Wiki Posts
Search

Panther Slick Tire Foams

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2014, 07:34 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Questions?? Panther Slick Tire Foams

I am a buggy newb. I bought the Panther Slick tires for the front and rear of my B5M in the clay compound. The included white, open-cell foams are huge. The front foams are about as wide as the rear tires and the rear foams are even wider. The foams barely fit inside the tires and it does not seem like this will allow them be glued properly without severely compressing the foams. Do the foams need to be cut or should I squeeze them into the tires when gluing and allow the foams to form to the tire?

I'm considering getting the Panther orange molded foams because they fit so well in the slicks on my SC10, but the softer white foams seem better suited for the sticky, but bumpy clay track I'm going to race on.

Thank you.
Old 07-29-2014, 07:54 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper
I am a buggy newb. I bought the Panther Slick tires for the front and rear of my B5M in the clay compound. The included white, open-cell foams are huge. The front foams are about as wide as the rear tires and the rear foams are even wider. The foams barely fit inside the tires and it does not seem like this will allow them be glued properly without severely compressing the foams. Do the foams need to be cut or should I squeeze them into the tires when gluing and allow the foams to form to the tire?

I'm considering getting the Panther orange molded foams because they fit so well in the slicks on my SC10, but the softer white foams seem better suited for the sticky, but bumpy clay track I'm going to race on.

Thank you.
If you are considering running slick tires, you will certainly want to run the closed cell type foam and the panther closed cell is very good.
Old 07-29-2014, 08:00 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)