R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2016, 03:27 PM   #3331
Tech Fanatic
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Just picked one of these up, subscribing for future use.
rregl0612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 04:23 PM   #3332
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boucher View Post
I don't think I've seen anyone break a servo. Usually the bellcrank will break (or bend if you have the aluminum) before anything happens to the servo. What servo are you using? And maybe you should just use the stock plastic horn instead.
I am using an XP DS1313, the stock plastic horn snapped first run out. Switched to the aluminum with plastic insert and stripped the insert. Switched to aluminum only, no insert and broke the gears inside the servo. Fixed that and went back to the aluminum with plastic insert. The link that goes between the servo horn and steering rack was tight on the ball studs, associated sent me a new one that is looser on the ball studs and that helped for awhile, but now last weekend, another stripped out insert. I am at a complete loss...
skidooboy84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:59 PM   #3333
Tech Fanatic
 
tsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skidooboy84 View Post
I am using an XP DS1313, the stock plastic horn snapped first run out. Switched to the aluminum with plastic insert and stripped the insert. Switched to aluminum only, no insert and broke the gears inside the servo. Fixed that and went back to the aluminum with plastic insert. The link that goes between the servo horn and steering rack was tight on the ball studs, associated sent me a new one that is looser on the ball studs and that helped for awhile, but now last weekend, another stripped out insert. I am at a complete loss...
Are your end points set correctly on your radio?
__________________
Razor RC blog:
http://razorrcblog.blogspot.com
http://youtube.com/c/RazorRC
tsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 03:52 AM   #3334
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsair View Post
Are your end points set correctly on your radio?
End points have been set, I just lowered them 10%, will let you know how I make out. Thanks.

Last edited by skidooboy84; 10-21-2016 at 05:02 AM.
skidooboy84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 06:53 AM   #3335
Tech Master
 
sduffy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York, PA
Posts: 1,328
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm surprised no one suggested "Stop hitting stuff"

I've been running an Xpert 4431 servo with an aluminum servo horn for the past year. Only issue I had was the Associated aluminum steering rack broke twice. I went back to plastic and have had no issues since.
__________________
Team Associated SC5M | Team Associated T5M | Team Associated RC8b2e
Bumps & Jumps | Pit Stop Hobbies | Backhills RC
Pro-Line Racing | Maclan Racing | Xpert RC USA | Boca Bearings | Gens Ace | Mattox Designs | Race Ready Products | Sticky Kicks
sduffy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 07:50 AM   #3336
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skidooboy84 View Post
End points have been set, I just lowered them 10%, will let you know how I make out. Thanks.
Did you just lower them by that much or actually set them at the physical steering limits? I've run a few different servos and the endpoint have needed to be set different with each one.
Tbone17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 04:45 PM   #3337
Tech Elite
 
eper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new milford, CT.
Posts: 2,599
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

ive heard about a 3rd hole in the front arm i think is that true are people drilling a 3rd hole?
eper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 09:39 PM   #3338
Tech Fanatic
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by accucel View Post
Anyone experience wheel chatter with their T5m going through fast sweepers? My track has a wide radius, long sweeper with a few undulations, and I have observed the inner front wheel chattering back and forth.

The truck has glued trailing inserts, a high torque servo and good bearings, and my b5m is totally planted in the same corner. Is this a stadium truck thing, or something wrong with my setup?
I know this post is a bit out of date, but do you balance your wheels? You might see this kind of lifting as the imbalance pulls the tire off the ground? If you do balance check again. One thing off the list
rregl0612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 07:58 PM   #3339
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tbone17 View Post
Did you just lower them by that much or actually set them at the physical steering limits? I've run a few different servos and the endpoint have needed to be set different with each one.
Lowering them to that point put it just lower than the physical steering limits. I broke 2 plastic steering racks in the same spot both times prior to switching to an aluminum rack.
skidooboy84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 09:32 PM   #3340
Tech Elite
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,215
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eper View Post
ive heard about a 3rd hole in the front arm i think is that true are people drilling a 3rd hole?
Yes I've been running this for well over a year. Smooths the steering out a ton!
aeRayls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 11:14 PM   #3341
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeRayls View Post
Yes I've been running this for well over a year. Smooths the steering out a ton!
Do you have a picture of where the hole is drilled or a link to a post about it?
sluther343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 01:45 AM   #3342
Tech Master
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,538
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jabroni racing
Default

Getting y truck today, Question i have is is there a Difference between the 4-gear or 3-gear trans as far as feel?? My b5m has the 3 gear but T5 manual shows 4-gear & i see some people use the 4 gear. ANy and All Opinions would help. Thanks
__________________
www.facebook.com/jay3638
jabroni racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 03:14 AM   #3343
Tech Elite
 
eper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new milford, CT.
Posts: 2,599
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I'm running the 3 gear truck responds more to throttle and brake inputs. My truck is really good and I had a few guys who lined up to try it last night and everyone loved it so I'd say 3 gear. Our track has good medium traction so it does work without tons of traction
eper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 05:05 AM   #3344
Tech Master
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,538
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jabroni racing
Default

Thanks, so the 3 gear trans bolts right in when you pull the 4 gear ??
2nd question, if i buy the 3 gear case what can i use form the 4 gear tranny??
__________________
www.facebook.com/jay3638
jabroni racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 06:20 AM   #3345
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 290
Default

You'll need:

3 gear case #91607
3 gear motor plate #91603
3 gear gear cover #91604

Everything else you need comes from your 4 gear box.
__________________
Team Associated / Reedy / JConcepts / BoomRC
boucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:22 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net