17.5 CW Rotation Timing Adjustment >

17.5 CW Rotation Timing Adjustment

17.5 CW Rotation Timing Adjustment

Old 12-17-2014, 12:40 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default 17.5 CW Rotation Timing Adjustment

Hey Guys,
I am running a mid motor conversion that is requiring me to run my motor cw. My esc is capable of doing so but I am wondering how this affects timing. I tried it with no timing change and it seems doggy from a dead stop then comes in like a power band. I also tried turning the timing to the same negative value as I was running positive. My timing ring does not have negative marks but I just made some marks to adjust accordingly. The results of this change made the motor initially spin in reverse but then changed direction to forward as it sped up. Obviously this wasn't correct so now I am hoping one of you can teach me a thing or 2. Thank you. I am somewhat new to the sport and really appreciate the advice.

I am running a HW SCT PRO and a Fantom Apex V2 HT 17.5.
Old 12-17-2014, 01:06 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

My general experience is that motors can "act funny" if you reverse the motor direction in the ESC and then mess around with mechanical timing on the end of the can. Try 0 mechanical timing and then add timing via the ESC.
Old 12-17-2014, 01:11 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Grasscat31
Hey Guys,