Wiki Posts
Search

Lifespan??

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2013, 09:55 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Lifespan??

I'm really considering building an 1/8th scale e buggy. I am a nitro nut at heart but when I go to larger events I really would like a second class.

My question is, what is the life span of the running gear on an e-bugg? Motor and esc are pricey but if 2-3 full seasons are possible with little to no issue then it might not be so bad...help if you can, Thanks!!
Old 10-03-2013, 11:35 PM
Tech Regular

If you charge and store your batteries properly they should last 2-3 years. I have been running the same charger and power supply for four years. Motors should last forever if you maintain them ( clean and change bearings) periodically. ESCs will last forever if you don't let the smoke out.

Buy quality electronics and maintain them correctly and they will last quite a long time.
Old 10-04-2013, 12:34 AM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by 1badgoat
If you charge and store your batteries properly they should last 2-3 years. I have been running the same charger and power supply for four years. Motors should last forever if you maintain them ( clean and change bearings) periodically. ESCs will last forever if you don't let the smoke out.

Buy quality electronics and maintain them correctly and they will last quite a long time.
+1
Old 10-04-2013, 12:49 AM
Tech Master

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by 1badgoat

+2, go with a quality company with good CS from the get go, there's cheaper options out there that perform well but good support most likely wont come with it, get a good charger as well
Old 10-04-2013, 01:22 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

How often would you change the bearings in the motor?

Anyone have a answer to this, also how often do you guys do maintenance motor pull down.

Last edited by Nitro Tiger; 10-16-2013 at 01:35 AM.
Old 10-04-2013, 03:25 AM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by Nitro Tiger