R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2015, 06:48 AM   #11221
Tech Elite
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,218
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkbaitdamon View Post
trying to get some steering going into a high speed sweeper indoor clay med-high grip, no matter what i do it seems to push wide and won't hug the pipe or even stay in the line. i have tapered pistons in the front and rear due to the bumpiness of our track tried adding a little weight under the servo but i can't seem to get it to steer like i want it to. any suggestions?
Usually it's caused by driving into a high speed sweeper way too hard. If your car is great everywhere else especially. The first and usually only I adjustment I make for the scenario is reducing front droop! I've ran as little as 19.5 in the front to 21.0mm.

This is a huge adjustment to the car that a lot of people overlook. Just using 2 limiters all around isn't enough. Measure that droop front and rear!
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~XP Digital~JConcepts~92zero Designs~Big Horn Designs~


Go that way really fast... if something gets in your way... TURN!
aeRayls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 06:55 AM   #11222
Tech Regular
 
Thomas PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: York
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkbaitdamon View Post
trying to get some steering going into a high speed sweeper indoor clay med-high grip, no matter what i do it seems to push wide and won't hug the pipe or even stay in the line. i have tapered pistons in the front and rear due to the bumpiness of our track tried adding a little weight under the servo but i can't seem to get it to steer like i want it to. any suggestions?
Longer front link, or a front wing.
__________________
-Thomas Kauffman
KDRC Carbon Fiber Upgrades
Bumps & Jumps RC, Pit Stop Hobbies
X6^3: Tekin, Fantom, Sav÷x
B5M: KDRC, Fantom, hobbywing, Sav÷x, Schelle, AC RC
Thomas PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 09:15 AM   #11223
Tech Master
 
Razathorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,972
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkbaitdamon View Post
trying to get some steering going into a high speed sweeper indoor clay med-high grip, no matter what i do it seems to push wide and won't hug the pipe or even stay in the line. i have tapered pistons in the front and rear due to the bumpiness of our track tried adding a little weight under the servo but i can't seem to get it to steer like i want it to. any suggestions?
Is the push before or after the apex. I.e. are you on or off power when the push happens? That makes all the difference in how you address it.

Wayne
__________________
AE B6D / AE B44.3 / AE RC10WC / AE RC8B3
Razathorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:01 AM   #11224
Tech Elite
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razathorn View Post
Is the push before or after the apex. I.e. are you on or off power when the push happens? That makes all the difference in how you address it.

Wayne
+1
__________________
Mason McCombs
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility
Off-Road, Dirt Oval, Crawlers & Pullers
Mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:27 AM   #11225
Tech Elite
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,901
Default

Has anyone been down to zero, 0, numero uno spacers for roll center? (stock plastic mount) I did this past weekend. I'm still running 17.5 until I get the rear end a little more situated. My biggest problem is diff/diff halves/dog bone pins. Looks like its time to harden these things as greasing only last a heat or two at best. They've lasted nearly a year but dang it that's just unacceptable lol.
__________________
Mason McCombs
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility
Off-Road, Dirt Oval, Crawlers & Pullers
Mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:29 AM   #11226
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,994
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mason View Post
Has anyone been down to zero, 0, numero uno spacers for roll center? (stock plastic mount) I did this past weekend. I'm still running 17.5 until I get the rear end a little more situated. My biggest problem is diff/diff halves/dog bone pins. Looks like its time to harden these things as greasing only last a heat or two at best. They've lasted nearly a year but dang it that's just unacceptable lol.
I run the alum mount with -2mm and 2mm of spacers. Same thing as plastic with no washers.

What is wrong with the rear end of the car? I assume you are not using pucks?
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:47 AM   #11227
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,928
Default

some one tell me how to mod the stock motor plate for a 3 gear box?
__________________
the happy racer
drango 410 v 4
am dyslexic
b5 mid motor
vito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:00 AM   #11228
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito View Post
some one tell me how to mod the stock motor plate for a 3 gear box?
2 options, counter sink the backside of the plate some so flat head screws clear their heads (I was able to make mine flush). Or use button heads, and shim out the slipper assembly until it clears (shims on the top shaft).
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:17 AM   #11229
Tech Regular
 
dbowen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

So my motor is running a little hotter than I like it in my B5M, so what do I need to wire up a fan for my motor. I see some guys hook it up to the receiver but where do I get the wire that plugs into the receiver? Are there any other options like can I solder it to my + & - terminals on my ESC?
__________________
B5M Fantom IonV5 Short Stack 17.5 Hobbywing 3.1 Stock Spec Fantom Batteries
T5M Fantom Ion V5 9.5 Hobbywing ESC Fantom Batteries

Proud To Represent: Fantom Racing - Schelle Racing - FastTraxx Hobbies
dbowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:23 AM   #11230
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Can get blank 3 prong receiver plugs/pins at just about any hobby shop.

Also would be fine to wire directly to the +/- leads on your speed controller. The fan will go on as soon as battery is connected unless you wire in a switch, but thats no big deal.

In theory the little fan should only pull a minuscule amount of amperage, so there should be little risk of brown outs via receiver power.
negatv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:23 AM   #11231
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,994
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbowen View Post
So my motor is running a little hotter than I like it in my B5M, so what do I need to wire up a fan for my motor. I see some guys hook it up to the receiver but where do I get the wire that plugs into the receiver? Are there any other options like can I solder it to my + & - terminals on my ESC?
first off I would get the fan mount i linked a page or so back. Second, I hooked my fan to the esc, because I only wanted it to run with the esc on. I used a servo extension wire and solders it to the fan wires and shrink wrapped it.\

I used this and cut to length
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDGMD&P=7

I just found this. you get many spares

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10pcs-150mm-...item486ace5276
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:32 AM   #11232
Tech Regular
 
dbowen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
first off I would get the fan mount i linked a page or so back. Second, I hooked my fan to the esc, because I only wanted it to run with the esc on. I used a servo extension wire and solders it to the fan wires and shrink wrapped it.\

I used this and cut to length
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDGMD&P=7

I just found this. you get many spares

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10pcs-150mm-...item486ace5276
Sweet thank you guys for the help guys!!
__________________
B5M Fantom IonV5 Short Stack 17.5 Hobbywing 3.1 Stock Spec Fantom Batteries
T5M Fantom Ion V5 9.5 Hobbywing ESC Fantom Batteries

Proud To Represent: Fantom Racing - Schelle Racing - FastTraxx Hobbies
dbowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:44 AM   #11233
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
2 options, counter sink the backside of the plate some so flat head screws clear their heads (I was able to make mine flush). Or use button heads, and shim out the slipper assembly until it clears (shims on the top shaft).
the back side of the stock holes? will the stock gear cover still fit?
__________________
the happy racer
drango 410 v 4
am dyslexic
b5 mid motor
vito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:46 AM   #11234
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,754
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito View Post
the back side of the stock holes? will the stock gear cover still fit?
you need the "3 gear" gear cover. yes, the backside of the stock holes that secure the plate to the tranny case.
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 11:48 AM   #11235
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,928
Default

not much meat in the holes to counter sink them
__________________
the happy racer
drango 410 v 4
am dyslexic
b5 mid motor
vito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net