... what do I need to use the FT hexes on the front and rear? I'm also picking up the parts for the 3-gear tranny... any other must-haves? Are squares or shorties better suited?
__________________
Excellent Lipo Guide: https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/
Jason B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 08:45 AM   #2196
Tech Master
 
mxnickj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lewisburg PA
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason B View Post
Thinking of getting back into the mix. My son has an SC10 RTR and I have a SC10.2. I'm thinking of retiring the RTR and building up the SC5M for the boy. It seems like the 3-gear is definitely the way to go. Can anyone sum up what's necessary for the 3-gear tranny? Do I just need the motor plate and tranny case?

Also can't believe there's still not a FT version of this with the 3-gear, aluminum hexes, etc. SMH
Its been a few years since AE did any "factory team" cars. For the most part their cars have been pretty awesome right out of the box and the other stuff has just kind of been upgrades down the road and tuning options. Not all tracks and drivers really benefit from the 3-gear setup and things like the brass c-block and stuff like that, just gives you more options instead of releasing an entire new car with those things that might not benefit in EVERY situation. I do agree with the hexes though, they should just do away with the plastic ones all together.
__________________
Nick Johnson
AE SC5M - AE B6D
Bumps & Jumps RC - LCRC
mxnickj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 09:40 AM   #2197
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason B View Post
Just picked one of these up... what do I need to use the FT hexes on the front and rear?
The front axle has an integrated hex so you would only need the rear set.
asr524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 10:07 AM   #2198
Tech Master
 
cameronspruill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wichita,Ks
Posts: 1,346
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I put a laydown transmission in this truck and boy did it make a difference. AE really needs to think about rereleasing it with the b6 laydown tranny in it I bet it would sell really well.
cameronspruill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 12:45 PM   #2199
Tech Regular
 
Braxamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

picked one up last week, went thru it and fixed a few problems I found and some stuff I didn't like. Rebuilt the shocks, put it back to the manual setup, going to be running mod on an indoor med to high bite track, with a 8.5 motor, any suggestions as to battery placement (shorty) will only have the springs that came on it to stat with white/white and the recommended 32.5 oil in shocks. or other adjustments I should do to start with.
__________________
Team Raw Speed
Associated SC5M / B6 Club Racer
Hobbywing 120A ESC / 8.5T Motor / SMC 4400 shorty Batteries
Braxamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 01:00 PM   #2200
Tech Elite
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,218
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Braxamus;14824344]picked one up last week, went thru it and fixed a few problems I found and some stuff I didn't like. Rebuilt the shocks, put it back to the manual setup, going to be running mod on an indoor med to high bite track, with a 8.5 motor, any suggestions as to battery placement (shorty) will only have the springs that came on it to stat with white/white and the recommended 32.5 oil in shocks. or other adjustments I should do to start with

If you don't have the gray front springs or a front sway bar or drilled 3rd hole in the front arm... I would recommend using 35-37.5 oil in the front.
aeRayls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 01:34 PM   #2201
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Default It's an option...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cameronspruill View Post
I put a laydown transmission in this truck and boy did it make a difference. AE really needs to think about rereleasing it with the b6 laydown tranny in it I bet it would sell really well.
I have 2 sc5m. One with 3 gear standup, and one with 3 gear laydown from Shapeways. I really can't tell much difference. About all you really get is more front weight bias, and that can be achieved with a lipo weight. It's an option, but not the holy grail.
rlm996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 01:36 PM   #2202
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Default

AeRayls

Do you know anyone running the 3rd hole in the front arms? I'm interested in this....
rlm996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 06:59 PM   #2203
Tech Elite
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,218
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlm996 View Post
AeRayls

Do you know anyone running the 3rd hole in the front arms? I'm interested in this....
I ran the 3rd hole forever until, front sway bars came about. I still always run the 3rd hole on the T5 and so just add 1-1-5mm more droop
aeRayls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 09:12 PM   #2204
Tech Addict
 
czrlaker's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlm996 View Post
I have 2 sc5m. One with 3 gear standup, and one with 3 gear laydown from Shapeways. I really can't tell much difference. About all you really get is more front weight bias, and that can be achieved with a lipo weight. It's an option, but not the holy grail.
I installed the shapeways laydown tranny in it expecting less roll (carpet racing) can't tell the difference. Still rolls @ same spots/speeds I lowered it a bit more and thats what makes the biggest difference.
czrlaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 12:56 AM   #2205
Tech Apprentice
 
Hasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North-Rhine Westfalia, Germany
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asr524 View Post
The front axle has an integrated hex so you would only need the rear set.
Which ones of the clamping ones do I need for a direct change with the stock plastic ones without changing the offset?

#71014 (8.5mm)
#71034 (6.0mm)
#91609 (5.0mm)
#91610 (7.0mm)

I'm a bit confused...
__________________
Onroad: Tamiya TT-02, Tamiya TA-02SW, Xray T2'008
Offroad: Asso B5, Asso SC5M, Asso B64D, Tamiya Avante 2011 Re-Release
Trucks: Tamiya Mercedes SK 2638 6x6, Tamiya Mercedes 3553 8x4 heavy haulage
Hasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net