Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Are all electric motors created equally. >

Are all electric motors created equally.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Are all electric motors created equally.

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2015, 02:17 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default Are all electric motors created equally.

Hi all, I'm relatively new to electric and would like to no how can you tell if your electric 1/10 buggy motors really has the specs the manufacture claims, for example i have had people say to me is that a real 6.5t motor or is it soft, i thought if a motor say's 6.5 then its a real 6.5, but supposedly some 6.5 are the equivalent to a 7.5t motor which really doesn't make sense, also how real are the KV numbers supplied by the manufacturer, the reason i ask is i had ready sonic mach 2 6.5t motor which claims to have 5531kv and it was super quick, then in exactly the same car with the exact same speedy gearing and lipo i fitted a tekin redline gen 2 6.5t motor which claims to have 6750kv, To my understanding the higher the kv the more powerful the motor but in this situation the tekin was a great deal slower in the exact same car as the reedy and according to the kv rating the tekin should have been a great deal quicker as it has the kv rating of most 5.5t motors, is my understanding of all this wrong, I'm really confused and would appreciate some information about how this all works with electric motors.
Old 03-28-2015, 06:01 AM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

When it comes to mod motors it really doesn't matter. If a 6.5 of whatever brand isn't enough, go to their 5.5. As for the kV thing, it is rpm per volt, but motor timing also has an effect on the kV of a motor, so that could skew the numbers some.

Really the only thing you can be sure of is a 5.5 will be faster than a 6.5 if the motors are from the same manufacture, and both are in the same condition.