R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 04-02-2017, 11:22 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Offical Team Associated SC5M Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Wildcat1971
Team Associated SC5M Wiki Content.

Print Wikipost

Like Tree18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2015, 03:29 PM   #766
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddysdaddy View Post
word of warning--
6mm hexes plus 71013 doesn't work with all wheels. Wheel nut hits shoulder of axle and stops before it's snug against the wheel. 7mm hex (watch with +3 wheels ) or a spacer/shim between the wheel/nut, or open up the back of your front nuts to fit over the shoulder if you keep the 6mm hex.
AE wheel is the biggest gap:

washer between nut and wheel:
Can you put a washer on the inside of the stud,before you put it through the hub?
mxturd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 04:42 PM   #767
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxturd View Post
Can you put a washer on the inside of the stud,before you put it through the hub?
Didn't try, but I kinda doubt it. The hole in the axle might be slightly inside the bearing that way.
AE is already aware of this--they're working on it. New axles for SC being drawn up...
__________________
AE!
maddysdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 06:33 PM   #768
Tech Regular
 
weyant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somerset
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Got to finally check the new sc5m out this weekend at our local track. It seemed very smooth to jump and turned well. The guy that had it always fast at our track, him and I trade paint a lot for the wins. I ran my normal setup on my sc10.2. Lap time for him seemed very similar to his normal and the fast lap was mine for that day. He took tq by a small margin over me and we battled back and forth for half the race. I was about a turn ahead of him when his truck broke. So I did take the win. To me the truck is very nice on the track but if your like me and can't get the new truck right away don't get to crazy....my sc10.2 held up to the sc5m just fine. That being said I will be getting one at some point.
weyant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 06:39 PM   #769
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

weyant, I would agree. On low to medium to medium/high I think we can get the 5M to run as fast as the 10.2. I fully anticipate that once I get inside on a prepped high bite track I believe that my lap times will be faster with the 5M. To me it is also more fun to drive. I don't like the feel of the pendulum affect of the rear motor and I enjoy smoothing into the throttle and carrying corner speed as much as possible.
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 06:43 PM   #770
Tech Regular
 
weyant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somerset
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I agree indoor that truck may be a bit of a handful to keep up with lol. As for my sc10.2 it handles like its on rails....I've been running it for a long time and got it dialed......5m could be good to have indoor. I'll wait to see before I buy it lol
weyant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 05:36 AM   #771
Tech Elite
 
ray_munday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Had the chance to run my SC5M on an outdoor track here recently and it was very impressive. Surprisingly, the f/r weight bias using brass C block and battery rear was exactly the same as my SC10.2! It was definitely easier to drive fast than the SC10.2 but did nose down very quickly if you touched the brakes.

I found moving the battery forward on a medium grip surface helped a lot with the jumping and the truck still had plenty of forward grip, as well as being easier to drive with even better corner speed.

I went 5wt up in front oil from the kit setup, and I also experimented by adapting a JC front swaybar and using a B5M rear swaybar which helped in the high speed sweepers. I think the kit front spring is a bit soft for faster tracks, so Id like to install the new Grey front when its available.

Ray
Attached Thumbnails
Offical Team Associated SC5M Thread-sc5m.jpg  
__________________
Team Associated Factory Driver: B6/B6D, B64D, SC5M
JConcepts Factory Driver: Tyres, Rims, Wings, Bodies & Accessories
Reedy Factory Driver: Blackbox 510R ESC, Sonic 3 BL motors, Lipo
KO Propo EX-1 KIY_____www.keilorrc.com.au
Check out my help thread: http://www.rctech.net/forum/10587838-post1.html
ray_munday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 07:01 AM   #772
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have trouble with the jconcepts +3 wheels going on in the front. I have to jam mine on the stock hex.
atvracer9m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 10:08 AM   #773
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 121
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

My were also tight.
Scottysspeedsho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 10:35 AM   #774
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atvracer9m View Post
Anyone have trouble with the jconcepts +3 wheels going on in the front. I have to jam mine on the stock hex.
use a body reamer and try to open the hole a little. I have to do that with some wheels.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:58 PM   #775
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys vent your tires indoors? I always have, but I thought I just saw something on another post saying it is not needed
mxturd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 01:14 PM   #776
Tech Champion
 
Jmuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 5,003
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxturd View Post
Do you guys vent your tires indoors? I always have, but I thought I just saw something on another post saying it is not needed
I always vent when using closed cell foams, in or out.
__________________
B6D | B64D

Schelle Racing Concepts - www.schelleracing.com
Amain Hobbies - www.amain.com
Jmuck69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 01:15 PM   #777
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

I vent in the wheels. We sauce, so I dont vent the rubber.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 03:18 PM   #778
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I always vent the tire, even when I sauce. I don't always sauce. But when I do, I don't apply enough to weep into the vent holes. In fact, I have taken to saucing just the tops of the treads and keeping the sauce away from the carcass. Then again, I may be crazy....
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 04:04 PM   #779
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Granger, IN
Posts: 6
Default

New springs should be available now. My new gray springs for the front and maybe the rear came in today.
Ringer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 04:27 PM   #780
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I'm running the old orange springs in the front with the 12mm spring cups. Work great.
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net