Wiki Posts
Search

DEX410V4 and the 22-4 ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2014, 09:03 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default DEX410V4 and the 22-4 ?'s

Ok I have gone back and forth on what to get here. I am new to racing and was just going to go with a 2wd buggy but the track where I will be racing is starting to get more people getting the 4wd buggy.
So which wheeler to go with. The track is a small smooth clay indoor track. the shop there only sells TLR, AE, and durango. So I will only want to buy one of those brands to support the track even though the XB4 and D413 looks interesting.
My BIG question is what is the difference to gear or ball diffs , and the belt drive or universal drive system. Which one would do better on a small indoor clay track?
Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.
Old 01-11-2014, 10:14 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

Gear diffs are a lot less maintainence. They are more of a set and let be, Wheras a ball diff will need readjusting. This can be a good thing though, it is easy to make changes.

The difference between belt and shaft is just that, belt and shaft. Shafts are more "reliable" there is less to go wrong with them. Shafts feel more "instant" where as the power is more direct feeling, and belts can feel more "springy" so that there is a tiny lapse where the belt it stretching. It is very very minimal though.

Neither car is "better" it comes down to personal preference of which you will feel more comfortable with. If you have never raced, I would start with 2wd. With a 2wd I feel like you will develope better driving skills, Wheras a 4wd you can just power out of situations.
Old 01-11-2014, 10:27 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

I agree. Start with 2wd. But if you really want a 4wd the 3 you mentioned are all solid cars. I dont think you will get anybody here to agree on one over the other. If you have friends that race maybe get what they have so they can help you out.