R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

    Hide Wikipost
Old 03-09-2017, 12:23 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech Forums Thread Wiki: Official Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Quick link to the front page

First Page

Print Wikipost

Like Tree6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2015, 08:54 PM   #17266
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cridd View Post
I just use plastic but I know on the B4.2's they had an aluminum and plastic on each side of rear hubs.

Okay, I'll try then
Torvald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 09:51 PM   #17267
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 4,730
Trader Rating: 478 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torvald View Post
Okay, I'll try then
you can buy the optional grub screws which will tighten up the hubs like you will not believe. the part #s are in the manual.
__________________
Now that I've discovered the ignore list I plan to use it.....14 and counting!
QDRHRSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 02:18 AM   #17268
Tech Regular
 
triplesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 48.137499,11.575494
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Barry View Post
I'm thinking about building a second car specifically for turf tracks. I saw the red workshops lowrider setup, but it's rather pricey for me to do. Just curious, what are the other options out there? Or is that my best bet for this car?
Another option would be the AC RC-Gear 3D printed gearbox on Shapeways. They have 3 gear and 4 gear laydown gearboxes, you just have to add a motor mount plate (3gear: AE, 4gear: Yokomo).
I own a 4gear, running modified on carpet (6.5T) - niiice!
Attached Thumbnails
Official Team Associated RC10 B5m Mid-Motor Thread-b5mlaydown_1.jpg  
__________________
MBX6R
B5M Lowrider
DEX410
Supastox GT
triplesix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 05:44 AM   #17269
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,259
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom73 View Post
How much lighter is the lite chassis compared to stock? The devil on my shoulder (BB) suggested I try stock class racing. I picked up a used (built but never run) b5m with a 3 gear. Curious if I should upgrade to the lite chassis.

DEVIL HERE REPORTING FOR DUTY!


You'll have a blast running in that 17.5 class. Just slap the lite chassis on that new car, leave all the aluminum off, and run the old school slipper (or an Avid / Schelle). Once you decide if you like it you can drop the other 150 bucks on all the 'unicorn buggy' parts
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|ProTek|Amain|VRP|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 07:16 AM   #17270
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QDRHRSE View Post
you can buy the optional grub screws which will tighten up the hubs like you will not believe. the part #s are in the manual.
This was amazing, the hubs are tight.
Thanks for the help!
Torvald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 07:24 AM   #17271
Tech Master
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,888
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
I have a Novak GTB esc 1st gen its kind of big would it fit into the B5M chassis or do I need to cut something ?
I have a novak pulse In my buggy . I had to get rid of the large single cap that comes on it and use the small 3 cap arrangement. My esc and radiopost receiver do not both fit in the space in front of the battery . The esc fits no problem , my rx is on my servo for now . Hope that helps
__________________
Josh W.

Don't forget ... Have fun , talk sh*$ with your buddies, and have fun.

I race so I can have people flip my car over ....
wittyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 07:39 AM   #17272
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,259
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
I have a novak pulse In my buggy . I had to get rid of the large single cap that comes on it and use the small 3 cap arrangement. My esc and radiopost receiver do not both fit in the space in front of the battery . The esc fits no problem , my rx is on my servo for now . Hope that helps
I didn't even bother with the Pulse. I saw how tight it was and just went right with the Impact. It's the same software, has more fets, and is half the size and weight. I'll be ordering another for my 2nd car
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|ProTek|Amain|VRP|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 07:48 AM   #17273
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triplesix View Post
Another option would be the AC RC-Gear 3D printed gearbox on Shapeways. They have 3 gear and 4 gear laydown gearboxes, you just have to add a motor mount plate (3gear: AE, 4gear: Yokomo).
I own a 4gear, running modified on carpet (6.5T) - niiice!
What is the difference between Redwork shop laydown gearbox and Shapeways?
Torvald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 07:54 AM   #17274
Tech Regular
 
Thomas PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: York
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Barry View Post
I have no issues with running 3d printed stuff. my issue is that I can't justify spending 170 Euros for a conversion when I may run turf 3-4 times a year.
Come see me this Sunday. I'm usually upstairs with Troy, Ryan, and Kiely. I'm running the AC/RC transmission and kept the price low by doing the motor plate and battery strap at home. Conversion cost me $35 and a couple hours in the basement.
__________________
-Thomas Kauffman
KDRC Carbon Fiber Upgrades
Bumps & Jumps RC, Pit Stop Hobbies
X6^3: Tekin, Fantom, Sav÷x
B5M: KDRC, Fantom, hobbywing, Sav÷x, Schelle, AC RC
Thomas PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 08:33 AM   #17275
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 932
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Anyone run the Lite chassis in mod? I picked up a second kit for spares and was going to off the chassis on Ebay as I only prefer to run mod. Knock on wood, but a chassis isn't something I've ever needed to have a spare of.
Tony Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 08:47 AM   #17276
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,259
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas PA View Post
Come see me this Sunday. I'm usually upstairs with Troy, Ryan, and Kiely. I'm running the AC/RC transmission and kept the price low by doing the motor plate and battery strap at home. Conversion cost me $35 and a couple hours in the basement.
Yeah I'm usually chasing you down haha. I'll talk with ya Sunday because I got the impression your car was heavily customized. Wasn't sure what you had would work on a stock kit.
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|ProTek|Amain|VRP|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 03:06 PM   #17277
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 816
Default

Switching from 4 gear to 3 gear transmission. If I'm happy with my current 4 gear setup do I need to change my setup when switching to the 3 gear setup?
slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 04:08 PM   #17278
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,259
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slow View Post
Switching from 4 gear to 3 gear transmission. If I'm happy with my current 4 gear setup do I need to change my setup when switching to the 3 gear setup?
The biggest thing the mod guys have been telling me when they switch is they all used to run 3x1.4 in the frontn and 1.6 in the rear. Now they switch that around and put the 3 hole in the rear. Also we're just starting to run the +2 pills, raised spindles, and inside on the rear shock tower. Seems to be a nice starting point for our medium bite tracks.
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|ProTek|Amain|VRP|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 05:10 PM   #17279
a1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 226
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Does any one sell a kit to go from the 3 gear to a 4? I searched but did find much info on it.
a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 05:34 PM   #17280
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

You just need the motor plate, gear cover,four gear transmission case, idler gear, bearings, and idler gear shaft. They don't sell an all in one kit.
Chris Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net