R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2015, 10:17 AM   #1216
Tech Regular
 
Jack302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Delaware
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Does the B5m & T5m use the same exact chassis?
Jack302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:18 AM   #1217
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,690
Trader Rating: 156 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack302 View Post
Does the B5m & T5m use the same exact chassis?
No. Truck is longer.
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:18 AM   #1218
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,908
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack302 View Post
Does the B5m & T5m use the same exact chassis?
no
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:18 AM   #1219
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack302 View Post
Does the B5m & T5m use the same exact chassis?
No, the truck chassis is longer by a few mm.
GettinLapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:31 AM   #1220
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,124
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Trimmings View Post
At 7am? Is there something we need to discuss?
Last night was good. It was still present when I woke up....hangover setting in now. Coffee time....
__________________
Best Avatar on rc-tech
Socket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:35 AM   #1221
Tech Elite
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Trimmings View Post
outside of the obvious arms, towers, driveshafts, front axles, shocks, turnbuckles, body mounts, chassis and center cradle....it should share everything else.

disclaimer: I may have missed a thing or 2
no that pretty much says it all.
__________________
Mason McCombs
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility
Off-Road, Dirt Oval, Crawlers & Pullers
Mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 02:45 PM   #1222
Tech Rookie
 
BaBaBaBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Default

I haven't yet ordered any electronics for my T5M (or even gotten the T5M from UPS yet.) But I'm thinking about the GTB 3 and either a 10.5 or 13.5. What sorts of electronics are people using in this truck?
BaBaBaBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 06:59 PM   #1223
Tech Regular
 
Fastforward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO (USA)
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaBaBaBen View Post
I haven't yet ordered any electronics for my T5M (or even gotten the T5M from UPS yet.) But I'm thinking about the GTB 3 and either a 10.5 or 13.5. What sorts of electronics are people using in this truck?
I have two Orion's, two Tekin Rs and a Viper Black Edition. I like the Viper best and will add more Vipers to my fleet. tekins are fine and small footprint but for programming uses Hotwire to a computer. At first that seemed like a good idea but it gets old dragging a laptop around. Orion's are good but Viper is far more cost effective.
__________________
Bob DeGood
AKA Big Bad Bob
AKA BBB
Fastforward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 07:32 PM   #1224
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: U.C. TX
Posts: 179
Default

I've got an order for a T5M from my LHS, so I don't have it yet. Eagerly awaiting). I have already gotten the electronics together for it. I'll be running a Hobbywing V3.1 120a ESC and a Trackstar 8.5 motor. I have two other Trackstar motors and they run great. I already have one Hobbywing V3.1's and have had great luck with it, so I ordered another to put in the T5M.
Rabidtrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 08:30 PM   #1225
Tech Master
 
BRSracing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Blue Springs MO
Posts: 1,506
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

If you have an Android device phone tablet etc. you can program the tekins with them. I use my phone, makes it simple.
BRSracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 05:28 AM   #1226
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRSracing View Post
If you have an Android device phone tablet etc. you can program the tekins with them. I use my phone, makes it simple.
A phone app? Wow. So is this through the Hotwire? And do you have full control of settings like you would from a computer?
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 05:51 AM   #1227
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Middle, TN.
Posts: 569
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by air8 View Post
A phone app? Wow. So is this through the Hotwire? And do you have full control of settings like you would from a computer?
Yep, but only Droid. I'm an iPhone guys so I'm out of luck on that. But you can get a tablet capable of running the Hotwire software for $50 at Walmart. That's what I plan to do at some point instead of using my laptop.

-Chris
__________________
Tekno EB48.2, ET48, SCT410
Hot Bodies D413
AE B5M, T5M
38.4 percent of RC tuning is 75 percent placebo effect
87.26 percent of statistics are just made up
iScream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 07:38 AM   #1228
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iScream View Post
Yep, but only Droid. I'm an iPhone guys so I'm out of luck on that. But you can get a tablet capable of running the Hotwire software for $50 at Walmart. That's what I plan to do at some point instead of using my laptop.

-Chris
I use android phones. Does this inclued the older RS? I got my current RS set a couple years ago and decided to never adjust it again cause the computer at the track was always busy. I was scared I would mess something up at home and the guys would blame me for destroying my ESC. So I only made changes with someone watching over my shoulder.

The other cars use Novak ESC's so I don't worry about messing anything up. Oh and an LRP something that I have never touched. It came with a B5M I bought. But the LRP works good I guess. I use it every weekend.
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 05:49 PM   #1229
Tech Regular
 
Fastforward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO (USA)
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRSracing View Post
If you have an Android device phone tablet etc. you can program the tekins with them. I use my phone, makes it simple.
I do have an android phone. Maybe you can show me sometime.
__________________
Bob DeGood
AKA Big Bad Bob
AKA BBB
Fastforward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 07:28 PM   #1230
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default tekin android app, this might help you out

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...to_threadtools
It does require an OTG adapter[cord] and specific list of which android version is inside
Hope this helps
__________________
Dirt's for racing,asphalt's for getting there!
pooldoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net