R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2016, 08:40 AM   #20476
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: CostaMesa,CA
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

moving the rear hubs in the "forward" position to try it out. when should this really be used? I was comparing to humpty's set up and I understand he is doing some wacky things but he has his hubs forward not sure i like it as it rotates more than i'd like resulting in the rear sliding
radioctrlhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 09:47 AM   #20477
Tech Regular
 
DennisNyholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbartlet1 View Post
Isn't that kind of a pain in the butt, do you have to solder and unsolder every time you want to take the battery out of your car and charge?
If your battery isn't a bullet connector battery, you might have trouble. Does yours just have a connector coming out of a soft pack battery? If so, most people use shorty 2s batteries with 4 or 5mm bullet connectors.


https://www.amainhobbies.com/team-orion-2s-carbon-vmax-110c-lipo-shorty-pack-battery-ori14076/p485226
DennisNyholm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 09:58 PM   #20478
Tech Adept
 
5tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: france
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radioctrlhead View Post
moving the rear hubs in the "forward" position to try it out. when should this really be used? I was comparing to humpty's set up and I understand he is doing some wacky things but he has his hubs forward not sure i like it as it rotates more than i'd like resulting in the rear sliding
I put my rear hub forward on tight/super high grip tracks , like carpets.
To get a more agressive car.
On a large and/or bumpy track , I prefer a longer wheelbase.
5tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 06:49 PM   #20479
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
Default Tuning

Hi all,

I just had my first day at the track and getting the feel for my car and wanted to get some tips.

What setting on the radio is good to adjust braking? I feel that my car slows down real slow when I brake. Or do I need to change the ESC programming? I have a black box 800z.

Also the car pushes in the turns. Sometimes I hit the pipes on the outside. What is good for this?

Finally, I flipped a few times sideways going into turns, like I had to much traction and the car catapulted over to one side. For example, making a hard left turn and the car flips over the two right tires.

Oh, also, whats a good starting tire for a track that is not loose but not clay? I used holeshots and someone told me they would be OK but wear really fast on this track.

Thanks.
nbartlet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 08:07 PM   #20480
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 73
Default

Not familiar with the 800z but you would normally adjust drag brake and maximum brake strength in the ESC, and brake EPA on your radio to get the feel you want. Pushing could be many things, maybe wrong tires or just taking the turn too fast. Pushing, traction rolling, etc. hard to make suggestions without seeing the setup, track, etc. Tires - talk to the guys at your track that are super fast and "hooked up" out there.
will5879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 08:17 PM   #20481
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,944
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

The 800z does not have a max brake adjustment
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 09:11 PM   #20482
Tech Master
 
Phillip F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,260
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I bet it's the throttle settings in your transmitter when you calibrate it with the esc. I made that mistake before. My EXP brake was in -30 when I calibrate the esc. It has to be in 0.
Phillip F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 06:19 AM   #20483
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,944
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

the 800z has plenty of brakes. I would re-calibrate again.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 08:59 AM   #20484
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 396
Send a message via Skype™ to Cody227
Default

Does anyone know what parts are needed to convert a B5m to 3-gear transmission?

I don't care about the milled motor plate and aluminium top shaft, so are they really needed or can I just flip around my old motor plate and reuse the old steel top shaft?
__________________
RC8b SC ~ B5m ~ B4m ~ Mini-Z
Cody227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 09:19 AM   #20485
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,435
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

I believe the motor plate is attached to the gearbox using countersunk screws. So I don't think you can just flip it around. You want 91602 for black or 91603 for blue.

They changed the top shaft sometime during the B5's lifespan where the bearings were different sizes. So make sure you have the top shaft that accepts the 5x10x4mm bearings. You want 91606.

Otherwise, as I understand it you should be ok to make the switch from 4 gear to 3 gear.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 09:52 AM   #20486
Tech Regular
 
Silverstonev8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody227 View Post
Does anyone know what parts are needed to convert a B5m to 3-gear transmission?

I don't care about the milled motor plate and aluminium top shaft, so are they really needed or can I just flip around my old motor plate and reuse the old steel top shaft?
You could do this https://www.amainhobbies.com/team-as...90002c/p486628
Silverstonev8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 12:22 PM   #20487
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 118
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Can someone please email me the shapeways 3 gear lcg transmission pdf instruction/template file? I installed it without drilling the 2 front holes and it's a huge improvement in handling/steering!! Very pleased, just wanted to drill the two front holes and could figure out where they go but using a template could be easier.

Jamescgreen08gmail.com thanks
dsms4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 08:34 AM   #20488
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Talking gear diff

I see the discussions on this thread on the ball diff/gear diff debate. Just curious what the latest thought is. I want to try the gear diff. Can never seem to get the ball diff right.

I run MOD on 2 surfaces: 1) small outdoor track/tight and technical/hard packed dirt with a little dust and 2) indoor track/clay/med to high grip.

anybody have a b5m gear diff in their box they want to sell?

Last edited by rcnewbie418; 07-11-2016 at 08:54 AM.
rcnewbie418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 08:37 AM   #20489
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,944
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

anyone using the MIP rollers with the MIP shiny pucks in Mod? What kinda of live are you getting from the rollers and outdrives.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 06:36 PM   #20490
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 4,773
Trader Rating: 485 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
anyone using the MIP rollers with the MIP shiny pucks in Mod? What kinda of live are you getting from the rollers and outdrives.
I use them with a "hot" 17.5 and I have yet to wear a set out. How mod are you talking?
__________________
Now that I've discovered the ignore list I plan to use it.....14 and counting!
QDRHRSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net