R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2014, 10:44 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Questions?? 1/8 Motors Running With or Without Sensor Wire?

Quick question.

It's commonplace for high end 1/8 motors to have sensors, it is also common to have ESC's with timing that only works when a motor is not sensored.

I have a HW SC pro ESC and LRP Dynamic 8, it runs great with a sensor plugged in, and it also runs almost as smooth with out it, I have heard of people saying that they ignore plugging in the wire as they have seen decreased temps and more power running sensorless (this is in a race setting).

My question is what do you folks think? I know sensorless 540 cans are terrible on a track, but these bigger motors seem to work just fine sensorless.
__________________
<><
Tiburon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 02:51 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

They work better because they have more poles. The rotor makes 1/2 revolution every time the esc switches phase in a 2 pole. 4 poles make a 1/4 revolution, and 6 poles make a 1/6th. That's why they are so smooth even nonsensored. Some esc's wont run sensorless, or will stop if the sensoer wire becomes unplugged or goes bad during a race.
__________________
Tekno R/C
FTR 510 Raceway
Team FTR
REX Engines USA
RW Mods
Hoese37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 08:56 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I was thinking that too because the wire that is not doing anything becomes sends a signal.

But if I remember, 2pole changes phase 1/3 turn 4pole 1/6 and 6pole 1/9

there is never 1pole so 2pole= 1, 4= 2 and 6= 3 then multiply by 3 of stator segments gives you number of phases.... I think, it's been a while.
__________________
<><
Tiburon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net