R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Official Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2014, 06:42 AM   #2386
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,300
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Viper VTX10 Black Edition, Power Cap, Spektrum receiver (the one that comes with the new DX4pro). This was an old pic. The wiring is cleaned up a bit more and I have a ribbon sensor hidden under the battery in the tray. I need to get a couple of pieces of large shrink to tighten it up even more.

__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|ProTek|Amain|VRP|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 06:44 AM   #2387
Tech Initiate
 
rpbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Mo.
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeter36 View Post
Does anyone have a pic of the b5m with an orion R10 pro mounted in it. Im just curious cause mine looks like a rats nest, LOL
rpbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 06:54 AM   #2388
Tech Champion
 
Jmuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 5,003
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAGISI View Post
Here you go (orion r10 w/futaba receiver):



I routed the wires out the back of the capacitor
You could use the LRP Team Works capacitor on the R10 to save even more room. I use on mine in the RM for room and works great.
__________________
B6D | B64D

Schelle Racing Concepts - www.schelleracing.com
Amain Hobbies - www.amain.com
Jmuck69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:06 AM   #2389
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RPB, South Florida
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpbill View Post
I use the same layout, but in reverse (receiver opposite the motor). I then run the sensor wire under the ESC and through the battery compartment, under the battery.
GTSSTANG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:10 AM   #2390
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RPB, South Florida
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Are there any setup sheets available from the Cactus Classic?
GTSSTANG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:52 AM   #2391
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Wow thats a really tight fit... would it be dumb to mount the capacitor or rx on the servo? Not sure where the cab on the shell sits.
juicy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:04 AM   #2392
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,934
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

yeah, these big esc's make the tight spaces in the new cars a pain. Kinda glad I run viper esc's. Tekins are small also, but I dislike the "feel"
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:21 AM   #2393
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

I just bought a B5M and a B5 and wanted to go with my old hw120a, hw v3.1 or R10... But those are some very confined spaces for those ESCs. Maybe i'll cut out the center portion of the battery nest and let the ESC eat into the battery compartment. I'll be using shorties so there's gonna be wasted space. Foam spacers can go at the ends of the batt.
juicy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:24 AM   #2394
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys for the pics it is really helpful. im curious as to how you re-routed the capacitor bank wires out the other? just flip the board around and drill 2 new holes? thanks in advance
Skeeter36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:35 AM   #2395
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTSSTANG View Post
I use the same layout, but in reverse (receiver opposite the motor). I then run the sensor wire under the ESC and through the battery compartment, under the battery.
Do you have issues with glitching with your capacitor board stuck to the side of the ESC? I was having issues and that was the first question HORIZON asked me. As soon as I relocated it it stopped doing it, VERY STRANGE?
Skeeter36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:36 AM   #2396
Tech Addict
 
bilster44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sactown, Ca
Posts: 666
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTSSTANG View Post
I use the same layout, but in reverse (receiver opposite the motor). I then run the sensor wire under the ESC and through the battery compartment, under the battery.
Speedo on the same side as the motor? Hmmm...
__________________
"Let Your Racing Speak"
bilster44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:39 AM   #2397
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,934
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juicy74 View Post
I just bought a B5M and a B5 and wanted to go with my old hw120a, hw v3.1 or R10... But those are some very confined spaces for those ESCs. Maybe i'll cut out the center portion of the battery nest and let the ESC eat into the battery compartment. I'll be using shorties so there's gonna be wasted space. Foam spacers can go at the ends of the batt.
Those are all nice esc's. And i have v2.1 esc that I plan to try in my B5RM. But the esc has a 4 bank of 330uf caps, and it might be hard for me to get that in the chassis. If it becomes an issues, I will just use my viper. Might use my viper anyway, because it is a very nice esc. But the viper is in my reference stock buggy, I and I prefer to not remove it. I plan to run both cars in stock and sell the loser of the shoot out
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:40 AM   #2398
Tech Addict
 
bilster44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sactown, Ca
Posts: 666
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here's mine...
Attached Thumbnails
Official Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread-wiring.jpg   Official Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread-wiring-ii.jpg  
__________________
"Let Your Racing Speak"
bilster44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:57 AM   #2399
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 383
Default

I sold mine to someone at my local hobby shop that was waiting in line to get one for $260... and he got it tax free too.

Figured I'd help someone out locally since I didn't need mine.
__________________
XFactory X6^3, XFactory SCX-60CF, Durango DEX410v3
All Kyosho damped with Viper Power and SMC Juice
Serpent SRX-2MM, Serpent 811E
VBC Firebolt DM
Barge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:01 AM   #2400
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
Those are all nice esc's. And i have v2.1 esc that I plan to try in my B5RM. But the esc has a 4 bank of 330uf caps, and it might be hard for me to get that in the chassis. If it becomes an issues, I will just use my viper. Might use my viper anyway, because it is a very nice esc. But the viper is in my reference stock buggy, I and I prefer to not remove it. I plan to run both cars in stock and sell the loser of the shoot out
Hahaha... Good plan. Let us know how it goes.
juicy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
ICEMAN96
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net