R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2015, 08:52 AM   #7621
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 797
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

They are fine.... I've had no issues and I've been running this thing since July.
__________________
Kyosho Rb6.6
Kyosho ZX6.6
Kyosho Rt6
kerby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 09:25 AM   #7622
Tech Addict
 
MasiisaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grigz View Post
Someone school me on wire tucking and hiding. Can't come up with anything other than this to hide wires and keep everything nice and tidy. Obviously I need to go with black wire ties but its all I had for the time being.


IMO The wiring part is always the hardest part to get clean.

What I would do:

- Rotate the motor can so the wires run close to the chassis. (TBO I donít know how the body fits with the wires on top of the can)

- Make the battery wires quite a bit shorter. Use a very small piece of shrink wrap tubing to show the neg.

- Mount your transponder on the chassis behind the servo and run the wires the same way you did with the servo wire to the RX. Thats will get rid of all the zip ties.

- With the motor to esc wires running close to the chassis you can then run your ESC wire to the RX and sensor cable all in one bundle and use a large piece of shrink wrap tubing to help hide the wires.

- If you have a long wires then lay the wire on itself (make an s and lay the wire on itself) use a ziptie or more shrink wrap tubing to hold it together.

- Can even go as far as getting a paint pen and paint the wires black.

- Put a red dab of paint on the batteries + side to get rid of the making tape with a + on there (IMO you wont need to do this if you shorten up the wires. At the right length there is no way the + can plug into the -) But i did it anyway.

I did most of the above and I think it turned out pretty good.





__________________
TLR 22 2.0 - TLR 8E 3.0 - HB D413

Thanks to:
Tekin - www.teamtekin.com
Thunder Designs - www.thunderdesigns.net
MasiisaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 09:28 AM   #7623
Tech Master
 
snwchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,438
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Stock Orings are fine, still running mine and I have had the kit since September.
snwchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 09:31 AM   #7624
Tech Adept
 
RENOV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: London Ontario Canada
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerby View Post
They are fine.... I've had no issues and I've been running this thing since July.
I'm using the Traxxas x-rings, but I don't see any difference at all. Just a waste of $ IMO. Just like the shock caps, if they don't leak and you're having no issues then why change them.
RENOV8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:44 AM   #7625
Tech Elite
 
savageboy69's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pasco,WA
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

I ran mine like this, i have this black expandable braided loom that i ran the servo and esc wire through that sits on the bottom of the motor
__________________
Xray|Rc America|Hudy|FX engines|Tekin|SOR graphics|LFR|Ogio|SRT servos|
XB8 2016
XB8-E 2016
XB4 2017
savageboy69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:48 AM   #7626
Tech Master
 
Yeti AS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: lockport,IL
Posts: 1,347
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RENOV8R View Post
I'm using the Traxxas x-rings, but I don't see any difference at all. Just a waste of $ IMO. Just like the shock caps, if they don't leak and you're having no issues then why change them.
No disagreement on caps. Traxxas x-rings for 4 shocks is about 4.20. Hot Bodies o-rings are about 8.75. X-rings have 2 wiping surfaces and seem to be smoother.
__________________
Hot Bodies D413
AE B5m

Haigh Designz -Custom Airbrushing
Leisure Hours Hobby and Raceway!!
Yeti AS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 06:02 PM   #7627
Tech Regular
 
kdeleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

For those looking for out of stock parts, this might be a partial explanation. Not to give HPI an excuse.

http://www.liverc.com/news/special_f...der_right_now/
kdeleon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 06:47 PM   #7628
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Manufacture the parts in the states using high tech automation to make up for the cost of cheaper labor and this wouldn't be an issue. Heck, there would seldom be out of stock issues for any parts. Off my soap-box now...
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 07:12 PM   #7629
YoG
Tech Apprentice
 
YoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdeleon View Post
For those looking for out of stock parts, this might be a partial explanation. Not to give HPI an excuse.

http://www.liverc.com/news/special_f...der_right_now/
I had no idea this was going on!! Thanks for the link to the article. This is starting to make sense.
__________________
XRAY XB2ce/AE T5M/HB D413/TEKNO SCT410
http://www.corvictoria.com/
YoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 07:17 PM   #7630
Tech Addict
 
MasiisaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
Manufacture the parts in the states using high tech automation to make up for the cost of cheaper labor and this wouldn't be an issue. Heck, there would seldom be out of stock issues for any parts. Off my soap-box now...
I so feel what you're saying...and I truly wish it was that way...but the reality of it is..parts are less expensive and in most cases better quality when they're imported. It sucks...
__________________
TLR 22 2.0 - TLR 8E 3.0 - HB D413

Thanks to:
Tekin - www.teamtekin.com
Thunder Designs - www.thunderdesigns.net
MasiisaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 07:44 PM   #7631
Tech Elite
 
jhautz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,263
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
Manufacture the parts in the states using high tech automation to make up for the cost of cheaper labor and this wouldn't be an issue. Heck, there would seldom be out of stock issues for any parts. Off my soap-box now...
That would be a great idea. Now you just need to figure out where to sell the tens of millions(probabbly a lot more than that even) of kits it would take to drive the cost down to the equivalent cost of making it in China with cheap labor. That "high tech automation" is expensive and the cost gets put into the price and drives the product cost right back up there without the volume to offset it.

There are few industries with the volume it takes to make your scenario realistic.

Last edited by jhautz; 02-11-2015 at 11:39 PM.
jhautz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 08:01 PM   #7632
Tech Adept
 
Grigz's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasiisaM View Post
IMO The wiring part is always the hardest part to get clean.

What I would do:

- Rotate the motor can so the wires run close to the chassis. (TBO I donít know how the body fits with the wires on top of the can)

- Make the battery wires quite a bit shorter. Use a very small piece of shrink wrap tubing to show the neg.

- Mount your transponder on the chassis behind the servo and run the wires the same way you did with the servo wire to the RX. Thats will get rid of all the zip ties.

- With the motor to esc wires running close to the chassis you can then run your ESC wire to the RX and sensor cable all in one bundle and use a large piece of shrink wrap tubing to help hide the wires.

- If you have a long wires then lay the wire on itself (make an s and lay the wire on itself) use a ziptie or more shrink wrap tubing to hold it together.

- Can even go as far as getting a paint pen and paint the wires black.

- Put a red dab of paint on the batteries + side to get rid of the making tape with a + on there (IMO you wont need to do this if you shorten up the wires. At the right length there is no way the + can plug into the -) But i did it anyway.
Great advice. The tape on the battery and wires was purely a temp thing. Was rushing to get it out on the track and just as a safety precaution I did it. Can't be too safe at times I suppose. But I'll definitely be rerouting some wires. The body seems to fit fine with the motor wires facing up, not sure how either as most say it won't fit that way. Definitely some good advice though. Thanks!
__________________
TLR / 22-4 2.0 / LRP / Savox
Grigz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 09:06 PM   #7633
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mvrk28 View Post
I just came across this link and will be doing this method on my D413, take a look.

http://www.teamcrc.com/crc/modules.p...rder=0&thold=0
Is this still the standard thing to do with CF parts? I didn't exactly follow this method (chamfer with an emory board, wash with dish soap, dry, CA edges, more or less) but my god it was a pain in the butt. Is this really necessary?
khj94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 09:37 PM   #7634
Tech Master
 
pags30805's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

what rear rims work the best? i just put aka evo Ae rim on one and HB rime on the other and to me the offset looks quite different with the AE rim being more narrow. If im not mistaken AE TL and KYO all use the dame offset in the rear?
__________________
John P
Problem Child Racing
Team Trinity / Epic / Revtech
pags30805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:15 PM   #7635
Tech Adept
 
tom76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 205
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RENOV8R View Post
Just touch up those white tie wraps with black permanent marker. I've got a similar setup, but with the small RS Pro ESC I was able to fit it further inside, with a 2 bank cap on the outside and the transponder on top of it.

This is my wiring job. I actually put the ESC at the back, and put down some double sided take for the esc wire to the receiver. I probably could have turned the battery around and shortened the wires.

__________________
Cheers.

St Ives - Sworkz / XB4 17 / XB2
tom76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net