R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2016, 06:32 AM   #17746
Tech Master
 
WonTonsChicken's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
Ok i just ordered one not a fan of the ball diff still.
2k diff fluid definately for Bumps!
__________________
--Special Thanks to--
Tekno RC - Pro-Line - Boca Bearings - Team Tekin - FTM Grip - G's RC Raceway - CowRC!
Tekno ET48.3 | NB48 | EB48.25 | SCT410 | EB410 | Pro-2 SC
WonTonsChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 08:33 AM   #17747
Tech Master
 
BRSracing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Blue Springs MO
Posts: 1,580
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMaxima99 View Post
Trying to fit a servo into this chassis has been fun. Finally got a Savox 1252 in there, but it still hit the case on the way down. I went ahead and used my knife on the plastic of the tie rod to gain some clearance.
The only servo i had issue with was a short servo. if your having issues it maybe a install issue.
BRSracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 08:52 AM   #17748
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 2,351
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by man1ac View Post
I just rechecked my pinion/spur mesh on my B5, SC5m and a collagues B5m and we noticed the clearnce between both isnt quite constant. Since the motor has quite a good concentricity it must be something on the spur gears side (spur gear? top shaft? bearings?).

Due to all 3 vehicles have this problem it's ahrt to set the gear mesh correctly. Any suggestions on how to get a nice, constant gear mesh that does not result in noisy cars?

recently discovering similar issues, not just on ae cars
check your pinions
not all pinion gears are alike, some noisy gear meshes are a result of pinions,
they do ware, and depending on brand , make a different sound
try a different brand , new pinion, along with new spur and proper mesh
__________________
RC RACING DESIGNS..
slick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 10:36 AM   #17749
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Dachau, Germany
Posts: 343
Default

Trying a different brand will be quite annoying, due to I bought a whole set of robitronic and changing the brand altogether would cost arou 100$ (just for the sound)

I rechecked everything and its way better now...I'll live with that for now (neither pinion nor gear looked worn or damaged, so I cant be that wrong)
man1ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 11:10 AM   #17750
Tech Elite
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 4,901
Default

poor boy solution: Spin the gears a 1/4 turn and check the mesh at each location. Adjust spacing accordingly.
__________________
Mason McCombs
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility
Off-Road, Dirt Oval, Crawlers & Pullers
Mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 11:28 AM   #17751
Tech Addict
 
boborc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 508
Default

Just got a b5m fl and was wondering with the 3 gear trans do i need to have the motor run in reverse direction. I dont think the esc I'm going to use has the reverse option ( a novak havoc pro with supertuner upgrade)
boborc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 11:29 AM   #17752
Super Moderator
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 5,753
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boborc View Post
Just got a b5m fl and was wondering with the 3 gear trans do i need to have the motor run in reverse direction. I dont think the esc I'm going to use has the reverse option ( a novak havoc pro with supertuner upgrade)
No. The motor is mounted opposite from the 4 gear.
__________________
Thanks to: JConcepts ~ Schelle ~ Kustom RC Graphics

#MakeRCTechGreatAgain
Matt Trimmings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 11:40 AM   #17753
Tech Addict
 
boborc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 508
Default

Thank you very much, didnt even look at that
boborc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 02:03 PM   #17754
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 43
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRSracing View Post
The only servo i had issue with was a short servo. if your having issues it maybe a install issue.
I have a few servos I was trying(Spektrum S6070, an couple of older futabs, hell even a stock traxxis slash servo) and they all seemed to have the same issue.

If you put the stock spacer(little blue aluminum spacer) on the plastic horn supplied with the kit, it will hit as the horn moves down towards the servo. All the servos seemed to have a flat top.

The Savox 1252 looks to have a curve on the top that helps the tie rod move close to all the way if you remove the blue spacer. i still had to modify where the servo wires came out. But that's because this chassis wasn't made for low profile servos. It looks like it was made to use an inbetween size.

I was actually looking at a set of HPI horns at my LHS. They look to have more clearance than the stock AE ones.

I will take some pics and post them tonight. Maybe I am doing something wrong.
MadMaxima99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 02:07 PM   #17755
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonTonsChicken View Post
2k diff fluid definately for Bumps!


Ok wouldn't that diff out easier though ? I was thinking 3k or 4k .
__________________
Losi SCTE 4x4, Tekno SC410 4X4 SC, Associated T4.1, Hitec 7954sh, mamba monster 2200kv, airtronics MX-3 X. Losi SCTE 4x4, Tekno SC410 4X4 SC, Associated T4.1, Mugen MBX6 ECO .

Hobby Hut offroad, Mushroom bowl offroad, Fun Center raceway.
GS HOBBY , Stormer Hobbies, Amain Hobbies, RRP Hobby .
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 02:34 PM   #17756
Tech Master
 
WonTonsChicken's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
Ok wouldn't that diff out easier though ? I was thinking 3k or 4k .
You could try, but I was at 5k.. I though that was pretty smooth, but the 2k was right on. Never hurt to try though
WonTonsChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 02:48 PM   #17757
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Had no real issues using a TS-920 servo and correct to 2s.
DeadstickDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 03:07 PM   #17758
Tech Fanatic
 
tsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 978
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMaxima99 View Post
If you put the stock spacer(little blue aluminum spacer) on the plastic horn supplied with the kit, it will hit as the horn moves down towards the servo. All the servos seemed to have a flat top.
IIRC, most people don't generally use the blue spacer.
__________________
Razor RC blog:
http://razorrcblog.blogspot.com
http://youtube.com/c/RazorRC
tsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:17 PM   #17759
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsair View Post
IIRC, most people don't generally use the blue spacer.

Do you still use the Blue spacer on full size servos ? Actually i don't know what its for .
__________________
Losi SCTE 4x4, Tekno SC410 4X4 SC, Associated T4.1, Hitec 7954sh, mamba monster 2200kv, airtronics MX-3 X. Losi SCTE 4x4, Tekno SC410 4X4 SC, Associated T4.1, Mugen MBX6 ECO .

Hobby Hut offroad, Mushroom bowl offroad, Fun Center raceway.
GS HOBBY , Stormer Hobbies, Amain Hobbies, RRP Hobby .
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:33 PM   #17760
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 43
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
Do you still use the Blue spacer on full size servos ? Actually i don't know what its for .
Does anyone run the xp servo from AE? Would be nice to see a side by side say to a savox 1252 or 1258. The AE servo looks to have a step up where the horn mounts to. Providing more clearance for the tie rod to clear the servo case.
MadMaxima99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net