R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 04-02-2017, 11:22 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Offical Team Associated SC5M Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Wildcat1971
Team Associated SC5M Wiki Content.

Print Wikipost

Like Tree18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2015, 03:32 AM   #721
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

The kit come with 1.5, 1.6, and 1.7 pistons doesnt it?

Last edited by mxturd; 08-28-2015 at 04:32 AM.
mxturd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 06:23 AM   #722
Tech Elite
 
celt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,337
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxturd View Post
The kit come with 1.5, 1.6, and 1.7 pistons doesnt it?
Indeed it does...please read my original post.

"I'm seeing reference to 2x1.5 Flat V2 pistons in some SC5m setups. Not finding them from AE anywhere. Are they just not out yet?"

Flat V2 being the key...the newer screw mounted assembly.

Thanks for commenting, but I don't require any further information. I have access to many sponsored drivers, however my local track is a pinch more than an hour away, and I thought someone might have more up to date product information than myself. At no time did I consider, or want to consider, drilling my own pistons or fabricating parts. Thanks for everyone's responses, but we can move on.
__________________
"Soon they will get everything they deserve. This isn't about trite elitism, but the otherwise intellectual and educated classes refusing to think for themselves. I call it situational ignorance, and painfully intolerable."

Stan Garvin
celt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 02:24 PM   #723
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Screw mounted 1.5 on Amain and tower,,,no sponsored people needed,,Come to an average joe site and get average joe answers. I love when people ask for information and get pissy with what they get

Hmm, yup no 1.5, I see 1.4 and others

Last edited by mxturd; 08-28-2015 at 02:48 PM. Reason: Change
mxturd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 02:30 PM   #724
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,693
Trader Rating: 156 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by celt View Post
At no time did I consider, or want to consider, drilling my own pistons or fabricating parts. Thanks for everyone's responses, but we can move on.
To my knowledge (and AE's site) they do not offer a V2 piston in the 1.5 size.

http://www.teamassociated.com/news/l..._Kashima_Coat/

http://www.teamassociated.com/parts/...rch_type=parts
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain

Last edited by Matt Trimmings; 08-28-2015 at 02:47 PM.
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 02:40 PM   #725
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 14,701
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

It's Friday, let's all get along and be happy. There's no need for name calling.

And FYI, yes pistons can be drilled with a fair amount of accuracy given the right tools.

I'm being nice but I don't want to have to come back in here.
__________________
Stand for the flag, kneel for the fallen.

Thank you to all of our service men and women!

racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 02:52 PM   #726
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 14,701
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxturd View Post
Screw mounted 1.5 on Amain and tower,,,no sponsored people needed,,Come to an average joe site and get average joe answers. I love when people ask for information and get pissy with what they get

Hmm, yup no 1.5, I see 1.4 and others
Instead of editing your post maybe you should man up and openly admit you were wrong! Especially after you had the gall to call the guy a douche. Don't worry, the egg on your face will wash off.

I'm done in here.
__________________
Stand for the flag, kneel for the fallen.

Thank you to all of our service men and women!

racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 06:41 PM   #727
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Yeah it was pretty childish, that's why I did edit it, I'm sure his sponsored guys will get him squared away,,,looked to me like everyone was trying to help and he sure told us what mere peons we are. I do apologize for saying he looked like a douche,,,on to good sc5m info
mxturd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 05:58 AM   #728
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparta MI
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxturd View Post
Just got to test them back to back last weekend. I hVe a 22 sct 2.0, that I have been racing for almost a year, and I just got my son the sc5m, he has been driving a tekno for about the last year and no 2wd. The sc5m is an outstanding truck. Within 1 pack I was as fast as my losi and my son who hasn't driven 2wd in a year beat me,,actually I got 3rd. 1st and 2nd were sc5m
So what is main difference you noticed? Is it just easier to driver hard or does it handle the track better? I have been contemplating switching to SC5M from SCT2.0 (My buggy and ST are Associated - like them both)

Just trying to determine if it a large step up in performance...
__________________
Kyosho: 2x-RB6.6, ZX6.6, RT6, SC6
HW XR-StockSpec x4
Sanwa MT4S
wrutherf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 06:07 AM   #729
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I just switched from a 22 SCT in mm config. Its a pretty substantial improvement. I was able to achieve the same feel in rear traction with 2 less rear toe and it feels like the roll centers are better balanced from front to rear. Its definitely easier to work on too.
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 06:23 AM   #730
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparta MI
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
I just switched from a 22 SCT in mm config. Its a pretty substantial improvement. I was able to achieve the same feel in rear traction with 2 less rear toe and it feels like the roll centers are better balanced from front to rear. Its definitely easier to work on too.
Thanks for the quick reply -

Just another quick question - were you running the +3mm offset on the SC5M? Just unfortunate that all the 0 offset will need to be re-purchased, but I guess that is way it needs to be.

Has anyone left 0 offset front and just used T5M axles with 8.5mm hex - only 2.5 vs the 3mm per side. Anyone modified anything for the rear to use 0 offset rims yet get max width of truck?
__________________
Kyosho: 2x-RB6.6, ZX6.6, RT6, SC6
HW XR-StockSpec x4
Sanwa MT4S
wrutherf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 09:02 AM   #731
Tech Elite
 
celt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,337
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default wheel offset

It's helped me to visualize offset dimensions in determining how I might run other wheels and maintain similar track width.

For example positive offset results in a narrower track with negative offset the opposite. Simple image to illustrate that concept.
Attached Thumbnails
Offical Team Associated SC5M Thread-wheels-offset_chart.jpg  
__________________
"Soon they will get everything they deserve. This isn't about trite elitism, but the otherwise intellectual and educated classes refusing to think for themselves. I call it situational ignorance, and painfully intolerable."

Stan Garvin
celt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 09:33 AM   #732
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I switched to the +3 offset when I moved to the SC5M
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 09:37 AM   #733
Tech Elite
 
celt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,337
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
I switched to the +3 offset when I moved to the SC5M
I certainly do that with all new purchases, but man I've a ton of SCTE/Tekno wheelsets I'd like a chance to burn through if I can get the track width similar. At least for practice...
__________________
"Soon they will get everything they deserve. This isn't about trite elitism, but the otherwise intellectual and educated classes refusing to think for themselves. I call it situational ignorance, and painfully intolerable."

Stan Garvin
celt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 10:04 AM   #734
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparta MI
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
I switched to the +3 offset when I moved to the SC5M
Thanks for the information.
__________________
Kyosho: 2x-RB6.6, ZX6.6, RT6, SC6
HW XR-StockSpec x4
Sanwa MT4S
wrutherf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 10:41 AM   #735
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I hear you guys. Anyone want to buy any tires mounted on zero offset rims, mwahahaha. I did keep some of my +3 tires from when I ran my SC10.2 back in the day. That helped me a bit at least.
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net