R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Official Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2015, 04:20 PM   #17371
Tech Rookie
 
JBR18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 17
Default

True newbe question have the stock/book setup on and won't turn, till it really slows down. Running indoor,packed clay.have j concept barflys on rear proline scrubs on front. White w/30 wt in front green w/27.5 in rear.
JBR18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 04:46 PM   #17372
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,932
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Imo 2800 mah would be too little for our current layout. I see no reason to go lighter than a normal shorty
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 05:51 PM   #17373
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 809
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I run the lcg shorty. 3500 to 3900 may depending on the manufacturer. About 150 grams versus 210-220 for a normal shorty. Works great.
Chris Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 06:53 PM   #17374
a1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 252
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Brown View Post
You just need the motor plate, gear cover,four gear transmission case, idler gear, bearings, and idler gear shaft. They don't sell an all in one kit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dray01 View Post
1x 91552 V2 4 gear Trans case
1x 91428 Std motor plate or 91546 LW Blk plate or 91547 LW Blue Plate
1x 91435 gear cover
1x 91429 Idler gear
1x 91011 Idler shaft
2x your favorite variety of 5x10 bearings

BD
thanks again guys . Everything went together with no problems at all. Took about 20 -30 minutes. Now I have a 4 gear transmission and it was a lot simpler to do that I originally thought.
a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 06:59 PM   #17375
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 450
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hello all just curious how the car would be with no shock limiters? im using 2 and 2 but trying to get more weight transfer to the rear would this help?
DIRT DIGGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 09:26 PM   #17376
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

Well while putting together my B5M i noticed that i got the wrong top shaft in the transmission its the Associated alum top shaft for the 3 gear . So what is the difference will it work with the 4 gear ?


I have the V2 gear boxes .
__________________
Losi SCTE 4x4, Tekno SC410 4X4 SC, Associated T4.1, Hitec 7954sh, mamba monster 2200kv, airtronics MX-3 X. Losi SCTE 4x4, Tekno SC410 4X4 SC, Associated T4.1, Mugen MBX6 ECO .

Hobby Hut offroad, Mushroom bowl offroad, Fun Center raceway.
GS HOBBY , Stormer Hobbies, Amain Hobbies, RRP Hobby .
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 09:59 PM   #17377
Tech Regular
 
BLKXJ96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
Well while putting together my B5M i noticed that i got the wrong top shaft in the transmission its the Associated alum top shaft for the 3 gear . So what is the difference will it work with the 4 gear ?


I have the V2 gear boxes .

I'm pretty sure all the newer kits come with the light weight top shaft now. So if you want to switch to three gear you're that much further ahead.
__________________
Jeff
RC10 Team Car, Gold Pan, RC10 B5m B5mCE, Sc5m, Rc8B3e, B6
BLKXJ96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 07:01 AM   #17378
Tech Adept
 
Kalio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 168
Default

Does anyone have any recommendations for choosing which aluminum wing mount to go with? Seems like there are so many choices but none of the manufacturers or stores list weight. The only reason I even want one is to use the wing buttons instead of clips to save on wear and tear. I'm leaning towards the Exotek one since it "looks" the most lightweight and has different button color options but it's also the most expensive.
Kalio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 07:41 AM   #17379
Tech Champion
 
Jmuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 5,003
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalio View Post
Does anyone have any recommendations for choosing which aluminum wing mount to go with? Seems like there are so many choices but none of the manufacturers or stores list weight. The only reason I even want one is to use the wing buttons instead of clips to save on wear and tear. I'm leaning towards the Exotek one since it "looks" the most lightweight and has different button color options but it's also the most expensive.
No need for aluminum. Cut the buttons flush with a dremel and then drill holes for 3mm screws and done.
__________________
B6D | B64D

Schelle Racing Concepts - www.schelleracing.com
Amain Hobbies - www.amain.com
Jmuck69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 07:45 AM   #17380
Tech Adept
 
Kalio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmuck69 View Post
No need for aluminum. Cut the buttons flush with a dremel and then drill holes for 3mm screws and done.
Hmm, interesting idea. That would save weight and money. I might try that. Thanks!
Kalio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 07:51 AM   #17381
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBR18 View Post
True newbe question have the stock/book setup on and won't turn, till it really slows down. Running indoor,packed clay.have j concept barflys on rear proline scrubs on front. White w/30 wt in front green w/27.5 in rear.
Remove 1 mm from the front ackerman, battery forward, 1.4-3 shock piston w/32wt oil up front (or 1.7-2 with 35wt)up front and M4 electron fronts.
Eddie_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 08:27 AM   #17382
Tech Fanatic
 
dirt42fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 135 (100%+)
Default

I just got a low profile Savox SC-1252mg servo and went to install it and noticed that the wire is right where the servo mount screws to the chassis.

Any recommendations for this? Or do I just mount it up and forget about it?

Thanks and Merry Christmas!!
__________________
"Never apologize for hard racing" Scott Bloomquist
dirt42fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 08:30 AM   #17383
Tech Master
 
Cridd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalio View Post
Hmm, interesting idea. That would save weight and money. I might try that. Thanks!
I'm using the low pro from redshop on shapeways, light and work good.
__________________
Chris
B6D / T5M / SC5M
Cridd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 10:17 AM   #17384
Tech Master
 
1/4milecrazy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Work, then 46RC
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirt42fan View Post
I just got a low profile Savox SC-1252mg servo and went to install it and noticed that the wire is right where the servo mount screws to the chassis.

Any recommendations for this? Or do I just mount it up and forget about it?

Thanks and Merry Christmas!!
I removed the rubber grommet from the wires and then ground off the corner of the servo mount with a Dremel. Never had a problem, I have done this on many 5 series vehicles for others who are running smaller servos.
__________________
1/4milecrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 10:55 AM   #17385
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Olching, Germany
Posts: 341
Default

Just finished my build. Work flawlessly! Altough I have to admin, every bag seemed to be labelled wrong. The manual sag (e.g.) Bag G and it was H (always one letter ahead/behind). Just installed the electronics (Nosram HD, 8.5T Sonic M2) and damn, that thing is fast

But the most depressing part still ahead: Thinking of a good style/painting and trying to paint that
Anyone ideas of a style with neon green/gunmetal (and third color? white? silver? red? metallic blue?)?
man1ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net