R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 08-10-2017, 01:11 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Yokomo YZ-2
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Bob Barry
Welcome to the YZ2 Wiki!

If you edit the page, please add your name and date prior to your addition. While an admin can view the history, this makes it easier for everyone to just check updates. We'll put the newest additions at the top

Setup Sheets can be found here

Print Wikipost

Like Tree42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2016, 07:59 AM   #2011
Tech Elite
 
the incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,971
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If that's the case ALL the top RC News sites are misinformed and need to retract their articles all reiterating the same information and Yokomo vendors as well.

http://www.neobuggy.net/2016/02/01/y...-dirt-edition/

https://www.teamyokomo.eu/yokomo-yz-...roturf-edition

It seems A-main has corrected it on their end.
__________________
ROB RIVERA
≈ PRS1 2014 :: SP Reventon Pro 1.1 :: Team Powers Plutonium17.5 ≈
≈ DEX410 :: SP Reventon Pro 1.1 :: Reedy Sonic 6.5T ≈
WWW.TRICOUNTYHOBBIES.COM :: WWW.CRPPLUS.COM
the incubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 11:19 AM   #2012
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

Can't read then? "Those new parts are no possible to mount on the main chassis of conventional YZ-2. The new main chassis and side plate will be essential."

And the link you send from Yokomo Europe is the Carpet edition, not the Dirt edition. The dirt edition NEEDS the new chassis, see my previous post for part numbers.
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 11:50 AM   #2013
Tech Elite
 
the incubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,971
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

It's apparent I'm not the one who can't read.

Having said that, correct... It is the carpet edition listed on the European site that says the cassis is compatible but you say is different. If you don't see the conflict, read again. According to you the parts are different but reliable RC News outlets and Yokomo's own vendors and/or region specific subsidiaries state otherwise. You may well be right but the fact is the information is inconsistent.

Now, if you go back and read the last sentence in my previous post you might notice I said A-main has changed the info on their site deeming your little attempt at an insult unwarranted.

If Yokomo got their act together and got around to actually posting the complete info on their own site this would be so much easier to understand for all interested parties.
__________________
ROB RIVERA
≈ PRS1 2014 :: SP Reventon Pro 1.1 :: Team Powers Plutonium17.5 ≈
≈ DEX410 :: SP Reventon Pro 1.1 :: Reedy Sonic 6.5T ≈
WWW.TRICOUNTYHOBBIES.COM :: WWW.CRPPLUS.COM
the incubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 09:51 PM   #2014
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 592
Default

Rob - I'm not sure what's so hard to understand on the Yokomo EU website

YZ-2 Carpet/Astro Edition new parts:
3 Gear box for CA
New Motor plate for CA
New idler gear for CA
New Main Chassis CA/DT
Those 3 parts are possible to mount on the conventional YZ-2 without any manual modification on main chassis. The dimension of new chassis are the same with the current one.

There is a new main chassis for the new CA/DT editions that I would imagine contain the holes for the waterfall for the CA and DT editions. Given the CA edition is laydown also, you can mount the new 3 gear transmission, motor plate and use the new idler on the conventional YZ-2.
But you cannot mount the DT gearbox unless you were going to modify your main chassis to accomodate for the different position of the waterfall as you would do for a Y-Max conversion.
__________________
On-Road - Xray T4'17 / Serpent 4-X / Tamiya Exo6 / Roche P10 & P12 & F1
4WD - Kyosho ZX6 / Yokomo YZ4 *** eBuggy - Tekno EB48SL
2WD - AE B5M (XFactory Chassis) / Kyosho RB6 / TLR 22 2.0 / Yokomo YZ2
SCT - Tekno SCT410 / Losi 22SCT 2.0
ST - Losi 22T 2.0
WagwanBumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 01:17 AM   #2015
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the incubus View Post
It's apparent I'm not the one who can't read.

Having said that, correct... It is the carpet edition listed on the European site that says the cassis is compatible but you say is different. If you don't see the conflict, read again. According to you the parts are different but reliable RC News outlets and Yokomo's own vendors and/or region specific subsidiaries state otherwise. You may well be right but the fact is the information is inconsistent.

Now, if you go back and read the last sentence in my previous post you might notice I said A-main has changed the info on their site deeming your little attempt at an insult unwarranted.

If Yokomo got their act together and got around to actually posting the complete info on their own site this would be so much easier to understand for all interested parties.
I didn't insult you at all - or I didn't meant to . I just have the right information and tell it here.

Just read the post by WagwanBumba:
The DT edition needs a new chassis (of course, you can modify the old chassis probably ), the CA can be mounted (without mods) on both the 'old' and 'new' chassis. Thus: the chassis for the CA is different (!) from the current YZ2. However (keep thinking) the CA can be mounted on the current chassis as well, clear now?

You can wait for my information to be correct (because it is), all those "news sites" are just copy-and-paste of each other. They simply don't check their sources.
__________________
株式会社 ヨコモ
dennisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 03:18 AM   #2016
Tech Adept
 
gokarter64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Somewhere Near Tacoma RC Raceway
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkA View Post
I didn't remove mine from the car to measure so from roughly center of screw to center of screw = 12.5mm. Adjusting for a shaky hand, that makes it either 12 or 13mm

Why not order the YZ-2 wing mounts and then drill your tower for this other car after you physically have them?
Yea, im thinking that may be a good plan. Im doing a conversion for another car in autocad and decided to use those mounts, so ill just buy them and measure
gokarter64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 05:13 AM   #2017
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Ymax

How much weight are you guys running at/around the front?

I've got 20grams with a full size servo, still sucks at jumping nose high.

Don't really want to buy alu/brass bulkhead.

I"ll just keep adding weight.......
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 06:04 AM   #2018
Tech Regular
 
shannow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France Paris
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Weight shouldn't change the way it is affected while jumping as the acceleration of gravity only depends on time and not mass (+aerodynamics to be precise) . Adding weight will only reduce the effect because of pitch inertia.

It jumps nose high at every jumps or just a few ?

Idiot check : Is your throttle trim at zero (no coasting effect on the esc as well).
__________________
Yokomo YZ-2 , sanwa M12
Tekno EB 48.3 1900kv Hobbywing XR8+
Tekno NB48.4 Ko propo servo's Alpha dragon III
shannow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 06:27 AM   #2019
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ashland city tn
Posts: 2,621
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
Ymax

How much weight are you guys running at/around the front?

I've got 20grams with a full size servo, still sucks at jumping nose high.

Don't really want to buy alu/brass bulkhead.

I"ll just keep adding weight.......
if your running the ymax conversion i would suggest adding more rear droop .....you will need the longer bmax2 drive shaft though ....it helps the car land and jump better in the ymax form
__________________
Rick Hess
Tekno RC--Protek RC
R&C Hobby shop Clarksville TN
RCP Customs
rkhess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 05:50 PM   #2020
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 171
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OriginalDonk View Post
So when's Randy Pike going to post a pic of his YZ-2 with the 3 gear we saw at Reedy. Looks like they went back to the 4 gear BMax tranny chasing a bit more forward bite.
would be cool if the bmax gearbox works on the new dt car. the tracks i run at need a 4 gear for the added rear traction. i just sold my rb6 and i'm very tempted to try this car, just do i wait for the dt or get one now and do the ymaxx conversion
steve_40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 12:05 AM   #2021
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkhess View Post
if your running the ymax conversion i would suggest adding more rear droop .....you will need the longer bmax2 drive shaft though ....it helps the car land and jump better in the ymax form
done that....

I'll just add some more drag brake, maybe more anti-squat too

...and yes trim at 0
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 06:31 AM   #2022
Tech Initiate
 
Paultje040's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_40 View Post
would be cool if the bmax gearbox works on the new dt car. the tracks i run at need a 4 gear for the added rear traction. i just sold my rb6 and i'm very tempted to try this car, just do i wait for the dt or get one now and do the ymaxx conversion
a 3-gear would generate more rear traction(on power) than a 4-gear. Also LESS antisquat could give some more traction.
__________________
Schumacher KC

Tekno EB48.3
Paultje040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 08:36 AM   #2023
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 171
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paultje040 View Post
a 3-gear would generate more rear traction(on power) than a 4-gear. Also LESS antisquat could give some more traction.
Well everything tried didn't get what I was looking for until swapping the 4 gear in. That is my only concern with the DT version I see
steve_40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 10:03 AM   #2024
Tech Regular
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: surprise arizona
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paultje040 View Post
a 3-gear would generate more rear traction(on power) than a 4-gear. Also LESS antisquat could give some more traction.
its the other way around.
psycho02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 07:12 AM   #2025
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

When is the dirt edition shipping? Or is it already available in japan?
juicy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net