R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree30Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2015, 08:35 PM   #2026
Tech Rookie
 
setsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Posts: 10
Default

I have no idea if I am in the right place or not, but I am getting tired of searching through pages and pages of threads. So here I am with a question, pardon my ignorance if I'm asking in the wrong thread.

I recently bought a T5M after running a friends at our local indoor clay track and falling in love with the chassis. I bought a lightly used roller from the buy/sell section of RCtech, and got it in the mail today. I installed a castle brushless system with a 5700kv motor, flysky receiver and a savox servo on it to test it out until my Tekin RSX and sensored motor come in later this week.

The car drives and handles fine, but makes a terrible noise under full throttle. It sounds/feels like it is slipping somewhere (it sounds alot like an old vacuum cleaner). I tightened the slipper clutch beyond where that could be what is slipping, and it still makes the racket and experiences slippage. I then locked up the spur/pinion with an extra pinion gear and slowly spun the tires manually. It is not slipping at the slipper clutch. I can not think of anything else it could be except the differential? I am extremely novice at RC mechanics and don't know how the insides of these diffs are setup, but have a basic knowledge of a full size vehicle diff.

Where do I go from here? is the differential adjustable? am I way off track thinking that is the problem? Do I need to rebuild it?

P.S. the chassis appears to be extremely new. no scratches or wear anywhere on it.
P.P.S. my friend who's T5 I first drove spoke with me today and said that his car is now experiencing the same problem.
setsharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 09:54 PM   #2027
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 4,782
Trader Rating: 486 (100%+)
Default

sounds like the dif is barking. might be time for a rebuild.
__________________
Now that I've discovered the ignore list I plan to use it.....14 and counting!
QDRHRSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:51 PM   #2028
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

too powerful of a motor combined with a diff that might be too loose. 10$ says, you've toasted the diff.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 12:14 AM   #2029
Tech Adept
 
frankf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Victoria
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If a diff barks can you not just tighten it, why is it toast?
frankf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 01:40 AM   #2030
Tech Elite
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,530
Trader Rating: 119 (100%+)
Default

because if it barked, that most likely means you've flat spotted the balls in the diff and it'll never work right after that.
RC*PHREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 01:45 AM   #2031
Tech Elite
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,530
Trader Rating: 119 (100%+)
Default

when you rebuild it, i'd get schelle tungsten diff balls and a caged ceramic thrust bearing, along with new diff rings. there are a few good videos out there on how to rebuild and break in a ball diff. then you need to make sure you adjust your slipper so that it slips before the diff does.
RC*PHREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 02:44 AM   #2032
Tech Adept
 
frankf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Victoria
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
because if it barked, that most likely means you've flat spotted the balls in the diff and it'll never work right after that.
Oh I see, is the gear diff worth considering if you drive on high bite surface?
frankf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 03:10 AM   #2033
Tech Rookie
 
setsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Posts: 10
Default

Ahh that makes sense. I will research more difs and rebuild mine. I just wanted to make sure that was the problem. Thanks for the help guys
setsharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:07 AM   #2034
Tech Regular
 
BLKHAWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 22 (92%+)
Default

Guys I have a question, hope you guys could help me out. Ive been driving my T5M on the stock set up for a little while now and have decided to change it up a little. I decided to put Thielke's set up on it and it says he is using the 5mm cup offset on the shocks and the stock set up uses the 9mm. I installed the 5mm and now I cant get the truck up high enough to get the ride height he is using? hes using the blue fronts and white rears just like what comes stock. what am I missing? I see a lot of guys using the 5mm cup offset in there set up sheets why? im not sure what this does, I was hoping someone could explain it to me and maybe why I cant seem to get the ride height

thank you
BLKHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:11 AM   #2035
Tech Regular
 
dbowen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKHAWK View Post
Guys I have a question, hope you guys could help me out. Ive been driving my T5M on the stock set up for a little while now and have decided to change it up a little. I decided to put Thielke's set up on it and it says he is using the 5mm cup offset on the shocks and the stock set up uses the 9mm. I installed the 5mm and now I cant get the truck up high enough to get the ride height he is using? hes using the blue fronts and white rears just like what comes stock. what am I missing? I see a lot of guys using the 5mm cup offset in there set up sheets why? im not sure what this does, I was hoping someone could explain it to me and maybe why I cant seem to get the ride height

thank you
The only way I know that you could run the 5mm cups is if you're running truck springs. I think they are running the new AE truck springs that come with the SC5M. Otherwise you have to use the 9s for buggy springs.
__________________
B5M Fantom IonV5 Short Stack 17.5 Hobbywing 3.1 Stock Spec Fantom Batteries
T5M Fantom Ion V5 9.5 Hobbywing ESC Fantom Batteries

Proud To Represent: Fantom Racing - Schelle Racing - FastTraxx Hobbies
dbowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:24 AM   #2036
Tech Regular
 
BLKHAWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 22 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbowen View Post
The only way I know that you could run the 5mm cups is if you're running truck springs. I think they are running the new AE truck springs that come with the SC5M. Otherwise you have to use the 9s for buggy springs.

Im running the stock truck springs, this is the set up

http://www.teamassociated.com/pdf/ca...er_Thielke.pdf
BLKHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:31 AM   #2037
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,705
Trader Rating: 156 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKHAWK View Post
Im running the stock truck springs, this is the set up

http://www.teamassociated.com/pdf/ca...er_Thielke.pdf
I believe he is actually using kyosho springs (which are longer) on that setup. 5mm vs 9mm isn't a tuning option, its just to be able to get the proper ride height. You will not notice a difference between the 2. Just run the 9's to get the ride height desired.
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:35 AM   #2038
Tech Adept
 
NeedsHobbyMoney's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vegas
Posts: 179
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Kyo Springs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Trimmings View Post
I believe he is actually using kyosho springs (which are longer) on that setup. 5mm vs 9mm isn't a tuning option, its just to be able to get the proper ride height. You will not notice a difference between the 2. Just run the 9's to get the ride height desired.
It's the Kyo Springs. That's what I run, and have the smaller offset on my rig.
__________________
Team Associated
T5M | B44.2 Schelle Shorty | SC5M | RC8B3e | RC8B3
TEKIN | Airtronics | Savox | Avid | MIP
NeedsHobbyMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:37 AM   #2039
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,945
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

deleted...wrong thread
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:47 AM   #2040
Tech Regular
 
BLKHAWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 22 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Trimmings View Post
I believe he is actually using kyosho springs (which are longer) on that setup. 5mm vs 9mm isn't a tuning option, its just to be able to get the proper ride height. You will not notice a difference between the 2. Just run the 9's to get the ride height desired.

awesome matt, thank you for the info!
BLKHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net