R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2005, 04:50 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 12
Default Computer power supply

I use a 250 watt 12v power supply (10A) to convert AC to DC to charge my 3300 batteries. Anybody ever used these ? I use the yellow + wires and the black - wires. The red wires are 5 volts. I got the power supply at a used computer store for $5.00.
Rick Harris
Losi Jet Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 05:43 AM   #2
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to WsW-WYATT-EARP Send a message via Yahoo to WsW-WYATT-EARP

i was thinking the same thing ... but how do you get it to run ? they are switched by the motherboard .... if you just plug in a pc power supply to the wall without anything else connected ... it will not run ...
WsW-WYATT-EARP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 05:43 AM   #3
Tech Elite
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,225
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

I do also. They work a bit better for four cell packs than 6 cell packs. Unless you get up to around 350-400 watt power supplies. The input voltage drops down when you get towards the end of a 6 cell charge cycle. At least for me. But you can't beat it for the price. I like making them out of the older ones, not the newer style ones. The newer ones are a pain.

To get the newer ones to run, you need to jumper the I believe it's the oragne and a ground wire in the big 20 row connector. I think those are the two wires, its been awhile. Without doing that it won't work. And then you can't just cut all the wires off at once and put those two together. Some of them need to go together and stay together. It's really a pain in the butt to figure out. Really need to cut one wire at a time and try it out. The older style supplies are MUCH more simple.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 05:51 AM   #4
Tech Master
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I have used one for over a year, to convert it look here http://www.rcracechat.com/vb/showthread.php?t=2129 you need to load up the PSU with a bulb or resistor to get any power from it.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Power Supply for R/C? KevanB Electric On-Road 32 08-01-2013 03:37 PM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-24-2008 11:52 PM
Computer power supply semper Australian Racing 79 11-23-2007 11:35 AM
computer power supply koolkidd Electric On-Road 29 06-10-2007 08:53 AM
computer power supply hpipro321 Electric On-Road 4 09-01-2005 12:25 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:49 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0