R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2017, 09:10 AM   #391
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

How tight are you guys have your servo saver nut?
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 09:34 AM   #392
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default V-brace and servo mount screws

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMann View Post
I noticed the problem you are talking about the space between the mount and bearing.
The washers shown in the parts diagram are 3mmx8mm. I looked again and found them. They were up inside the V-shaped brace so not really doing anything. The washers like the bearing are just pushed up into the hole on the underside of the brace. So I still think, nothing in the design is holding the bearing down in the top of the servo saver.

tip: use longer servo mount screws....
Another thing I noticed when I changed servos..... The screws that hold the servo mount to the chassis plate are too short. The servo mount is plastic and they simply threaded the plastic which isn't a great idea in the first place. With the stock screws M3x8, there is very little thread engagement. I could feel the threads starting to strip when I put the new servo in. The good news is that you can use much longer screws. I used either 12 or 14mm, can't remember which now. The threaded holes are plenty deep.
rhodesengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 10:19 AM   #393
Tech Regular
 
motoj550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stanford, Il.
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMann View Post
How tight are you guys have your servo saver nut?
i run mine really really tight with blue loc-tite but i run good servos with good metal gears in them.
__________________
XR10 A Higher Plane Of Existence
motoj550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:17 PM   #394
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motoj550 View Post
i run mine really really tight with blue loc-tite but i run good servos with good metal gears in them.
Thanks! My servo is new and MG also. I will tighten it up a lot then.
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 01:14 PM   #395
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

I'm rebuilding the center diff right now, the manual shows to use a spring on the dowel pin between the diff gears. This is only for the center diff. The rear and front don't use a spring Are you guys using it? Seems like it makes unwanted friction, and cause the gears to wear the inside of the case housing... ?
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 01:39 PM   #396
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have not had mine apart to that level so can't help.
rhodesengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 04:37 PM   #397
Tech Regular
 
motoj550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stanford, Il.
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

i still have my spring in the center diff, also i'm running 5-5-2 oil
5,000 front
5,000 center
2,000 rear
these oils work great on indoor clay track.
__________________
XR10 A Higher Plane Of Existence
motoj550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 05:01 PM   #398
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

I decided to leave the spring out. Running 7.5k F, 10k C, 5k R. I mixed the 5k and 10k 50/50 to get the 7.5k. Save money!

I can only think of, is that it was in there for more resistance on the bevel gears, less shock to the driveline? I don't know for sure, but the 10K oil should slow it down more than the stock grease that was in there.
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 08:34 PM   #399
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

I'm having trouble programming the esc. Anyone have a video, programming card, or better instructions?
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 11:01 PM   #400
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are you running the stock ESC? I have attached the instruction for it. If you have an older Hobby Wing card, it may well work. Like this one:
https://www.amainhobbies.com/hobbywi...501003/p485638

If it works and displays number, ignore the chart on the card and use the chart in the attached file for the order and value of parameters.

My original ESC blew out. I suggest you replace yours. I bought this one
http://www.hobbywing.com/goods.php?id=348
the EZrun WP 80A which turns out to not be exactly waterproof but otherwise has been working well. It also turns out that it is an older "V1" type ESC so you would need the LED card posted above and not the newer LCD card to program it. I think I posted all this either here or in the Hobbywing thread.

If I had it to do again, I think I would get the Castle Sidewinder 3.

I sent my blown ESC back to Tower for warranty replacement and they sent an ARRMA 60amp ESC with no fan. I have not tried it yet but it does program with the HW LED card..
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ESC.pdf (47.2 KB, 40 views)
rhodesengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 11:35 AM   #401
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

Thanks for the info! What's weird they sent you a 60A esc. I would have complained. I'm going to try and program it again later. I think I was able to do the master reset to it last night. I've been trying to find the old version hobbywing card, because it has less features and no display. I can't find it!

This is a clone of the stock ESC and you can get a program card.
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/tracksta...-10th-80a.html

I have had good luck with the Chinese GoolRC ESC's, as long as you only run 2S and run a larger amp version.
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 10:10 PM   #402
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

I got my cutback running finally! Its really Awesome! The only issue I have now is the truck only goes in reverse about half the time when I am standing very close to the truck. It never works far away. Is this a ESC or transmitter issue?
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 08:58 AM   #403
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ESC without a doubt. If you search back for some of my other posts you will see I had the same issue. I changed out the RX/TX to Spektrum and the reverse still had problems. If you search back even further, you will see others had the issue with reverse. The ESC had other problems and then it literally went up in smoke.

This is why I suggested a few posts back that you change the ESC before you have a fire. Look back to see specifically what I bought and what else I suggest.
rhodesengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 09:36 AM   #404
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 32
Default

Thanks, I did search and found your post on RCGroups. I have been looking for a new esc...

I pressed new alloy dowel pins into the drive shafts and rear dog bones. Used 2.5x12mm for the end that goes into the diff outdrives, and 2.5x10mm to the axles. I did install the upgraded front and rear center drive shafts with the CV joints. So The old ones will be backup.
Attached Thumbnails
Tower Hobbies Cutback 1/10 4x4 Short Course Truck-img_7727.jpg   Tower Hobbies Cutback 1/10 4x4 Short Course Truck-img_7731.jpg  
TMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 11:06 AM   #405
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

also just back a few pages here
Tower Hobbies Cutback 1/10 4x4 Short Course Truck
Tower Hobbies Cutback 1/10 4x4 Short Course Truck
Tower Hobbies Cutback 1/10 4x4 Short Course Truck

the issues with the old/new programmer are here in the Hobbywing thread.

When I bought the HW, I was constrained by the plan to put it where the poriginal one was located, up front under the front brace. So I was concerned about size. In the end, I mounted the new one to the top of the RX box. So you could put a a larger one in that location.

If I was buying one today, I'd probably get the Castle Sidewinder 3. Post back what you end up getting.
rhodesengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net