R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree27Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2016, 09:37 AM   #3301
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 186
Default

Hi guys, been searching with no luck. Question is, Has anyone successfully adapted a B6 laydown Trans to a T5m?? Thanks.
indybobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 10:23 AM   #3302
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 160
Default

Just use the one from shapeways, works great
blankenj99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 10:35 AM   #3303
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 290
Default

B6 stuff doesn't bolt on to the 5 series. There are other ways to get a laydown transmission in your truck.
__________________
Team Associated / Reedy / JConcepts / BoomRC
boucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 11:41 AM   #3304
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blankenj99 View Post
Just use the one from shapeways, works great
Just don't trust 3d printed ones, used the first Redworks on my b5m and it didn't last long, started skipping gears. Got the WWHD after that and it was rock solid, but can't find another one anywhere.

Know it would not be a direct bolt on, but was just wondering if it was possible.
indybobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 01:31 PM   #3305
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indybobb View Post
Just don't trust 3d printed ones, used the first Redworks on my b5m and it didn't last long, started skipping gears. Got the WWHD after that and it was rock solid, but can't find another one anywhere.

Know it would not be a direct bolt on, but was just wondering if it was possible.
Been running the shapeways for a bit now with no issues. We actually have a few people running them at my local track. Not one issue thus far.
Juicebox315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 04:02 PM   #3306
Tech Champion
 
thecman26's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,739
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indybobb View Post
Got the WWHD after that and it was rock solid, but can't find another one anywhere.

Know it would not be a direct bolt on, but was just wondering if it was possible.
Well, considering it's half the price of the whole truck. I would hope it works well! :O
__________________
Chris Keen: Viola, Kansas
Kyosho RZ6, TLR 22 3.0, TLR 4.0 SR (soon),& 22T 3.0
"I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!", Col. Sanders
thecman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2016, 08:11 PM   #3307
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 4
Default

hey new to the t5m ran my first race with it i run in lose dirt i had the setup 26/78 in it as it suggested and it came off the track after 5 mins at 167 went down to a 24 and it still came off at 160 and i was getting passed like i was sitting still
twest32678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 06:51 PM   #3308
Tech Elite
 
wrightcs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 3,368
Trader Rating: 521 (100%+)
Default

What is a good loose track set up? Weather will be cool (probably air temp of 50-55), track will be hard packed. Tires are holeshot m4. Rear traction is at a premium. Have aluminum rear hubs, kashima shocks, schelle hangers and inserts for the rear suspension.
wrightcs77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 06:32 PM   #3309
Tech Elite
 
wrightcs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 3,368
Trader Rating: 521 (100%+)
Default

Anyone with a good starting set up for a low traction, smooth to bumpy track?
wrightcs77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 09:43 PM   #3310
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ogden,UT
Posts: 277
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just got back into ST and picked one of these up. Any of advice for add on's/ upgrades? And also any good setup advice for running on carpet? Thanks in advance.
RacingCraze21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 09:49 AM   #3311
Tech Regular
 
twindad98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Burlington, North Carolina
Posts: 426
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Have any of you found that the new truck springs are too stiff for indoor medium bite clay? I raced Saturday and my truck was a handful. I just went back to the stock springs to see how it feels for this week.
__________________
TLR 22 3.0
TLR 22-4
TLR 22T 2.0
RC8.2e
Sticky Kicks RC - Voodoo Racing Cells - Dialed Hobbies
twindad98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 11:36 AM   #3312
Tech Elite
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,215
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twindad98 View Post
Have any of you found that the new truck springs are too stiff for indoor medium bite clay? I raced Saturday and my truck was a handful. I just went back to the stock springs to see how it feels for this week.
The regular springs always give a more comfortable feel. I have no trouble running the newer truck springs in any indoor track regardless of grip. The only time the don't feel good is in bumpy conditions, I can't run them outdoors.
aeRayls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 08:09 AM   #3313
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Default Can you use SC 2.2/3.0 tires on a T5M?

Hello,

I was at the RC store and the sales guy insisted that the SC 2.2/3.0 hole shots tires are the right wheel for the T5M. When I got home and compared them to the current tires on the truck they are obviously narrower and larger in diameter than the tires on the truck. The store is almost an hour away so returning them is unlikely.

Can I run SC tires on a T5M? What would the offset have to be as they are narrower than the stock tires?

Nate
nateb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 09:16 AM   #3314
Tech Regular
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You technically *could* run them but I would suspect the handling would be whacky to say the least.
__________________
B64D | B6 | T5M | EB48.4 | Talion | EMB-TGH | Sakura Advance
daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 04:15 PM   #3315
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 821
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nateb View Post
Hello,

I was at the RC store and the sales guy insisted that the SC 2.2/3.0 hole shots tires are the right wheel for the T5M. When I got home and compared them to the current tires on the truck they are obviously narrower and larger in diameter than the tires on the truck. The store is almost an hour away so returning them is unlikely.

Can I run SC tires on a T5M? What would the offset have to be as they are narrower than the stock tires?

Nate
With enough dremel work, I'm sure you could make anything work. Those are the wrong wheels and tires. Without going in to the offset the problem you will have is the larger diameter will mess with your gearing. I recommend you take them back and don't ask that guy for anything anymore.
Chris Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net