R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2015, 07:43 AM   #646
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracenut View Post
Ive had several mugens and losis. I would take the mugen anyday over a losi. I wish mugen made a 4x4sct. I would go to that in a heartbeat.
They do. It's called a Durango. Lol.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 08:47 AM   #647
Tech Adept
 
TOO-TALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bushwood country club
Posts: 195
Default

Started my build....so far very impressed with Quality and the manual is clear and easy to understand.....
__________________
www.skyski.com
www.foilforum.com

"Hey Baby want to make fourteen dollars...the hard way??" ----Rodney Dangerfield--Caddyshack.
TOO-TALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 08:52 AM   #648
Tech Adept
 
TOO-TALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bushwood country club
Posts: 195
Default

my front diff and pinion mesh is kinda tight....not bad.maybe it will have to break in?
__________________
www.skyski.com
www.foilforum.com

"Hey Baby want to make fourteen dollars...the hard way??" ----Rodney Dangerfield--Caddyshack.
TOO-TALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 10:59 PM   #649
Tech Master
 
Waflet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: helena, alabama
Posts: 1,899
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOO-TALL View Post
my front diff and pinion mesh is kinda tight....not bad.maybe it will have to break in?
Hideeho
You may need to shim it different from the manual. My x7 Eco shimmed exactly per manual, but the x7r Eco was different. I can't remember off the top of my head the difference, but it was 1 shim different.
__________________
"Just leave me alone, I know what I'm doing."-Kimi Raikkonen
Mugen MBX7R Eco/Tekin RX8g2/Savox 2274/SMC 1900kv/Aitronics mt-4/promatch
Mugen MSC7(1/10 pro4 sct)/Tekin RX8g2/Savox 2274/Tekin Pro4HD 4300kv/Airtronics mt-4/SMC
Waflet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 11:59 PM   #650
Tech Adept
 
TOO-TALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bushwood country club
Posts: 195
Default

That's the problem....I have no shims in it now
TOO-TALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 01:43 AM   #651
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Intech 4wd Sct is closed team d sct
coombes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 05:09 AM   #652
Tech Regular
 
Mauve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mt Gambier, SA
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Dont worry about your mesh being a touch tight for starters with no shims, it will loosen up after 30 mins to and hours running, just check it after your first race meet. The car will loosen up and handle a bit better after 2 race meets as well. Just keep everything cleaned and maintained. I check mesh at every diff rebuild but have found to never need to change the shimming after the first 2 or 3 race meets.
Mauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:19 AM   #653
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

On my second build so far and I have yet to shim the front or rear diff. I wouldn't worry about it.
sclogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:07 PM   #654
Tech Adept
 
TOO-TALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bushwood country club
Posts: 195
Default

Thx I'm just gonna run it.it will be fine.
TOO-TALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:22 PM   #655
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Although to firm up some of the comments from above, on my first build I had no issues with my motor mount. On my second build I had to grind down the side facing the motor that the bracket slides into. It seems it was machined about a few thousands too big and hits the motor as you trying to set gear mesh.
sclogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 04:19 PM   #656
Tech Adept
 
TOO-TALL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bushwood country club
Posts: 195
Default

I'm having the same problem....
TOO-TALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 04:59 PM   #657
Tech Apprentice
 
Chris Prelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOO-TALL View Post
my front diff and pinion mesh is kinda tight....not bad.maybe it will have to break in?
yes you will need to run 1/2 gallon , generaly with mugen it's a typical breakin process
__________________
Team Mugen - Beat - AKA - Airtronics - ChpGrafix
Chris Prelot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 06:14 PM   #658
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sclogger View Post
Although to firm up some of the comments from above, on my first build I had no issues with my motor mount. On my second build I had to grind down the side facing the motor that the bracket slides into. It seems it was machined about a few thousands too big and hits the motor as you trying to set gear mesh.
I had this issue but it was actually caused by the screws that hold the front face of my castle motor on to the main body. The screws protruded out of their recess by about 1/32" and were making contact with the motor mount when I tried to slide it in. Backed each screw out a bit and hit the head with a grinder to shorten them up a bit and then it slid in fine.

Pretty weak on castle's part if you ask me.
mdchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:32 PM   #659
Tech Elite
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,641
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I pit mine together with no shims in the diffs too. No problems after 2 weekends of running. ..
__________________
XRAY / RCAMERICA
JCONCEPTS
RCSHOX
Mikes Hobby Shop
symmetricon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:51 AM   #660
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

And this may have been mentioned by someone else but my second kit came with some replacement screws, probably to resolve the issue I had on the first build which the chassis screws where awfully tight, so tight that I snapped a 2.5mm hex bit in one which required a bit of finese to remove.
sclogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net