R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2015, 09:44 AM   #12106
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,124
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

You lost me at B4 front end.
__________________
Best Avatar on rc-tech
Socket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:06 AM   #12107
Tech Champion
 
Jmuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 5,061
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dark Knight View Post
Do any of you guys race on grass or astro? Or is it mainly dirt & clay?

Over here in the UK, I mainly race on grass & astro.

I'm thinking of getting the B5M Lite to race in mod mainly due to the optional extras the kit comes with. My plan would be to try the 3 gear box first and see how I get on with it then depending on the outcome, either stick with the 3 gear box or try a 4 gear box.
Mainly dirt and clay but a few tracks are carpet. Grass and astro are non-existent.
__________________
B6D | B64D

Schelle Racing Concepts - www.schelleracing.com
Amain Hobbies - www.amain.com
Jmuck69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:11 AM   #12108
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socket View Post
You lost me at B4 front end.
LOL. Same thought went through my head.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzi View Post
My b5m kuch carbon chassis. Not it has an b4 frontend but will be fitted with an b5m. It is 4mm thick and it is superb stiff. Dont need to make any extra carbon parts to make it stiffier.
Weight is 138gr.
NOT FOR SELL
Jerzi
Jerzi did you lay the carbon fiber yourself, or did you purchase the material?
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:21 AM   #12109
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Did anyone have to shave the brass or aluminum C mounts to get the locknut to sit flush? And/or possibly get a nut driver on there?
__________________
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:25 AM   #12110
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,744
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by air8 View Post
Did anyone have to shave the brass or aluminum C mounts to get the locknut to sit flush? And/or possibly get a nut driver on there?
You dont need a locknut on the aluminum piece...I just put a little bit of threadlock on the screw.
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:30 AM   #12111
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland/Helsinki
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by air8 View Post
LOL. Same thought went through my head.



Jerzi did you lay the carbon fiber yourself, or did you purchase the material?
I did it my self.
Did an chassis mold out of nice wood.
Jerzi
jerzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:30 AM   #12112
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,990
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

I dont have nuts on mine. Just locktite.



So, last night I was working on my cars for cactus. I was going to build come front hubs with +3 and +4 inserts, then glue the inserts in. As usual, the +3 inserts worked well and were smooth and felt centered. The axle just fell all the way through both bearings and the axles are smooth. The +4 insert however, needed to have presure applied to get the axle through the bearings. And once they were "popped" in, there was heavy grinding and resistance. I tried to "work" the insert in and center them so I could glue them into the sweet spot. However, this was never to be the case. So, what prep work are you guys doing to center the +4 inserts? Sanding the outer edges of the inserts? I have never ever been able to get the +4 inserts smooth. The +3 are always pretty good.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:41 AM   #12113
Tech Addict
 
kdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razathorn View Post
I believe the wing mount is 6, then the shim forward makes 9, and the shim backwards makes 3. Run the shim on top in any orientation for 6.
The wing mounts are 3 deg, so shim on top is 3 deg. Shim on bottom wedge up is 6 deg, shim flipped is 0 deg. I haven't tested this much, just my standard setup to run the shim on top of the wing.
__________________
Chief Engineer, Schelle Racing Innovations, SchelleRacing.com - Team Associated - Reedy - JConcepts - Sanwa - MIP - StickyKicksRC - UpGradeRC - Darkside Designs
kdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:52 AM   #12114
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
I dont have nuts on mine. Just locktite.



So, last night I was working on my cars for cactus. I was going to build come front hubs with +3 and +4 inserts, then glue the inserts in. As usual, the +3 inserts worked well and were smooth and felt centered. The axle just fell all the way through both bearings and the axles are smooth. The +4 insert however, needed to have presure applied to get the axle through the bearings. And once they were "popped" in, there was heavy grinding and resistance. I tried to "work" the insert in and center them so I could glue them into the sweet spot. However, this was never to be the case. So, what prep work are you guys doing to center the +4 inserts? Sanding the outer edges of the inserts? I have never ever been able to get the +4 inserts smooth. The +3 are always pretty good.
Interesting, do the +4s have the same issue when installed as +2? I have run 3 for a long time, I have a set of glued 4's. but they haven't made it into the car yet..
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:57 AM   #12115
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,990
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Interesting, do the +4s have the same issue when installed as +2? I have run 3 for a long time, I have a set of glued 4's. but they haven't made it into the car yet..
yeah. I was looking at them last night. If i had to guess, I would say the location of the molding injection point is the issue. I tried several different hubs (hard and regular), I mixed hard inserts with plastic hubs and vice versa. Crush tubes and no crush tubes, lol. I can only think I need to sand them until they can align, then glue. But before I destroy all my parts trying to work out a technique, I was looking to see how others do it.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 12:49 PM   #12116
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I dont seem to have this front wheel bearing issue. Mine stay free and not crunchy for awhile like at least 3 months.
__________________
Takin the lil guy racin...
Skeeter36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:38 PM   #12117
Tech Regular
 
VegasHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 462
Default

You will once you switch your inserts around. My feeling is that the bearings "wear in" to that set of inserts/hub. You take those same bearings and swap inserts and they're instantly toast since they wore into the previous setup.

Someone like Exotek, Avid or Schelle need to make a new front hub and insert assembly that doesn't eat bearings. However that might cut into their bearing sales.....conspiracy!!

I've had better luck using the hard hub kits though.
__________________
Don't worry about saving pennies, worry about making dollars.
702rcraceway.com, sponsored by my wallet
VegasHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:49 PM   #12118
Tech Fanatic
 
Peter Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

These will help.

http://tkocompetitiondev.com/product...roducts_id=596
Peter Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:52 PM   #12119
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,990
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Martin View Post
We will see. I have some of those coming
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:55 PM   #12120
Suspended
 
dominick i.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: west new york, nj
Posts: 2,663
Trader Rating: 123 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Martin View Post
Peter Martin knows his stuff...even back in the 80's at Family Hobbies he was quick.....
__________________
club racing is always great racing......
I am probably the only non sponsored racer in the usa.....:)
dominick i. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net