R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2015, 11:32 AM   #541
Tech Adept
 
kempower2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 123
Default

My bet is that your drivetrain is not (yet) free. Therefore as soon as you let off the throttle it dives. If running the stock 8mm belt it maybe takes 10-15 lipo's until the drivetrain loosen's up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveG28 View Post
Hi all,

Put mine through its paces and have a couple of queries:

1. It's terrible on jumps - noses down all the time, and requires full throttle in the air to even keep it able to land... Is anyone else finding this? I have tried moving weight as far back as possible!?

2. Struggling for rear traction... Though more toe has improved this along with weight!

3. I see there is a LOT of play in the front arm inner mounts as the inserts move in the Ali mount... Anyone finding this a problem? I added 1.5mm spacer in front before the brace but now everything has slop! I see the team guys at the Worlds had a different front brace that clamped around the chassis.

Thanks,

Dave
kempower2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 12:54 PM   #542
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kempower2000 View Post
My bet is that your drivetrain is not (yet) free. Therefore as soon as you let off the throttle it dives. If running the stock 8mm belt it maybe takes 10-15 lipo's until the drivetrain loosen's up?
Even when the drive train loosens, and like Kempower says, it will, you may have too much drag brake. The car slows naturally quicker than a geared drivetrain would as the revolving mass is less therefore there is less inertia. Try also reducing drag brake as the natural breaking effect could also have a effect much like you describe.
Piles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 01:47 PM   #543
Tech Regular
 
trf415msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piles View Post
Even when the drive train loosens, and like Kempower says, it will, you may have too much drag brake. The car slows naturally quicker than a geared drivetrain would as the revolving mass is less therefore there is less inertia. Try also reducing drag brake as the natural breaking effect could also have a effect much like you describe.
My dose nose down too even though I put all my speedo and receiver in the back with batteries and take out 2 of the belt tensioner out no drag brake still doing that ...maybe have to break in the belt loose like KEmpower said
trf415msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 02:42 PM   #544
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,135
Default

Sounds like wrong shock setup.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 02:50 PM   #545
Tech Regular
 
trf415msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
Sounds like wrong shock setup.
What is your shock setup my shock setup same as the manual
trf415msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 03:10 PM   #546
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,489
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

This is really silly but I just installed the narrow belt rear setup...Anyone know where I can get a thin washer to replace the blue one on the center pulley? Black would be ideal. OCD won't let me let this go.

The blue inside the front and rear hubs is bugging me enough and those aren't even seen! Yes, it's an illness.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 03:28 PM   #547
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_hfuhuhurr View Post
This is really silly but I just installed the narrow belt rear setup...Anyone know where I can get a thin washer to replace the blue one on the center pulley? Black would be ideal. OCD won't let me let this go.

The blue inside the front and rear hubs is bugging me enough and those aren't even seen! Yes, it's an illness.
WOW! Your worse than me. I know exactly what you mean about the centre pulley though.
Piles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 04:02 PM   #548
Tech Addict
 
HSV427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Is any one running an aluminum idler gear i stripped the plastic one and was thinking of replacing it with the aluminum one but i am worried the aluminum may be to strong for the plastic diff gear.
__________________
XRAY XB4 15, XRAY XB4 16, XRAY XB2, YOKOMO B-MAX4 III FACTORY KIT, YOKOMO YZ4, YOKOMO YZ2,KYOSHO RB6, TAMIYA TRF503, TAMIYA TRF201XMW, TAMIYA TRF 211XM
HSV427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 04:28 PM   #549
Tech Apprentice
 
ReneT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HSV427 View Post
Is any one running an aluminum idler gear i stripped the plastic one and was thinking of replacing it with the aluminum one but i am worried the aluminum may be to strong for the plastic diff gear.
Ran aluminium ones in my bmax2 and yz-2, because I stripped a plastic one or two. I never had the diff gear wear out. Not even a bit.

With the aluminium idler connecting to to the metal top shaft it will make the idler wear over time and it may become a bit noisy with wear, but it won't strip and won't damage your diff gear.
__________________
Yokomo B-Max 2 MR, YZ-2, B-Max 4 III, YZ-4, BD-7 2014 Black
ReneT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 04:39 PM   #550
Tech Apprentice
 
ReneT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_hfuhuhurr View Post
This is really silly but I just installed the narrow belt rear setup...Anyone know where I can get a thin washer to replace the blue one on the center pulley? Black would be ideal. OCD won't let me let this go.

The blue inside the front and rear hubs is bugging me enough and those aren't even seen! Yes, it's an illness.
Yeah, what were they thinking!
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo YZ-4-wp_20151215_002.jpg  
__________________
Yokomo B-Max 2 MR, YZ-2, B-Max 4 III, YZ-4, BD-7 2014 Black
ReneT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 04:52 PM   #551
Tech Regular
 
trf415msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Anyone want to share electronic layout
trf415msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 05:04 PM   #552
Tech Apprentice
 
ReneT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf415msx View Post
Anyone want to share electronic layout
Here are a few: http://site.petitrc.com/setup/yokomo...ctronicsSetup/

this mine:
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo YZ-4-wp_20151215_003.jpg  
__________________
Yokomo B-Max 2 MR, YZ-2, B-Max 4 III, YZ-4, BD-7 2014 Black
ReneT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 06:02 PM   #553
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: WI
Posts: 1,386
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HSV427 View Post
Is any one running an aluminum idler gear i stripped the plastic one and was thinking of replacing it with the aluminum one but i am worried the aluminum may be to strong for the plastic diff gear.
HSV

Buy Eureka pro lube and lightly coat your top shaft gear, idler and diff. Really helps reduce friction within the gears. Great product! I believe made in Australia. This stuff quiets your inner tranny big time. I was having issues with my Kyosho SC6 stripping idler gears in MMotor config, thus once I started using Eureka I have had no issues.


On another note running saddles side by side vertically works well. Yes it's a little extra weight but it sets the back end down.
Norse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 04:56 AM   #554
Tech Adept
 
cracky1970's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 170
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Here's my layout. Went with 13 gauge wire.

Last edited by cracky1970; 12-15-2015 at 04:58 AM. Reason: edit
cracky1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 06:23 AM   #555
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,489
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Glad I'm not the only one that thinks it's an eyesore. I'll post my electronics layout tonight.

If I get my bodies back from Darkside, Sunday will be my first race day on the car (RC Madness in CT).
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net